We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Freshest Seafood in a Lovely Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Crabe Tambour - CLOSED

Au Crabe Tambour
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Freshest Seafood in a Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As a treat for my father's birthday we lunched here during our stay in Brittany. Last year when we visited we sadly couln't get in and this year made a hasty return a little earlier than before and we were so disappointed to see the restaurant had 'disappeared' only to find it in a different location on our way back out of the Ville Close! Phew! We sat in their pretty courtyard and tucked into chilled rose wine whilst slicing our own bread from the selection placed on the top of a huge oak beer barrel and nibbling at some winkles. Our lunch included a huge platter of langoustine pan fried in butter and spices followed by a huge plate of shellfish and oysters. Disappointed that we couldn't get Coquille St Jaques or Crevettes Rose but they werent in season which is fair enough. So glad we made it this time. Can't wait until next time! Well worth a trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatandbemerry2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    12
    8
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very relaxed, unpretentious, simple menu, freshest seafood”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

A very lucky find, only spied as we were walking along the ramparts of this beautiful old town of Concarneau. It is an old house, tucked away behind the Main Street, with a pretty outside terrace and traditional wooden floor/table/dresser interior. A very enigmatic chef, who comes out of his kitchen to greet every customer and a welcoming host, who seems to glide round the restaurant in a cloud. There is a limited menu, only seafood, which is presented in a giant saucepan, filled to the brim with crab, lobster, mussels, clams, langoustines and anything else that might have crawled in. Served with delicious bread, which you slice as and when you want it. Oh and the best huitres gratin I have ever eaten.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank merrivale7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood but....”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

An original concept. This restaurant in the Ville Close serves fresh seafood, steamed in large casseroles. We ordered Marmite Imperiale (29 euro per person) and waited almost an hour before it came passing the time eating nice bread and winkles.
Limited choice of wine and some of it was out of stock.
My initial feeling when I started eating the crab, oysters, clams & cockles was 'this is good' but this was short lived as the main ingredients were steamed mussels which became boring. The French couple on the same (communal) table expressed a similar criticism with their dish Marmite des Glenans.
Not very good value for money as it was like eating steamed mussels with a few embellishments.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A mountain of glorious seafood”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We visted the restaurant after reading glowing reviews and they were all true. This quirky little place in the picture postacrd walled city was a delight. They cook the freshest seafood the simplest way in a beatifully fragrant broth which makes for great mopping up with the artisan bread that you hack off yourself from the tops of beer barrels used as tables. We ordered a marmite of shellfish for three people and it would have fed six. We filled a bucket with the shells that were spent! All sorts of wonderful mussells, clams, langostines and topped off with the biggest crab i have ever seen. The staff are as quaint as the place they work in and i would love to see more artisan restaurants around the world like this. Good work fellas keep it up and keep it simple!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank markhusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Best fresh fish meal with atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnnMyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Crabe Tambour also viewed

Concarneau, Finistere
Concarneau, Finistere
 
Concarneau, Finistere
 
Concarneau, Finistere
Concarneau, Finistere
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing