We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD IN PARTS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Carnac
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“GOOD IN PARTS”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Unlike some other guests, we received a friendly and efficient welcome on arrival. The hotel's limited parking area was already full, but as it was early in the season and the weather was not good, we were able to find a nearby street parking place without too much difficulty. This is likely to be an issue in the height of summer, however.

Our room (217) was pleasant and nicely decorated, with tea and coffee making facilities. However, the bathroom cubicle was extremely small and poorly laid out. It was so narrow that it was impossible not to bang your elbows on the wall when cleaning your teeth and the soap dispenser was all but impossible to reach.

We enjoyed a very nice dinner in the restaurant, but were abandoned by staff after the dessert course. It took 30 minutes to get a coffee and then there was another long wait for the bill, then another wait to get a different bill that could be put on the room. The dining room was full, which I think is a reflection on the quality of the food on offer at dinner. However, the buffet breakfast layout was very awkward, leading to a lot of congestion in the central area.

I would recommend the hotel for its handy central location and its food, but I think the managing director of Best Western ought to be invited to come and sleep in room 217 to see if s/he can wash without touching the walls!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception56, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mr,Mrs,

First of all we would like to thank you for giving your opinion about your stay with us.
We apologize for the problems linked to the size of the bathroom. About the presentation of the breakfast, we are currently trying to make it easier for our guests.
When you will come back, please don't hesitate to ask for another room, we will be pleased to satisfy you. And we will make our best to present you the bill quickly as well.

Yours sincerely,
The reception department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    335
    100
    44
    12
See reviews for
132
435
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finistere
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A good location just off Carnac plage but in a quiet street. Junior Suites are (as others have noted) wonderfully spacious and ours had a balcony on each side. Professional & friendly staff, clean and smart hotel overall, even in the corridors and lift.
Nice spa suite, and the spa treatment centre was very good - can recommend the HydroJet, which is not a jet of water straight on your back but a warm waterbed with massage jets underneath (you don't get wet). Also the complete body massage, wonderful, you're likely to fall asleep.
Evening meal very good (be aware of the steps in the restaurant, not easy to see these at night).
Buffet breakfast was one of the best and included smoked salmon on our visit.
If you want to stay around this location, I'd say this hotel was very good value.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one, but Junior Suite and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWritersRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Hotel well situated for beach, local shops and restaurants. Booking in staff friendly and helpful. Rooms very small, clean and beds large and comfortable.Bathroom adequate but our toilet was in an extremely small space and not easy to use! Restaurant very expensive and although food was tasty, very small portions and my "confi of roasted shoulder of lamb" was an extremely small shank! On politely complaining that it was not as described, the waitress returned from the kitchen distainfuly saying the chef had said that shank was part of the shoulder! I would highly recommend eating elsewhere. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reception56, Responsable réception at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Dianne,
Thank you so much for taking time writing too us: your opinion is very important for us.
We apologize you didn't appreciate our restaurant: we assure your meat was really a peace of lamb even if the waitress couldn't explain it weel because a lack of English vocabulary .We're really sorry about that and we hope you will come a next time in Carnac: we'll do our best to satisfy your expectations.
Best Regards
Anne-Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Large heated indoor pool made all the difference to our stay here. Nice and warm - they seem to keep the water at 30degs or so, and pleasant seating area around. The rooms were on the small side, and strangely didn't seem to get made up each day until mid-afternoon. The breakfast spread was extensive. We didn't try the restaurant on our week's stay as there was nothing which might appeal to our teenage children, even though they are not fussy eaters, and it is expensive. We gathered from people who had dined there that the portions were rather small. All in all a nice enough stay in a town which cannot seem to make up its mind whether it's a Blackpool or a Salcombe - expensive hotels and restaurants alongside burger bars and amusements. The general atmosphere, however, was welcoming and friendly, plenty of families out in the early or mid evening enjoying themselves shopping or eating without being rowdy. We felt quite relaxed about our children strolling down to the beach on their own.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leosharpe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter.England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Carnac was nice, weather was excellent, enjoyed our few days through Brittany Ferries, but the hotel......well I'm just not sure. On the surface it seems very good, but when I think of the odd shaped room, the cramped ensuite, the seriously leaking shower cubicle making the floor a danger, the good but very fussy and small portions in the restaurant for much money,
The staff were pretty good, except for two waitresses who could not speak a word of English and conveyed what they thought we meant incorrectly and we got totally the incorrect order!
Oh, the restaurant should say when they are serving raw fish, because some English people do not like it, and when a plate of raw salmon arrived for my wife, well that just about finished her for the day!
Not their fault, we should learn more French to make ourselves understood.
Have come away with a feeling of something missing in our hotel experience, that's why we are all .....Just not sure!

Room Tip: Make sure you do get the middle internal angle/corner rooms, weird shapes and cramped ensuites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maximus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here with my 6yr old son and my mum for a short break at the beginning of August. Staff were excellent and always very helpful. The room we had was huge (#3) with a terrace with loungers and lots of space for my son to play. Bathroom was spotless and housekeeping good. Breakfast was fine and the pool area very good (Thalaso jets and massage beds underwater). The location is excellent, you are next to the beach and many restaurants and cafes. Trinite sur Mer was lovely (just around the bay). Only negative is that parking is on a first come basis and we did struggle to find spaces close to the hotel, however we always found a space near the beach and it was usually free (especially after 7pm and before 9am).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesSek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

A very solid French 3 star hotel, great pool (indoor) and spa, the rooms are small but do family suites (very small), house keeping a little odd. Nice breakfast and good restaurant. It does what it says on the tin - we found the service excellent and they were wonderful to our two young girls

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnac
0.4 mi away
Carnac Thalasso & Spa Resort Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Le Churchill
Hotel Le Churchill
#4 of 15 in Carnac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Tumulus
Hotel Tumulus
#1 of 15 in Carnac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Sofitel Quiberon Thalassa Sea & Spa
14.7 mi away
Qualys Hotel & Spa Vannes
6.8 mi away
Ibis Quiberon Thalassa
Ibis Quiberon Thalassa
#6 of 20 in Quiberon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa

Property: Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa
Address: 17 avenue de Kermario | 82 Avenue des Druides, 56340 Carnac, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Carnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carnac
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Carnac
#2 Spa Hotel in Carnac
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carnac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western FR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Celtique
Best Western Carnac
Carnac Best Western
Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa Carnac, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing