We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Continental
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Brest
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Every thing was OK: The Hotel location, very close the rue of Siam (the Commercial street of Brest), the Room, Installations, staff. Only one objection to do, the breakfast was quite good, but it is very expensive.

Room Tip: The Hotel is placed in a very quiet Square, and the room had double glass window. I was at the 314 R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGEL O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Burlot, Directeur général at Hotel Le Continental, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Angel O,

We are very glad to read you enjoyed our hotel and that this experience wasgreat!
Thank you very much for leaving this really nice review about our hotel.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel really soon,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    137
    38
    13
    6
See reviews for
20
91
15
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Entering this impressive art deco lobby and walking up and down the staircase with its stained glass windows is definitely part of the legend. I would be happy arranging informal meetings there and will be happy to return to stay overnight again.

Room Tip: rooms on the main facade offer a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMS-NW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Burlot, Directeur général at Hotel Le Continental, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear JMS-NW6,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a comment. We were delighted to hear that you have appreciated everything in our hotel and especially the art deco design. We hope to welcome you again in a soon future.

Best regards.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

nice place to live, and no hesitate I will choose Le Continental again.:-)
The reception is very nice and make clients feel like home, excellent.
also the room is good and have beautiful view from windows since it faced a square.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 昊阳 曹
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Burlot, Directeur général at Hotel Le Continental, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for posting this extremely kind review. We do our very best to offer a truly personalized experience to each of our guests

It is a great pleasure for all of us to read that you will choose again Le Continental for you next stay in Brest, and I would like to ensure you that it is with equal pleasure that we will welcome you back

Yours sincerely,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights during a business trip. I arrived by train and was pleased to find that it was only a 4 min walk from the Brest train station. The staff were very professional and the room was clean and very well maintained. The bed was very nice. Internet was fast and reliable from the wireless access from my room. Right outside the hotel, within only a few minutes walk, there are great places for eating and shopping. Perfect for business or vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guinnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Burlot, Directeur général at Hotel Le Continental, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are very happy that your stay gave you complete satisfaction. Your comments shared with the entire staff, are a real encouragement, we are very sensitive to the appreciations of our customers.
Waiting for having the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Hotel Le Continental Brest.

Yours Sincerley

Nicolas Burlot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here recently whilst away on business.

Firstly, note that the hotel is allegedly rated 4*'s but DOES NOT DO FOOD APART FROM VERY LIMITED ROOM SERVICE. Breakfast is also very, very average and charged on top of your room rate at €15/night.

The rooms are nice, mine was corner room with a great balcony (although it never stopped raining whilst I was there!) with a good coffee machine, nice comfy bed and great views over the city. However there are other issues.

Each evening I arrived back at the hotel and tried to have a shower the water was cold, one evening the water coming out of the hot taps was orange, full of sand and continued to run dirty for 10 minutes, I've no idea where it was coming from but was nasty looking and cold, as usual.

Although the weather was very wet I think a drip bucket in THE LIFT is pretty poor.

There is no mini bar or fridge in the rooms, again poor for a 4* rating.

Overall, I wouldn't use it again. The staff were very friendly and helpful but at €150/night plus extra for a poor breakfast it's way too expensive. Better elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_C96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas_Burlot, Directeur général at Hotel Le Continental, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Ian,

Following your stay at the Hotel Le Continental, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are deeply sorry if your stay at the Hotel Le Continetal did not live up to your expectations and we would like to apologize for this.

Last week before your stay, we had a water problem at the hotel, linked with the water supply of the city. Our facilities have been polluted and we have to fully clear our system in order to solve this issue.

We are sorry for the cold shower; our team made its best to solve the problem on time.

Because of the storm, and the wind, some rain has flown in the elevator.

Concerning your remark relative to the absence of mini-bar in rooms, you have to know that for hygiene and food safety reasons, the Oceania Hotels group decided not to equip anymore its rooms with mini bars and refrigerators.

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your concerns and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the future.

We are entirely committed and continuously striving to meet the expectations of all our guests; therefore your feedback is extremely important to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel Le Continental.

Yours sincerely,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My stay in this hotel was quite OK. Standard room was big enough, bed was wide and room was quiet. Choice of breakfast foods was acceptable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Speed of internet was good and wifi worked without problems.

Negative? Incomprehensible, that in 4* hotel rooms are without fridges and mini-bars. And something was wrong with sleeping quality. I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and I could not sleep without waking up 5-10 times per night! Maybe the reason was a weak air conditioner? Or this hotel has been builded on the wrong place (on water slots or something like that).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiiterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had just four nights in Hotel Le Continental last August. It was our first time staying in Brest. The hotel is really well located for walking and shopping, with many restaurants and bars easily accessible on foot. I got a great deal online and should have stayed there longer. A lovely hotel and the staff are very nice. On the negative side the hotel only served breakfast and the bar was very quite. We will however go back there again on our next visit to Brittany.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brest hotels
0.4 mi away
L'Amiraute
L'Amiraute
#1 of 36 in Brest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oceania Brest Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Abalys
Hotel Abalys
#9 of 36 in Brest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Paix Hotel Contemporain
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brest Centre Port
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Brest Centre Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Continental

Property: Hotel Le Continental
Address: Square de la Tour D Auvergne | 41 rue Emile Zola, 29200, Brest, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Brest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brest
#5 Family Hotel in Brest
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brest
#6 Business Hotel in Brest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind this large building located in the heart of Brest’s town center, discover a non-smoking hotel full of character that has made a name for itself in Brest. The hotel’s art deco style, its large, peaceful foyer and its warm welcome will charm you and give you a pleasant, quality stay in Brest’s region. You’ll appreciate its ideal location in the center of Brest near the Chateau and the new Port de Plaisance marina, and 50 metres from the famous Siam street... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Continental Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing