We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Parc Victoria
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Kapa Gorry(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel les Goelands(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Le Magenta(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
La Reserve(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Helianthal(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel de La Poste(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Le Petit Trianon(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Villa Bel Air(Saint-Jean-de-Luz)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
238
46
14
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
46
14
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decorelais chateauxthe main houseold treesunique hotelspecial hotellovely poolseaside villageheated poolstayed for one nightan umbrellapays basquebasque countryfriendly and helpful staffrecommend this hoteltown centrefew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We did stay 3 nights and have enjoyed it tremendously. Our suite was No. 14, house in the beautiful garden. Very spacious with 2! bathrooms, bedroom, lounge and a conservatory. Our private parking spot was only 5m away in the greens of the garden.
The Hotel has a main house, an old mansion, which has art decor design, from there the ways go the swimming pool, the gardenhouses/rooms and the Restaurant. The garden is a gem, some hidden seating places, a small fitness room in a bamboo forest, old huge trees, perfect to relax and perfect to look at.
The Restaurant has in summer, and yes, we had 1 hot day, an outdoor seating around the pool. Excellent food, very good service.
The Hotel is about 5min walk from the town center and the sea. A very good choice, I hope we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed for one night and immediately the staff were friendly and attentive. We had an excellent value set-price meal and all the restaurant staff were extremely professional and the food exquisite The best part however was the beautiful gardens and lovely clean swimming pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterFrancome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Parc Victoria Hotel belongs to the famous Relais et Chateaux Brand. It is located in Saint Jean de Luz, beautifully preserved small town in the Basque province. The Hotel is about 10mn walking distance from the see and from the town center. Parc Victoria is a small exclusive Hotel built around a 19th century Mansion in a Park nicely maintained. It is furnished with elegant 1920-1930 Art deco original elements. There is a heated 15 m swimming pool and a spa.
Food, service are outstanding. The Hotel is very calm. A wonderful experience. One of the very best Hotel on the atlantic coast. Not for lovers of big global branded Hotels such as Hilton or Novotel of course.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobewatcherParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Having traveled through Provence then the Pyrenees, we ended our trip in St-Jean-de-Luz. Our two nights at Parc Victoria couldn't have been a better place to stay. Exquisite art deco decor, lush gardens/grounds, ample private parking, friendly and accommodaing staff, excellent dinner in the beautiful dining room, impeccable housekeeping service and quality bathroom amenities - in short, everything up to the highest Relais & Chateau standards. In the dining room, the owner stopped by every table/greeted each guest at the end of dinner - a nice touch. Needing to stop by the train station the morning of our departure, we were helped tremendously as he guided us to the train station (it was raining/traffic was congested). He drove, we followed - otherwise we would have had difficulty in getting there in time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatrice189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We had huge expectations for this place, hoped it would be the highlight of our summer trip to French Basque country and it turned out to be one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed at.

We booked a Junior Suite, that was a separate building, in search of quietness, tranquility and luxury. Nothing of the kind, the room was total disappointment. One of the reviewers wrote it reminded him of a nouveau-riche mansion outside Moscow of the beginning of the 90-ies, I remember laughing while reading it but now I can confirm - that was it. I don't know if it tells you something but it was a terrible mixture of ambition, lack of taste and cheapest materials. I couldn't suggest it existed in Europe, could never imagine to find in France and would never believe to experience it in a Relais and Chateau hotel!

We had tile on the floor with the imitation of the parquet and steady impression of being a linoleum. The terrace room fully made of cheap and dirty white plastic. Window-blinds seemed to be bought in Ikea and again dirty. Artifictal plactic flowers in mouldy water and covered with dirt raises only one feeling - to voimit. Broken taps. If you put any humid cloth on the back of the chair on the terrace be ready that it will be coloured! I sat on it with wet hair on a bathrobe and had a brown back in the end. Shall you want to use a towel dryer in the bathroom don't forget to clean it cause it's dirty! Torn and worn-out towels. Toiletries not replaced regularly. Even the lid of the dust-bean was broken! The door to the outdoor terrace doesn't close properly - also broken.

Be ready that you won't be able to open any of the windows just because they give to the path leading to another room and frequently attended by the gardener.

This very gardener was a separate point of our shock - he entered freely our outdoor terrace while we were still inside without asking any permission and showing no intention to leave - he was slowly watering flowers whistling nonchalantly while we were rushing around the room trying to put on some additionnal clothes and to close the doors and windows at the same time.

The staff of the place in general were surprisingly unprofessionnal. It seemed that all the forces were given to training them to suggest you to book a table at their restaurant every time they see you! And they see you at least four times a day, when you leave them a key and take it back later the day and then leave in the evening. Although the guy at the reception helped us with the luggage, he didn't bother himself neither to show us the territory nor saying what amenities they had. The only words he said - already in the room - here you have a bathroom and that is a minibar. What did he mean by saying that I wonder.

The maid doesn't bother herself to clean the room properly, to hang the bathrobes properly, to throw away the litter and to refill the toiletries. And they come twice a day - in the afretnoon and in the evening to close the curtains and windows that you will reopen as soon as you come back because otherwise you will have no air to breathe.

We still gave it one point for the comfortable bed with new, high quality and clean linen and the restaurant in spite of its white plastic ceiling and my undercooked pachot-egg. All the rest was great - both food and wine list.

But we will never return!

What is it? Some starnge greediness? Neglection? Do they hate their guests or are they ablosutely sure this is the way a 5 star property should be? I post photos for you to judge.

Room Tip: a hotel to avoid, the Junior Suite room - definitely
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nathalie_and_Nikolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard P, Propriétaire at Hotel Parc Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2012

We have acknowledge your comments and we wish to bring to your attention some precise details from our part.

The principal characteristic of our establishment - largely commented in all the guides and our website - it is entirely furnished and decorated in authentic art déco from the year 1930 and not in the style of a “nouveau riche manor in the suburbs of Moscow”.

The ground is not lino but decorative tiling of the mark “Porcelanosa” top-of-the-range and advised by our interior architect for a garden ground floor.
The beautiful pieces of furniture – in mahogany tree and lemon tree wood from Ceylon - in the junior suite you occupied were bought in an auction and were very coveted by the experts during their acquisition.
The furniture of the terrace is not made of plastic but of enamelled cast iron.
The linen is renewed at the beginning of the season as every year.

As for the picture of the tap from the bathroom basin, it certainly took some great effort to dismount it and to put it in such state… perhaps for the picture needs ?
Picture deliberately taken after using the bathroom !

In regards of your restaurant reservation, it seems normal to us that our residents have preference to get a table because the limited capacity and high demand during this period.

We are sensitive to your comment on the quality of the bedding and our restaurant but for the rest, it seems a bit malicious and destructive.

To finish, we are disappointed not to have been able to answer your wait and we are also upset by your disappointment especially that being present in the establishment during your stay, we would have been able to listen to you and talk with you about any inconvenience or problems. We truly regret it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews