We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Chateau d'Urtubie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau d'Urtubie
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

There are lots of hotels with , no doubt, better views or bigger swimming pools. To think like that would be to miss the point: this is not so much a hotel as a piece of history in which a few lucky people can, for a few days, imagine themselves to be living there. The agreeable feature of having a key to the tower, rather than having to pass by reception, fosters this illusion; so does the relaxed hospitality of M de Coral, and even the slightly, charmingly, faded grandeur of the rooms. It was a real treat [in France] to be shown the tea/drinks cupboard, fresh milk included, tucked under the staircase in the tower.
Our room, with large bathroom, was larger and far more attractive than any comparably priced room in a standard hotel. The essentials [comfortable bed, plumbing, and excellent sound insulation] have been added to a setting that looks otherwise much as it would have done any time in the last two centuries. In an age where hotel rooms are either blandly identical or overtly design-conscious it is a peculiarly relaxing place.
As others have said, the breakfast is good [in a rather dark room]; we also highly recommend the family restaurant, c800m away down a nearby lane.
Some inconsiderate highway builders have, sadly, run the main road and motorway to Spain right past the chateau. This is a cause for regret when outside, but the noise isn't an issue within.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    32
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
26
125
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahamas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed 3 nights at this amazing Chateau, lovely property, you are personaly welcomed, rooms are very comfortable and very good french breakfast, fresh croissants and baguette, highly recommend it and will try to go back, because Saint-Jean De Luz is such a beautiful place to visit, it was the hi.ghlight of our trip

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaragovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Oh, my word, what a fabulous place to stay! This is truly a castle, on which building started in 1341 and is still owned and lived in by members of the original family. We were met and welcomed and then given a guided tour by the present owner, the Comte de Coral, who is a charming host who takes great trouble to ensure his guests enjoy their stay in his home. He has done an excellent job of providing accommodation to meet the requirements of discerning, 21st century travellers without detracting from the character of the wonderful old building. Our room was spacious and comfortable with modern bathroom and WC facilities yet it retained the fascinating feel of being in an ancient, history laden building. We loved being given our own key to the castle, for late evening access: a large brass key to open the centuries old lock on the solid wooden door!
We dined at the nearby restaurant which is owned by the count’s brother and another first-rate establishment: they will book a table for you from the chateau. We so enjoyed our 2 night stay here that we shall almost certainly return, like an Australian couple who were staying at the same time as us and had returned after their first visit 11 years ago.

Room Tip: Ask Laurent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterwarne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Imagine ..... you're a very special guest in a beautiful 500 year old chateau .... that is a living museum (with numerous 400 year old tapestries and armour) .... owned and operated by the same proud and noble French family for 14 generations....
This is Chateau d'Urtubie, located near the fashionable seaside resort of St Jean de Luz, only 10 minutes drive West from the heart of the most magnificent Basque countryside. The chateau is surrounded by 200+ year old trees and some beautiful gardens (+ swimming pool) and it provides the best possible base from which to explore this fascinating part of the world. The rooms were tastefully and traditionally furnished with antiques (I think our bed was dated 1666) and the hosts (Laurent & Odile) speak fluent English and are charming.
We leveraged off their local knowledge to find the best restaraunts and day trips.
The breakfast provided each morning was excellent and we had the opportunity to use their extensive gardens at our leisure.
We travel often .... and we return to this chateau ... as it stay stands out as something really quite special for us ..... and fortunately for us, nothing much seems to change.

Room Tip: speak to Laurent (we stayed Green Room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueAussieBattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

How happy we were, my sister and I, that we had booked six days at this marvellous chateau. Of course, we could have stayed on and on! M. de Coral was the most gracious of hosts, and his staff provided welcome and every comfort. Nearby St. Jean de Luz, with its superb spas, and the seaside villages provided more than enough pleasure for daytime visits, but the Chateau itself is the star!

Room Tip: M. le Coral suggests rooms to suit the guests.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AUXCHATS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Very warm welcome in person from M Le Comte- he gives each visitor a dossier with maps/ itineraries/history of the Chateau. Although the Chateau is located next to a busy main road the room was double glazed and quiet.
No meals available apart from breakfast, but the owner's brother has a restaurant about 10 minutes walk away (10 yards of the walk on aforementioned main road) which served excellent food- and we were given an equally warm welcome there, even on a busy Saturday.
There is a heated swimming pool.
Altogether- a good base for exploring the area. There is now even a lift!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We booked two nights here after checking the reviews on Tripadvisor and finding them very positive. Check-in was a delight with the Chateau's owner giving us a very personal and warm welcome followed by a comprehensive tour of the premises. Our room (100 euros a night) was in the 14th century part of the chateau with part of pur bathroom being in one of the turrets. The room may have been on the small side but the bed was huge and very comfortable. We slept like logs even though the chateau is close to a main road. We had access to the grounds plus the swimming pool. Dinner recommendation was Le Kaiku in St Jean de Luz which was superb and the 2nd night we went to the owner's brother's restaurant - Ferme Lizzarraga which was also very nice. Great place, great service and great value that's Chateau d 'Urtubie!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Parc Victoria
Hotel Parc Victoria
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
283 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
672 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#3 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel les Goelands
Hotel les Goelands
#6 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
438 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
Hotel Le Relais Saint Jacques
#11 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Chantaco Golf & Wellness
Hotel Chantaco Golf & Wellness
#26 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau d'Urtubie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau d'Urtubie

Property: Chateau d'Urtubie
Address: Urrugne, 64122 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau d'Urtubie 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near the beaches of Saint Jean de Luz on the Spanish border, this fortified castle has belonged to the same family since it was built in 1341. Louis XI once visited the château, now renowned for its fine 16th and 18th century architecture and splendid 17th century lounges. It was raised to the status of Viscounty by Louis XIV. In the carefully restored interiors, it is easy to imagine the past splendour of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau d'Urtubie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Urtubie Hotel Saint-Jean-De-Luz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing