We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We surely do not come back”
Review of Hotel An Ti Gwenn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel An Ti Gwenn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Carnac
Certificate of Excellence
Hof
1 review
“We surely do not come back”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel did not fulfill our expectations we had from its homepage. We had booked one week before but the hotel did not give us the room they promised. The expected comfort has in the meantime gone.
It is loud, the bathrooms have been modern 40 years ago. The only thing which let us stay
was the woman who managed the allday life in the hotel. The owner were not very compromising. For 9 Euros p.p. the breakfast should be more variable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    51
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
28
88
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We stayed there me my wife and our baby daughter, and also my mother for the first of two nights. The hotel has a very good location: 5 min walk to the towns center, about twenty minutes to the alignements, and 20-25 to the beach. less than 10mn to the tumulus where you have a good view of the region.The rooms are nice enough, the one we stayed at was a duplex, with view of the yard. Cant say we had too much noise. The breakfast was rather good for a B&B, especially the bread.The manager wasnt that helpful with a bed for the baby, but the other girl helped and we got the bed. Carnac is a very nice little town, and with an ok hotel at the right price, we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
400 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This is a small family-run hotel that's quite pleasant, set in extensive gardens, about 500 metres from the main square of Carnac, a delightful town. The pictures on this web site give an accurate portrayal. Our room was spacious, the twin beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was also roomy and well appointed, except for the ubiquitous French shower head without a shower screen which starts to wear a bit thin after eight or ten hotels. I thought the other reviewer was rather harsh on the place, since it has many good features. But I have three criticisms:
1. There's no internet, and these days with people getting around making bookings on the fly, that's really not acceptable. Particularly since they have Internet in their own office, to handle bookings.
2. They recommended the Tumulus Restaurant nearby, which is somewhat pretentious and over-priced, but suffers from a common malady of an inspired chef being let down by non-professional and inadequate service staff. Good food, lousy service.
3. For the hotel room we paid 55 euros which seemed OK until the 18 euros for two breakfasts and a bit of tax was added, making it 74.54 euros. I just don't think the whole package is worth that.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Pros:
-Sufficiently clean. Mind you, that is not 'spotless' or even 'very clean', but we could lie down without worrying about stains or insects (other than mosquitos).
-Quiet area. It's right in front of the cemetery, so not much action there. BUT the hotel itself is quite noisy.

Cons:
-Really uncomfortable, old beds: creaky, way too soft.
-Extremely noisy. It's an old, small house and sound carried surprisingly well. The staff was incredibly loud: bursts of laughter at 7 am, loud conversations, shouts...
-Website promised bikes at the guests' disposal, but they gave us blank looks when we asked for them.
-Expensive for what it offers - and in comparison to other hotels in the area.

It looks great on the website, but the actual hotel is nowhere near that pretty or comfortable.

We saw charming little B&Bs that looked much better and were in the centre of Carnac (and cheaper too). Problem is they didn't seem to have a website to book in advance.

So, if you're not going in July/August, I'd advise to not bother booking in advance and just choose a hotel when you get to the centre of Carnac - everything's pretty close. Or simply choose some other one from the Trip Advisor site.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nushh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

This was a good hotel at a decent price (we paid 65 Euros) and in a good location. We stayed there for two nights in a room on the first floor. The room was simple but neat and clean and plenty big enough for 2 adults with large luggage. The bathroom was nicely tiled and larger than we had expected for a French hotel. Reports from friends staying at other hotels in the area suggest that we had a much nicer bathroom. The tub had a showerhead but no shower curtain so you had to take a bath with the shower head. We thought it was fine. We had a nice view of the backyard; unfortunately the rainy weather precluded us from enjoying it. The two women we interacted with at the front desk were very friendly (one spoke English) and extremely helpful in locating a hairdryer for us to use (there isn't one in the rooms and we were going to a wedding). We were about a 5 minute drive down to the beach and the main area of town. (We didn't walk it but it would certainly be doable in nicer weather.) We didn't eat at the hotel. Our only complaint was the noise level in the morning. The wooden floors in the hallway carried noise (and the room doors - with noisy key locks - were close together) and we were woken by other guests coming and going. Overall, it wasn't that big of a deal, though. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — price for the location/quality
  • Disliked — noise in the morning
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smith3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carnac hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tumulus
Hotel Tumulus
#1 of 15 in Carnac
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carnac Thalasso & Spa Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Churchill
Hotel Le Churchill
#4 of 15 in Carnac
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel la Licorne
Hotel la Licorne
#6 of 15 in Carnac
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Alignements
Hotel Les Alignements
#11 of 15 in Carnac
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel An Ti Gwenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel An Ti Gwenn

Property: Hotel An Ti Gwenn
Address: 4 rue de Poul Person, 56340 Carnac, France
Region: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Carnac
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Carnac
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Carnac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel An Ti Gwenn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel An Ti Gwenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel An Ti Gwenn Carnac, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing