We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbe hotel in the heart of St Jean de Luz”
Review of La Deviniere

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Deviniere
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superbe hotel in the heart of St Jean de Luz”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is the hotel you should stay in Saint Jean de Luz. This address is perfect to enjoy both the city as you are just off rue Gambetta and a few minutes walk from the beach. The hotel is small, having only 10 rooms, and has a true local character. The owner and the staff are very warm, making you feel at home.
The breakfast is great, served in the beautiful garden or the small salon de thé. The rooms are well designed with a lot of very nice touches! The only point I would change is the length of the bed (190cm).
Definitely the place to stay in for a local flair in St Jean!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pike_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Very welcoming. Good service. Great decor. Lovely garden.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyinghollander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

This is a good looking hotel inside the city of St Jean de Luz. We stayed in one of their best rooms but all the rooms are small, lack TV, Minibar (if you need a fridge), hair dryer. Bath amenities are frugal (one soap and one shampoo/gel). Rooms are not livable and you better spend your time outside of the hotel.
There is no staff after 8pm and therefore no room service of any sort. There is a breakfast setting outside in the garden and inside in a small room.
Overall this hotel is more doll house rather than a place to rest and enjoy the place. It is close to the beach (5 mn walk). so if you have to stay in this hotel because you have not found other or better places to stay, just be aware and don't have high expectations for comfort.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank worldfuntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

The hotel has got a lot of character and it is situated in a pedestrian street very close to the beach and to the shopping streets. I guess here you pay for the good location as there is neither TV nor minibar in the room and no possibility to have a drink after 20.30.
Breakfast is not included and costs 12€/person which I found too much for a coffee with some pastries.
I wouldn't return.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESCARZAGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel de La Poste
Grand Hotel de La Poste
#11 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bel Air
Villa Bel Air
#17 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ohartzia
Hotel Ohartzia
#18 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Marisa
Hotel La Marisa
#8 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
#10 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Deviniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Deviniere

Property: La Deviniere
Address: 5 rue Loquin, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet pedestrian street, La Devinière is a quaint guest house where you feel that every object has a story to tell. As soon as you cross the threshold, you are greeted by thousands of books tucked away on the most splendid wooden bookcases, ornaments and autographs of artists from Rodin to Saint-Saëns, from Guitry to Malraux. Only the cracking of the wood in the fire or the notes of the piano - a Bechstein dating from the last century - will disturb the silence of this curiosity corner. As if the light had signed a pact with each of the rooms, it filters in through the curtains to dance over the period furniture where, here and there, you will discover a parchment, an old book or an antique pince-nez to offer you, for a few hours, a host of happy memories in this family home ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing