We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience the Celtic "thin" boundary with the spirit world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Megaliths of Carnac

Megaliths of Carnac
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Carnac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Experience the Celtic "thin" boundary with the spirit world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

For us, the megaliths, alignments and dolmens of Carnac region inspired awe and a sense of wonder. Walking among the megaliths, sitting in the dolmens, running your fingers over the artful, grooved images on the stones, it’s easy to feel transported back in time. Your imagination takes over and you’re hauling the stones, participating in the rituals, the prayers, the dances. This is one of those places where you experience the Celtic “thin” boundary with the spirit world.

We first discovered the megaliths, alignments and dolmens while planning our visit to Brittany. Fans of Stonehenge and similar sites, we were surprised we hadn’t heard of Carnac before, especially considering their broad extent (they cover much, much more ground than Stonehenge) and easy accessibility. While Stonehenge is now fenced off, it’s still possible to sit directly inside several of the ancient dolmens.

If you’re interested, it’s well worth going beyond the large alignment sites to the (only slightly) more remote dolmens just a few kilometers outside Carnac. Just off the roads, or a short walk into some fields, you can have your own private moments sitting in the dolmens, contemplating the mysteries and communing with the very distant past. We especially liked the dolmen near the beach at Locmariaquer. The brief boat trip and visit to the tumulus and dolmen at Gavrinus is also striking, beautiful and memorable. You’ll also get more from the overall experience if you read up on the sites online before you travel.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GeezerVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    501
    184
    50
    17
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A must-see in Brittany”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went to see the Megaliths of Carnac (alignements de Carnac in French) in May 2014.

Pros: Breathtaking. We'd seen lots of prehistoric sites before (including the Stone Circles of the Orkney Islands, Scotland, and Stonehenge, of course) but we'd never visited anything so huge. Everything is covered by rows and rows of menhirs, they're everywhere you look. It is really impressive - a must-see in Brittany!

Cons: Try to avoid wet days, because it was raining when we went and the paths were very muddy.

Practical information: There are some parking lots scattered throughout the alignments. The biggest one is near the Interpretation Centre/Souvenir shop (which also has a great lookout on its roof). There are some guided tours, as well as a touristic little train, but unless you are a Prehistory fan, you can skip them and just stroll around (besides, it's free). Try to see some of the dolmens too, they're really interesting!

Tourist Office in Carnac will provide you with a useful map and lots of valuable info.

Overall: Don't miss it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meritxell_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Mini Train Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We took the little train trip from the Information Centre and €7.00each it was well worth it.
The trip included Carnac, Trinite Sur Mer and a good length of the stones. The spoken guide was in english and french.
Good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More standing stones than an average lifetime.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Saw more standing stones and dolmen in the 2 days we visited the area than we have seen in a lifetime of visiting sites around the UK and Europe. Best local information is in the Tourist Information Office in Carnac. Very helpful English speaking staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Naizby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toongabbie, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

These fascinating sites are not only of historical importance, but are beautiful as well – there is something very appealing about the regularity yet individuality of the stones. When we visited there were all sorts of flowers in the grass, and sheep grazing, lovely photo ops. No info about the stones on site so read up beforehand and then make up your own theories! They are fenced so you cannot stand amongst them, but this was pretty unobtrusive (and stops other tourists getting in the middle of your photo!). You can walk right up to Le Geant du Manio though.

We spent around 4 hours walking around two of the sites (Alignments du Menec, Alignments de Kermario) plus Le Geant du Manio. There is a look-out in the midst of the Kermario Alignments, but we preferred the views of Menac, walking along the path on the North side. We are pretty fit but easily distracted, so it might not take others this long.

The tourist office in Carnac has a map with all the important sites – you have to ask for it, but it is free. The map we got only had roads, no walking paths, but we still found it useful for orienting ourselves. There are a few info panels scattered around with maps with walking paths on them anyway. You can also book tours through the tourist office, but English ones don’t run every day so you need to plan ahead (we missed out).

We prefer walking as you have the time to take it all in, but if you wanted to drive there was plenty of free parking at both sites (you have to walk a little bit to get to Le Geant). There is also a little train that goes from the town to the main sites – rug up if you go for this option on a less than perfect day, everyone on it looked frozen!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LivandZac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Megaliths of Carnac also viewed

 

Been to Megaliths of Carnac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing