We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smallest room Ive ever stayed in.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Beaulieu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Beaulieu
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Smallest room Ive ever stayed in.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed just for one night and I couldnt imagine staying any longer. The room was tiny, it actually felt claustrophobic.. The upside was the aircon worked well and so did the wifi. There is a funny heater that you can use with food bought at reception, but there are a number of bars and cafes very close plus a small supermarket across the road. Would I stay here again. Never.

Room Tip: Check out the room sizes on booking.com or something.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janmaddox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    64
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
38
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed at the Hôtel Beaulieu for one night only on my way down south. The Hotel staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English. The hotel is right in the hearth of the city, with all attractions within walking distance. If your booking don’t book room 13. The bathroom is so small that you can actually sit on the toilet, wash you teeth in the sink and have a shower at the same time! If you stand at the hand basin you cannot close the sliding door which consists of one sheet of chipboard and is so close to the bed leaves nothing to the imagination from a sound point of view. Having said that the room was clean and the bed comfortable. I have no idea what the other rooms are like. The car park is very small and holds five to six cars so book early if you need a space.

Room Tip: Dont book room 13 as the bathroom is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for one night on our way down to the south-west of France. Room basic but very clean. Air conditioning was appreciated. Reception staff extremely helpful and friendly and spoke good English. As we had our 17 year old daughter with us the rooms for three people were great. Private parking was great as the hotel is on a main road. Room was quiet and we all slept well. Breakfast was in a delightful room the next morning and consisted of cereal, bread, croissants etc. Good vale for money.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank andyjp1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Good Clean stop. A bit basic but secure parking is a big plus for a city center hotel. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was of a good standard. The town is a good overnight stop on a journey and the hotel is great for that purpose.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We arrived ther for a short two night stay and was met by a very friendly member of staff.
The room was very nice and well furnished.
I left some items behind, and the owner very kindly offered to return them to me.
All in all, it was a brief, but enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

This is a small independent hotel close to centre with very helpful English speaking staff. There is private parking although you do need to book a place to be sure of getting one. Breakfast is traditional French and perfectly adequate.
We had a budget double room on the fourth floor that was reached by a tiny lift, barely able to accommodate two people and some luggage. The room wasn’t really big enough to have a double bed and a bathroom shoehorned into it. The bathroom itself was so narrow that standing at the sink meant your back was against the sliding door. We would stay there again but ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Avoid a "budget double " and room 13 in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveNKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

My momentary disappointment riding up to the hotel was quickly allayed by the very friendly reception, the room with ensuite was functional, clean and simple with a cool green bamboo theme and free WiFi. The location is great, just five minutes walk from the old town with its cathedral and warren of twisting streets. A very good find and real value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the main road; perhaps a room at the back would have been quieter although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clermont-Ferrand hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Saint-Joseph
Hotel le Saint-Joseph
#32 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Albert Elisabeth
Hotel Albert Elisabeth
#21 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Clermont Ferrand
Holiday Inn Clermont Ferrand
#15 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
P'tit Dej-Hotel Clermont-Ferrand Centre
P'tit Dej-Hotel Clermont-Ferrand...
#44 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inter Hotel Volcan
Inter Hotel Volcan
#35 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ravel
Hotel Ravel
#38 of 60 in Clermont-Ferrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beaulieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaulieu

Property: Hotel Beaulieu
Address: 13 avenue des Paulines, 63000, Clermont-Ferrand, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Clermont-Ferrand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Clermont-Ferrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beaulieu 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaulieu Hotel is a very quiet hotel in the heart of Clermont-Ferrand.It is located halway between the train station (10 minutes by foot) and theold town. The hotel is easily accessible by foot and by car, as the main motorways lies within a five minute radius.Our establishment is situated in the universities quarter near Michelin headquarter.Several administrative services such as the office of social security or the university's rectorate are close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beaulieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing