We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Good, Always Fresh.”
Review of Empire Cafe

Empire Cafe
Ranked #23 of 149 Restaurants in Vichy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: A little cafe that faces on to a park in vichy.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
940 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“Always Good, Always Fresh.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a great little restaurant that if you don't make a booking on a weekend then you will need to get there early to get a table. The food is always really fresh and there is a new menu every time you go. We always end up there with visiting friends as we can always count on the food being good and the service being wonderful. We will keep going as it is one of the gems in Vichy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiddenCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    40
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
940 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“Can't get enough”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This restaurant is by far and away the most reasonably priced and inventive restaurant in Vichy. As a small restaurant it will challenge those larger premises with the freshness and quality of the food. The service is great, run by a young couple who have a distinctly open approach to the preparation of food. Always flexible too if you are a vegetarian. We will keep going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiddenCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Talented chef, delicious menu”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We spotted the Empire Cafe whilst walking through Vichy and were immediately charmed. We were then very pleased to note it was open for supper that evening. We booked there and then.

The menu was inventive and focused on seasonal ingredients. We particularly enjoyed a heritage tomato and goats cheese stack followed by one of the best duck breast dishes I have ever tasted. The waitress was charming and we had a bird's eye view into the small kitchen where the two chefs were prepping. Prices are very reasonable. Don't miss a real treat (but we'd suggest booking).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SevernBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place to have lunch in Vichy”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

Excellent menus that change every day, only fresh food, everything is prepared onsite, great pastries and a cool service, with a nice terrace right in the park when sun is there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moydeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
940 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
“One of the best in Vichy”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Honestly, I am not sure I should write reviews on this restaurant as it is probably one off the best restaurants in Vichy and with only a few tables it should be kept as my secret. Best deserts every time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HiddenCaviar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empire Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Empire Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing