We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something good something bad!”
Review of La Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Marine
Ranked #10 of 11 Carnac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We travelled around Brittany (France) for a while. This was the first hotel where we slept.
We chosen Carnac because we were interested in the famous Menirs (the big prehistoric misterious stones). From the outside, the hotel looks like nice, clean, tidy etc...
But, on the other hand, it was totally something else! There is no reception, never! Day and night, nobody! To go in the hotel, to get the corridor, you have to get across a sad access which is near a smelly restaurant toilet! Rooms are nice but the shower curtain was SO DIRTY and MUSTY! In the website where we booked it was written that the breakfast was part of the deal but it wasn't true. Maybe it is not hotel fault, we don't know! Something good in the room was a brand new Tv and a very good mattress! The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristinanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

Wish we would have paid a bit more money and gone to a better hotel. If you only have a limited budget then it's fine. Had a nice courtyard area and bar which was always busy and nice atmosphere. Linen was clean, and rooms ok. Hallway and stair rails needed a good clean and maintenance on things like shower hose kept falling off etc. a very basic hotel. One step up from a backpackers.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harryharryharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We drove into Carnac in the rain with no hotel reservation and the place we really wanted to go to was closed for their annual vacation. Some of the other places were full but this was offering a reduced price and it was one we could find in the dark so we stayed here two nights. The location is pretty good, right next to the church, museum, and tourist office as well as a pretty darn good creperie (Creperie du Pompe). It had good free internet access in the lobby and the staff was friendly and spoke good English (helpful since my boyfriend doesn't speak it). It sort of seems as though the attached bar draws lots of regulars for both evening drinks and breakfast coffee. The room was clean and quiet although the hallways sort of smelled of smoke. They have tried to put some interesting artwork, etc. up but the rooms were a little depressing. That was really the only downside so I would say that it should have a rating of 3.5.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainbarrelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Seriously, the tiny room was in bits with huge cracks on the walls & ceiling and the wood covering on one wall was warped and twisted. The wooden bead head rocked and rolled with only one working light.

There is no lift here so you march up a dismal, dirty stair case where someone in an attempt to cheer things up has stuck pictures of flowers at random places on the walls.

I could hear other peoples toilets flushing in the night and was awakened the next moring at 7 by the clomp clomp clomping of other guests leaving. A poor nights sleep.

Breakfast was the high spot, delicious fresh bread with good jams and the usual array of pastries, cheese, ham and fruits. I had a bowl of rather good hot chocolate from a clean machine.

The next morning I took a look at their guest book and saw only glowing reviews. What I also observed were places where pages had been torn out... hmmmm.... I wonder why?

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

On the Center of Carnac, La Marine is a very nice hotel.
But if you want to stay close to the beach, it's a little far.
One drawback was the carpet on the floor - but is a particular notice.
The staff is helpful and the room was nice - not the worst, but not the better one.

If you go to Carnac (Karnag), you can stay with no trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spacial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This was the first hotel we stopped in en route to the South for a seven night stay. It wasn't the best hotel we stayed in during our travels but the bed was clean and comfortable as was the en suite bathroom with over bath shower. The room could have done with a spruce up and the staff were a bit casual, but apart from that fine. The parking across the road was free at the time of year we stayed, but isn't in high season. We didn't eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We went in the offseason, so being near the beaches (about a 20 minute walk away) was not a primary concern. In fact, the location ended up being perfect: La Marine is a five minute walk from the Carnac-Ville bus stop that took us from the Auray TGV station. The hotel more or less faces the Museum of Prehistory, and it is within a short walk of the large church, gift shops, two bakeries/pastry shops, at least two yearround bars, a handful of pizzerias and crêperies (including the highly rated Chez Marie and Ty Gwelig). Furthermore, around the corner is a bike rental where we rented two touring bicycles for the day for 8€ apiece (perhaps the off-season rate) and which we took through the swampy trails a few km north of Carnac, as we went menhir and dolmen hunting, which was the focus of the trip.

The hotel itself boasts a restaurant and an amusing bar done up in a felicitous nautical theme.

Our room was very simple and equipped for its two main tasks: allowing us to sleep at night and shower in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moacirpdsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnac
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel la Licorne
Hotel la Licorne
#6 of 15 in Carnac
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Lann-Roz
Hotel Lann-Roz
#5 of 15 in Carnac
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Trinite Hotel
Trinite Hotel
#2 of 5 in La Trinite-sur-Mer
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel An Ti Gwenn
Hotel An Ti Gwenn
#7 of 15 in Carnac
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Alignements
Hotel Les Alignements
#9 of 15 in Carnac
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marine

Address: 4 Place de la Chapelle, 56340 Carnac, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Carnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carnac
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Marine 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your La Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marine Carnac, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing