We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France et d'Europe
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Positives: Hotel is a stone's throw from the walled town and market square and we didn't hear any noise at all. There's a basic gym on the first floor but the running machine is tiny! Room was small with little room for the suitcase but bed really comfy and bathroom fine. Wifi is free, signal best in reception. The staff are so nice and can recommend good places to eat. we felt very welcome. Good value for money I think.

Negatives: Our safe didn't work and wasn't mended despite reporting it. Breakfast isn't included which we weren't aware of and costs ten euros so we ate in the market square for six euros or less. parking is 6.50 a day just over the road in a semi secure park. Apparently there is free parking at the station a bit further up the road. Credit card machine didn't want to take my card so had to use the cash point over the road at great expense- strange as there was no problem before or after.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Sir or Madam,

We thank you for your comment regarding our hotel. We feel very sorry for the defective safe in your room, it should have been fixed the day after your arrival but wasn't. We apologize for this inconvenient.
However concerning the price of our breakfast, let us remind you that we proposed you a special offer for a free parking if you had taken breakfast. That was a package in our website.
We do not include breakfast in our prices and do not pretend to do it.
By the way our breakfast can not be compared to the one you can have in a café, our buffet is very wide with fresh fruits, eggs, local products, fresh orange juice... and hot drinks as you like. That is not fair to compare. The breakfast room is also very well decorated and very appreciated for its welcoming ambience.

We would be glad to welcome you again, so that you can try and taste our delicious breakfast buffet !

Thank you for your compliments,

We wish you a nice summer.

Hôtel de France et d'Europe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

This newly renovated hotel is well situated in the centre of Concarneau.The owners have used their years of experience to ensure that it is efficient, comfortable and very well designed. The staff are all friendly and very helpful.
The disabled room is one of the best that we have come across and best of all Michel, the owner, was able to get me on the road again when the front wheel of my wheelchair disintegrated on the cobbles of the old town one evening.
The good breakfast was a wonderful start to our days there, particularly the orange juice and their range of jams.
We definately hope to stay there again some time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

A lovely, well-located, affordable, privately-run hotel is hard to find - but this is one!

A number of hints:

- Drop off your luggage, then either move the car to the private parking area or a bit uphill to the free car park at the railway station.

- Make use of the breakfast buffet! We found it a very reasonable deal.

- Listen to the owner's advice regarding sightseeing. They told us about places which were not in either of our two guidebooks, but absolutely lovely.

- Same applies to restaurant advice, we were directed to a place with lovely seafood.
As the harbour area is in immediate walking distance, there is also no need of a car for sightseeing and eating in Concarneau itself.

Initially, we wanted to stay for one night, then decided to stay longer, which was very handy for day trips in the area.

We'll stay there again when we are in the area!

Room Tip: We haven't seen the other rooms, but liked Room 318.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jensstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I was shocked to read the most recent negative review as our experience was v different. We changed our booking to four nights instead of two as we enjoyed being there. It is run by a couple are both very friendly and helpful and because it is their own business it has a different feel than many glossier hotels. The latter are fine and anonymous but this is deliberately different and most of the reviews pick this up. The style is quirky but it often is in hotels. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was good. The bed was fine (and certainly clean!) though a larger one would have been good in a "confort" room.The breakfast was excellent - lovely jams available and very good service. The pets were a delight!
We would certainly return and would recommend it to friends.
I

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoodsnobLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_france_europe, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Me and my husband thank you for your review, we do not understand what happened for the guest before. They came at the hotel 3 days after your departure and we do not have earthquake in Concarneau, only in our heart when we wrote the review.
If you come back next year, the hotel will be changed, green grass on the façade, new lobby, walls, carpets, but not the bathrooms wich are new.
Many thanks. Danyèle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Location: 10/10
Price: 10/10
Friendliness of welcome: 9/10
Room cleanliness: 8/10
Room equipment: 4/10 (bed uncomfortable)
Bathroom: 5/10 (clean but towels needed renewal)
Hotel common areas: 4/10 (nasty smell from bathrooms on first floor; "patio" full of junk)
Charm: 0/10

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel de France et d'Europe for three nights whilst touring Normandy and Brittany.

It is ideally located a short walk from the harbour and proved a very convenient base for sightseeing by car in the area. Parking is an issue if you do not use their private parking which is charged separately. However, it is located only a couple of minutes walk across the road from the hotel.

Initially, we had booked the lowest price room which proved too small for our luggage. However, we were able to transfer to a higher priced room located at the front of the hotel which, whilst not large, was adequate for our three night stay. If staying in a room overlooking the main street there is noise at night, but this did not prove a problem with the window closed.

Breakfast at the hotel (charged separately) was of reasonable value with a good range of cereals, breads, croissants, cheese, ham (even eggs to boil yourself), etc. The hotel also offers a free Internet service.

We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful and they offered some very good suggestions as to where to visit in the surrounding area.

Overall we would recommend the Hotel de France et d'Europe if staying in Concarneau for a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Mature couple
Le Pecq, France
June 20, 2011


Friendly staff, clean room, well appointed bathroom. Walking distance to centre and the old walled city. Private parking area just across the road, secured at night. Simple but good breakfast. Better value for money than the larger chain motels usually found on the outskirts of towns.

Bed was a little small for a double and the room could get a little hot in the summer with no aircon unit.

Room Tip: would not recomended with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Concarneau hotels
0.8 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
#3 of 10 in Concarneau
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ker-Moor
Hotel Ker-Moor
#6 of 10 in Concarneau
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Grands Voyageurs
Les Grands Voyageurs
#7 of 10 in Concarneau
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Port
Hotel Du Port
#8 of 10 in Concarneau
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et d'Europe

Address: 9 avenue de la Gare, 29900 Concarneau, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Concarneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Price Range: £85 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France et d'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One minute walk from the fishing harbour and the famous "Ville Close", Hotel de France et d'Europe welcomes you in one of its 22 air-conditionned and bright rooms. A magnificent plant wall in the facade of the hotel, a modern and refined decoration, the hotel has been fully renovated in 2012 to offer a very appreciated comfort to its guests. Enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet before a session in the fitness room or a sunbath in the private terrace.Hotel de France et d'Europe is special and different by the charm of the host in the family tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France et d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing