We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The not so "grand" Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel de La Poste
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence
walnut creek, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The not so "grand" Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Let's start with the positives, great location, Eva is very helpful regarding sites and it is inexpensive. Most vintage hotels in which I've stayed have either tried to stay true to their historic decor OR modernize with more creature comforts. This hotel did neither and has somewhat rudimentary furnishings. I hesitate to be too critical as they may just be making ends meet, but it was not a pleasant end to our long journey.

Room Tip: Wifi was weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fassio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    93
    31
    10
    2
See reviews for
32
115
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this Historical hotel which is just 5 minutes walk from the pedestrian zone and 15 from the beach. The decor is characterful and charming; our newly painted room was quite spacious and quiet; beds were comfortable, water pressure strong and wifi worked well. There are plenty of outlets, space to set things down on but no tea kettle. There is an elevator; paid street parking right across the hotel. Much of the hotel was recently remodeled and the hotel will be closed a few months this year to complete the remodeling. Not a luxury hotel but is much better than basic.
St. Jean is a lovely town well worth a short stay and the Grand Poste is a good choice for that. I paid slightly less than a hundred euro for our room and thought it a terrific value.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank poggibonzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Our time in St Jean was at the end of August and beginning of September, so hotel accommodation was expensive. We felt that at EUR149 for the superior room, we got a fair price. The room (and especially the bathroom) was very spacious and well appointed. It is important when you are staying for five nights that you have space for everything and that the bed is really comfortable. So many French hotels have small double beds, but not here. Also the cleaning staff, did a really good job, constantly replenishing towels and toiletries. The decor of the hotel is very 'Basque' and cosy. The location is excellent (and quiet) and they have an special arrangement with Vinci Parking nearby.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than one night it is a good idea to upgrade to a superior room as the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubliner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

our room was clean and smallish but adequate except that the lack of air conditioning made it that we had to open the window which then made it that we could hear all the street noise. that coupled with the fact that the curtains are white with no backing material so all the street lighting as well of course as the sun in the morning made for a very poor night sleep, and we were up with the sun and the town rubbish collection truck. we only stayed the one night obviously.
expensive room for the lack of good night sleep.
very pretty but very touristic little town well worth the detour

Room Tip: ask for a room away from street lighting and if it exist with air conditionning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and were delighted with our room and the staff.
Our room was well fitted, clean and bright with a sparkling bathroom with a roomy shower.
The staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast offered a wide range of fresh food.
The hotel is centrally placed but peaceful and calm.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie crowle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It all depends on your perspective..... Now, personally, I like old furniture and a bit of quirk and character, so I was happy with the admittedly-not-so-Grand Hotel de la Poste. Room was large and clean, breakfasts were good, car park directly beside hotel, pedestrian area of St Jean de Luz started just 50 metres down the street, and the fabulous markets (with the excellent Cafe des Halles) were a couple of hundred yards away. The hotel reception staff were great, and gave us excellent advice on restaurants and tours. There is a comfortable lounge with newspapers and magazines just off the lobby, an excellent spot for members of our small group to meet up and relax.

Room Tip: No lift, so ask for 1st floor if stairs are a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Balisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I have been deliberating whether to give this one or two stars and have settled on two!

This is because the location was very good!

The room itself was just about average. Large enough for the four of us - we have two children - aged four and two. Very old furniture, mould in the bathroom, no curtains at the window. Extremely hot at night and very noisy. The wallpaper in the corridors is peeling off.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, preferring to go out. There is no bar although the lounge downstairs is quite nice.

Not really much more I can say about the place really. It didn't spoil our experience of St Jean de Luz but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelehughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
540 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
#10 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#9 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#14 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de La Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de La Poste

Property: Grand Hotel de La Poste
Address: 83 Rue Gambetta, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de La Poste 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel de La Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing