We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was fine, food disgusting!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marine
Ranked #10 of 11 Carnac B&B and Inns
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Room was fine, food disgusting!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We love the Carnac area, but had never stayed in the town before and were delighted when La Marine said they could accommodate us for the night.

Room was fine, nothing special, but clean & not too cramped.

We were lucky enough to arrive just as the town was setting up a night market. Lots & lots of stalls for craftspeople, from art, jewellery, clothing, ornaments, chocolates and our favourite, Breton Caramel. Twinkling street lights added to the magic, as did Breton musicians in the town square, along with folk dancers. Add a good dollop of warm temperature and you have the perfect mix for an excellent evening!

And it was! Despite one of the most atrocious meals I have ever encountered! We made the mistake of thinking that because we were staying at La Marine, we ought to eat there. Ha!!

Eat we did not, although we did order and pay for food. Service was poor. Long wait and when the food finally arrived it was literally inedible. Frozen food at it's very worst. When the waitress came to take away two full plates of uneaten food she didn't even question it!

So we headed off back to a local bar where we could watch the people enjoying the night market, listen to the music, and get a very good hotdog to fill our empty tummies! (So much for La Gastronomy!)

Breakfast wasn't much better. Coffee was good. Croissants were yuk. Continental meats were limited & poor.

Overall we had a fantastic stay in Carnac, and if we had just stayed at La Marine on a room only basis it would have been fine.

But avoid paying for any meals here - you will only end up having to pay again to eat elsewhere for something edible!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    22
    19
    17
    14
See reviews for
18
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lonaconing, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My immediate impression of the hotel was that it was a little worse for wear. The rooms were VERY spartan, and everything could use an updating. However, the longer I stayed, the more the place worked it's charm on me. It really felt like an old-time shore resort restaurant. My room had a distant view of the sea, which was lovely, and you can't get a more in-town location. The shower/ tub was the largest we had in our entire French tour. The owners/ managers are lovely, and the food in the restaurant was quite wonderful. We stayed one night, I wished we had stayed longer! However, if you're looking for modern and slick, this isn't for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We travelled around Brittany (France) for a while. This was the first hotel where we slept.
We chosen Carnac because we were interested in the famous Menirs (the big prehistoric misterious stones). From the outside, the hotel looks like nice, clean, tidy etc...
But, on the other hand, it was totally something else! There is no reception, never! Day and night, nobody! To go in the hotel, to get the corridor, you have to get across a sad access which is near a smelly restaurant toilet! Rooms are nice but the shower curtain was SO DIRTY and MUSTY! In the website where we booked it was written that the breakfast was part of the deal but it wasn't true. Maybe it is not hotel fault, we don't know! Something good in the room was a brand new Tv and a very good mattress! The location is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristinanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Wish we would have paid a bit more money and gone to a better hotel. If you only have a limited budget then it's fine. Had a nice courtyard area and bar which was always busy and nice atmosphere. Linen was clean, and rooms ok. Hallway and stair rails needed a good clean and maintenance on things like shower hose kept falling off etc. a very basic hotel. One step up from a backpackers.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryharryharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carnac hotels

Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We drove into Carnac in the rain with no hotel reservation and the place we really wanted to go to was closed for their annual vacation. Some of the other places were full but this was offering a reduced price and it was one we could find in the dark so we stayed here two nights. The location is pretty good, right next to the church, museum, and tourist office as well as a pretty darn good creperie (Creperie du Pompe). It had good free internet access in the lobby and the staff was friendly and spoke good English (helpful since my boyfriend doesn't speak it). It sort of seems as though the attached bar draws lots of regulars for both evening drinks and breakfast coffee. The room was clean and quiet although the hallways sort of smelled of smoke. They have tried to put some interesting artwork, etc. up but the rooms were a little depressing. That was really the only downside so I would say that it should have a rating of 3.5.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainbarrelDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jock in Brum
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Seriously, the tiny room was in bits with huge cracks on the walls & ceiling and the wood covering on one wall was warped and twisted. The wooden bead head rocked and rolled with only one working light.

There is no lift here so you march up a dismal, dirty stair case where someone in an attempt to cheer things up has stuck pictures of flowers at random places on the walls.

I could hear other peoples toilets flushing in the night and was awakened the next moring at 7 by the clomp clomp clomping of other guests leaving. A poor nights sleep.

Breakfast was the high spot, delicious fresh bread with good jams and the usual array of pastries, cheese, ham and fruits. I had a bowl of rather good hot chocolate from a clean machine.

The next morning I took a look at their guest book and saw only glowing reviews. What I also observed were places where pages had been torn out... hmmmm.... I wonder why?

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foz do Iguaçu
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

On the Center of Carnac, La Marine is a very nice hotel.
But if you want to stay close to the beach, it's a little far.
One drawback was the carpet on the floor - but is a particular notice.
The staff is helpful and the room was nice - not the worst, but not the better one.

If you go to Carnac (Karnag), you can stay with no trouble.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spacial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carnac hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel An Ti Gwenn
Hotel An Ti Gwenn
#5 of 15 in Carnac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Carnac Thalasso & Spa Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Alignements
Hotel Les Alignements
#11 of 15 in Carnac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel la Licorne
Hotel la Licorne
#6 of 15 in Carnac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Auberge Hotel-Restaurant Le Ratelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marine

Property: La Marine
Address: 4 Place de la Chapelle, 56340 Carnac, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Carnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carnac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Marine 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marine Carnac, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing