We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Des Halles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Des Halles
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is very well located near the town square, harbour and fortified old town. The hotel is basic, but still clean and spacious. The bathroom was a little tired it terms of decoration - but this is a small family run hotel and in general well kept.
The breakfast was very good and plentiful - with fresh bread, cakes and preserves made by the proprietor - delicious!
The staff were also very helpful when - like Helen M's write up - we were caight out by market day. Unfortunately our situation was made worse by the fact that our car had been towed away! However the staff helped us with locating the car pound and printing off maps for us.
We also had a motorbike, and this hotel is very bike firendly - we left for a few days, and were returning to the hotel 3 days later and the owners let us leave our bike in their garage at no charge! That's what I call service.
A word of warning to other visitors to Concarneau - Market day is Monday so don't leave your car parked in the town square overnight! It cost us 120 euros to retrieve it and the car pound is in Quimper! Also - as you have free parking on a Sunday you don't have to purchase a parking ticket at the pay and display, so you don't necessarily see the parking restriction notice - this is our excuse and we're sticking with it!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarechdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Des Halles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

It was our second visit to this small hotel which is very well located close to the harbour and the castle. The rooms and equipment are a good size and clean with good showers. The new owners/managers are pleasant and helpful.

Garage parking is available at a reasonable cost and free wi-fi is available. Breakfast is expensive at 9 euros, especially as there are lots of cafes within a few yards that offer breakfast at a cheaper price. On my last review of this hotel I complimented the hotel on the large fluffy towels - these have now disappeared and replaced by small and inadequate ones.

Overall, Concarneau is a very pleasant and interesting place to spend a couple of days and this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

we planned two days away in Concarneau but had to cut it short. The hotel were very accommodating. The room, number 104 was a little tired but bed comfy. Shower over bath leaked even though there was a glass door. The hotel is well positioned just a short walk to the ville clos. Watch where you leave your car, I was awoken by reception telling me that the market was setting up and my cars was in the way! Completely my fault.
Breakfast average, other places offering breakfast for less and right on the front. The room has no tea or coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

You can hardly find a hotel with a better location in Concarneau. In the middle of the city and still nice and quiet. Rooms are comfortable, although some a bit small and facing the back of the hotel. It seems to be family operated. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast has choices of bread, cereals or crepes, should you prefer that. Parking is free at the city hall square just outside the hotel, with the exception of market days. A good hotel choice in Concarneau!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street or side square.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Bearing in mind that this a two star hotel, this hotel delivers on nearly every aspect.
It is under new management and the decor is much improved.
It 's in very easy walking distance of anything you might want to do in Conarneau and also makes an ideal base for exploring the area. The rooms are clean, fresh and quite spacious and have good showers. Don't expect air conditioning and breakfasts are a bit limted. Plent of other options close by. Try the Pret-a- Porter ? In such a central location there is some noise at night over weekends.
There are a plethora of good restaurants just minutes away. Park your car and forget it for a few days. Explore the old town, walk its' walls, take the ferry across to Cabellou, take the coastal walks and enjoy the twice weekly markets. We love it.

Room Tip: The Comfort plus room has a little balcony. (The only one!!!)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retiredandroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel by chance, and loved it.

Staff in the tourist office staff were very pleasant but not very informative (even in French) and told us that there was only one hotel (a pretty awful-looking one) overlooking the harbour. The young woman insisted that there was no other centrally-situated hotel with the sea view I was hoping for and we'd have to go out to the beach, which she said was nowhere near the town. I can only think that she hasn't done any travelling at all herself since her idea of distance is somewhat skewed!

We eventually found Hotel des Halles - without her assistance - and guess what? By leaning just a tiny bit out the window we had a lovely view of the harbour, just a minute's walk away and right next to the old walled town!

I would have stayed several days in this hotel but we were travelling on to meet friends. It's very central, clean, comfortable, reasonable, and the room was very bright thanks to windows on two sides. Couldn't connect to the free wifi (or I'd have been consulting Tripadvisor instead of the tourist office!) but that may have been due to me and my new computer. Didn't ask the staff for help because we were only there for a short time. Had limited contact with the staff due to short stay, but we felt very welcome.

DIdn't have breakfast - late dinner the previous night - but dining room looked very inviting. Would definitely stay again if we're in Concarneau. And would spend less time in the tourist office, and more time enjoying the beaches which turned out to be only half a mile or so from the hotel.

Room Tip: Can't remember our room number but it was at the front/corner of the hotel with windows to the f...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 388MarianM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The hotel was spotless, right on top of the town centre and a short walk to the old walled town. There was lots of parking nearby. The breakfast was home made and the rooms were clean. Very friendly owners and as a bonus for older guests it has a lift. You have to book for the onsite car park as this only holds one or two cars. We had a great experience for a first time in Brittany. Would come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helpfull2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Concarneau hotels
0.9 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
#3 of 10 in Concarneau
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Europe
Hotel de France et d'Europe
#5 of 10 in Concarneau
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Grands Voyageurs
Les Grands Voyageurs
#7 of 10 in Concarneau
82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Port
Hotel Du Port
#8 of 10 in Concarneau
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Halles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Halles

Address: 2 Rue Charles Linement, 29900 Concarneau, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Concarneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Price Range: £58 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Des Halles 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel *** of town center in front of the old closed Town of Concarneau to 200 meters of the first beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Des Halles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing