We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crikes, just perfect!”
Review of Hotel de la Plage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Plage
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I asked for a variation, in France, how date I. With a smile and just knee trembling service with a smile and graciousness. I should come back again and again. Thank you all three people who looked after me, you made me feel special. I had shorts a vest and a big black beach bag.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for two nights at the beginning of august. We had a very nice room with balcony on the second floor with a view of the front/beach - great views. The hotel staff very helpful and pleasant. Would stay again

Room Tip: Go for the sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location if the room is definitely the best in town just on the promenade, we had the sea as the view from our room and the sound of the waves was great to fall asleep with. The price is just as any other normal hotel in this location and the room was great clean and nicely decorated. If the price fits your budget you should absolutely stay there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank nimigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The hotel is situated right on the beach in the quaint town of Saint Jean de Luz. The rooms are comfortable (pay the few euros more for the beach side with balcony) and the staff extremely friendly. It is not a five star hotel but very fair for price versus quality and the staff made the experience. I highly recommend. Make sure to go to the restaurant that it owned my the municipality which is located on he part and the very fancy restaurant behind "le Suisse" same owner and sit on the glass cube with view on the port, a great experience. Also eat at Diva, extremely good quality for the price. Don;t be afraid to try the local food, wines and liquors.

Room Tip: Get a view on the ocean and ask for a room close to the router. Rooms have different signal strengt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank joeiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was the second time we've been to this unassuming little hotel in the charming, quiet town of St. Jean de Luz on the Atlantic coast of France, just above San Sebastián and below Biarritz. Quiet is the key to this town. Pretty much closes down by 9:30. But the beach is great, as is the Basque food, great seafood, boutiques,and architecture. The hotel is right on the beach, one of the few so situated in town. It is clean and many rooms have decks. For an oceanfront room, with a deck it's around $200. Try getting that in the glitzier towns to the north and south. Staff is friendly, speaks English, and gives good advice. Breakfast is inexpensive and all you need. Just don' tell anyone, we may want to come back and want to make sure we can still get a room.

Room Tip: Try to get a deck. Think wine, foi gras, local cheese, an ocean breeze, out on the deck overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A last minute reservation did not get us an ocean front room, but this is a great little hotel located right on the beach. The room was modern, very clean and spacious for a reasonable price. The personnel is very welcoming (French and English) and provided top quality service. There is parking for 10 euros a night and this is highly recommended. A definite "keeper" when we return. The breakfast was OK...a little expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room, but be prepared to pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBLMontjoiFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The staff and accomodations were excellent. The price was very reasonable. The location and view of the bay were extraordinary. Beautiful walking area all along the water and beach right out front of the hotel. Plenty of specialty shops and only 3 blocks from the center city plaza. Very clean, proud community. Ask for a room looking out on the water. Since we drove in, the GPS got us there, but we could have done it on the excellent city tourist signage alone. The staff assisted with luggage and provided excellent advice on places to eat a few doors away. Request parking if you need it, but a public, underground lot is also available 2 blocks away. This was the best location we had during our 15 days driving in France.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Jean-de-Luz hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#2 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Almadies
Hotel Les Almadies
#1 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
226 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Reserve
La Reserve
#4 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de La Poste
Grand Hotel de La Poste
#11 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helianthal
Hotel Helianthal
#13 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Txoko
Hotel Txoko
#5 of 28 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Address: Promenade Jacques Thibaud | 33 Rue Garat, 64500 Saint-Jean-de-Luz, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
Price Range: £95 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your room in front of the oceanIn the heart of the historic center of St jean de luz... The hotel de la plage, an exceptional situation in Saint Jean de Luz, close to the old harbour and the beaches of fine sand. At A few steps from the hotel, the lovers can stroll in the old quarters of Saint Jean de Luz and admire on their way the fish market. Gourmets will find on-site or in the neighbouring several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de la Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Plage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing