We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget-friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Good room size, but the bathroom was cramped and needed renovation. Good location near the beach, but far from the city center. Breakfast was good but sometimes some items where missing. Bedsheets where smelling. Generally a good hotel for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea side have a balconey with a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pierre655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Unlike other reviews we were relieved not to have paid extra for a seaview as there is a road and front of hotel parking between balconies and sea, but more importantly there was a horrible, definitely not seaweed smell coming off the beach on all four days of our stay. Our back room had a large balcony overlooking terrace and pool which was much more pleasant to sit out on. This hotel is also a 5 minute walk to the cleaner proper beach (don't go to Concarneau if you're after a beach holiday) and there were several cheaper nearer to attractive port. We found our room fine, downstairs was stuffy and sadly under-used. We also used cafe next door for breakfast and walked to the endless restaurants with more character in town.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rio62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a pleasant hotel with friendly staff . The rooms are a bit outdated as is the bar area . We did not eat breakfast but went to the little cafe/news store across the road which served a nice petit dejeuner for €7 . This hotel is ok for a 3* Hotel . We paid a bit extra for a sea view with a terrace and it was worthwhile .

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phillip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This Hotel is in a lovely position next to the beach with plenty of parking. It has a lovely heated pool which is covered, very handy if it is raining! The Hotel is not as close to the town as I thought and when it is wet or windy the 30 minute walk along the front is not very pleasant. You can cut through the town in about 15 minutes but it is again not very pleasant or easy to find without a map. We had a sea view room with a balcony which is recommended. The meals in the restaurant are of good quality, reasonably priced, as is the wine list. It was a shame for them that the Hotel was so quiet. Concarneau is a wonderful town, particularly the Ville Close, and this Hotel is ideal for a visit if you want a property with a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Sea View with balcony definitely worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plantsman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed in mid June, with the weather such that we just looked at the pool – it looked fine. The location is great for Concarneau, a pleasant walk into town, and, as long as you book a sea view room, great views across the beach. Friendly staff, ample free parking (rare in French seaside towns) and pleasant, decent sized rooms for the money. A good breakfast (just remember you are in France, they, quite logically, don’t do English breakfast). Also a good value restaurant, with great seafood. On top of all this, when we checked out, completely un-expected, a 10% discount on the room rate because we belonged to the “Age d’Or” (literally “golden age” – third age in English, how much nicer is the French version!) That really left us with a good impression of the hotel! Lots to see in and around Concarneau, don’t miss the Old Town, and particularly the Fishing Museum near the entrance, good value for money.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms strongly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greswoldians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed 27th Jun to 4th July 2013, and found the hotel unexpectedly quiet. Upgraded to a sea view room (cost 20 euro's per night) but as several were empty, a no cost upgrade would have been appreciated. Breakfasts were more than adequate, although like most of France, they do not know what boiling water is (especially for tea making)..We solved this one by purchasing a kettle from a local supermarket as no facilities were provided in the room. The restaurant was fine, although somewhat over priced compared with what was available in the town centre. We left just as the heat wave started so were not affected by the lack of air conditioning in the rooms.

Room Tip: Front rooms have sea views, and those on the 2nd floor have a small balcony accessed via sliding doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChasBKna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Hotel de l'Ocean is situated in a great location, a pleasant sandy beach is opposite the hotel; making it an ideal base for a beach holiday or exploring the Breton region.
Upon arrival we were received a warm welcome from the reception staff. The communal areas are quite nice, although a little worn and dated.

After many attempts of attempting to open our room door with the dodgy key card, we finally gained access; I must admit that my first impression was "Wow, this is dated!"
The walls were covered in thick artex; a great place for lots of dust to gather! The furniture was extremely worn, with corners chipped and surfaces scratched. You are not provided with duvets, but instead a raft of bed sheets well past their sell by date.In fact, I doubt the room had been updated since the mid 80's!

The bathroom was the biggest let down; it was also extremely dated and worn; the shower leaked and there was no extractor fan to get rid of nasty smells or to cool the room down.
In addition, there was no air-conditioning in the hotel; a real drawback for us as we stayed in the July 2013 heatwave! As a result, we were forced to leave the patio door open all night and most of the daytime.

The swimming pool was advertised as having a retractable roof, however despite the soaring 30 degree heat it was not retracted, therefore creating a greenhouse effect; the pool was unusable! Luckily we had the sea instead!

The buffet breakfast was OK; the croissants pastries were nice, although the 'fresh' crepes were cold, and the orange juice lukewarm, making for an unpleasant experience. The hotel also has an evening restaurant, although after looking at the menu we decided it was grossly overpriced; this was reflected in the restaurant being extremely quiet!

To conclude, Hotel de l'Ocean is ideal for a budget beach holiday, although it is extremely dated and lacks some basic facilities; remember that a three star hotel in France is generally equivalent to a two star hotel in the UK.

Room Tip: If you book with Brittany Ferries you are guaranteed an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concarneau
0.3 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ker-Moor
Hotel Ker-Moor
#8 of 10 in Concarneau
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
#4 of 10 in Douarnenez
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Du Port
Hotel Du Port
#7 of 10 in Concarneau
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Grands Voyageurs
Les Grands Voyageurs
#6 of 10 in Concarneau
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean

Address: Plage des Sables Blancs, 29900 Concarneau, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Concarneau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Price Range: £69 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing