We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in Concarneau town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France et d'Europe
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Concarneau town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

This recently refurbished hotel located in the town centre is very good value for money. The rooms are modern ,very clean and comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast. Fresh orange juice, original flavoured preserves, cereals, ham, cheese, croissants etc.
The staff are very welcoming and efficient. It is one of the quietest town centre hotels we have ever stayed in. Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    64
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
111
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night having booking on arrival in Concarneau- through the tourist office. An excellent hotel. The staff were extremely friendly & accomodating. The room spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed - bathroom small but very clean with a good shower. We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the street- but no road noise - very quiet for a central hotel. Free WiFi & we didn't have to ask for the code as it was given to us on arrival. Brilliant location just across from the Ville Close & promenade. Staff couldn't have been more helpful-checkout is 11am and as we were travelling by motorcycle and they let us leave our bags at reception until we left Concarneau in the late afternoon. The car park - well actually more of a yard - is across the road and locked at night. The breakfast was Eur 10 each - which we found was about the usual price for that part of France - but was probably the best breakfast we've ever had in France - not just your usual croissant and coffee but cereal, freshly squeezes orange juice, boiled eggs, fruit, yougurt, cold meats, cheese, fresh tea or coffee & the usual pasteries - well worth the Eur10. Would definitely recommend this hotel & lovely Concarneau. We'll be back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed for 1 night while touring Brittany and found by chance this hotel at the very last minute.
It is the most outstanding 2 star hotel I've ever econuntered. Recently renewed, we enjoyed a clean, comfortable and well equipped (tv, wi-fi) room.
The staff is really there to assist your stay. Just to mention we were late for breakfast but.. no problem, the staff very politely reopened the room and served us with a a full course breakfast.
In essence, a 2 star hotel that is worth more then lots of 3 stars hotel that I've visited.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazucc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Positives: Hotel is a stone's throw from the walled town and market square and we didn't hear any noise at all. There's a basic gym on the first floor but the running machine is tiny! Room was small with little room for the suitcase but bed really comfy and bathroom fine. Wifi is free, signal best in reception. The staff are so nice and can recommend good places to eat. we felt very welcome. Good value for money I think.

Negatives: Our safe didn't work and wasn't mended despite reporting it. Breakfast isn't included which we weren't aware of and costs ten euros so we ate in the market square for six euros or less. parking is 6.50 a day just over the road in a semi secure park. Apparently there is free parking at the station a bit further up the road. Credit card machine didn't want to take my card so had to use the cash point over the road at great expense- strange as there was no problem before or after.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsable réception at Hotel de France et d'Europe, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,

We thank you for your comment regarding our hotel. We feel very sorry for the defective safe in your room, it should have been fixed the day after your arrival but wasn't. We apologize for this inconvenient.
However concerning the price of our breakfast, let us remind you that we proposed you a special offer for a free parking if you had taken breakfast. That was a package in our website.
We do not include breakfast in our prices and do not pretend to do it.
By the way our breakfast can not be compared to the one you can have in a café, our buffet is very wide with fresh fruits, eggs, local products, fresh orange juice... and hot drinks as you like. That is not fair to compare. The breakfast room is also very well decorated and very appreciated for its welcoming ambience.

We would be glad to welcome you again, so that you can try and taste our delicious breakfast buffet !

Thank you for your compliments,

We wish you a nice summer.

Hôtel de France et d'Europe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

This newly renovated hotel is well situated in the centre of Concarneau.The owners have used their years of experience to ensure that it is efficient, comfortable and very well designed. The staff are all friendly and very helpful.
The disabled room is one of the best that we have come across and best of all Michel, the owner, was able to get me on the road again when the front wheel of my wheelchair disintegrated on the cobbles of the old town one evening.
The good breakfast was a wonderful start to our days there, particularly the orange juice and their range of jams.
We definately hope to stay there again some time.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halstenbek
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

A lovely, well-located, affordable, privately-run hotel is hard to find - but this is one!

A number of hints:

- Drop off your luggage, then either move the car to the private parking area or a bit uphill to the free car park at the railway station.

- Make use of the breakfast buffet! We found it a very reasonable deal.

- Listen to the owner's advice regarding sightseeing. They told us about places which were not in either of our two guidebooks, but absolutely lovely.

- Same applies to restaurant advice, we were directed to a place with lovely seafood.
As the harbour area is in immediate walking distance, there is also no need of a car for sightseeing and eating in Concarneau itself.

Initially, we wanted to stay for one night, then decided to stay longer, which was very handy for day trips in the area.

We'll stay there again when we are in the area!

Room Tip: We haven't seen the other rooms, but liked Room 318.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I was shocked to read the most recent negative review as our experience was v different. We changed our booking to four nights instead of two as we enjoyed being there. It is run by a couple are both very friendly and helpful and because it is their own business it has a different feel than many glossier hotels. The latter are fine and anonymous but this is deliberately different and most of the reviews pick this up. The style is quirky but it often is in hotels. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was good. The bed was fine (and certainly clean!) though a larger one would have been good in a "confort" room.The breakfast was excellent - lovely jams available and very good service. The pets were a delight!
We would certainly return and would recommend it to friends.
I

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodsnobLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_france_europe, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et d'Europe, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Me and my husband thank you for your review, we do not understand what happened for the guest before. They came at the hotel 3 days after your departure and we do not have earthquake in Concarneau, only in our heart when we wrote the review.
If you come back next year, the hotel will be changed, green grass on the façade, new lobby, walls, carpets, but not the bathrooms wich are new.
Many thanks. Danyèle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Concarneau hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
#3 of 10 in Concarneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Des Halles
Hotel Des Halles
#5 of 10 in Concarneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Port
Hotel Du Port
#7 of 10 in Concarneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ker-Moor
Hotel Ker-Moor
#4 of 10 in Concarneau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et d'Europe

Property: Hotel de France et d'Europe
Address: 9 avenue de la Gare, 29900 Concarneau, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Concarneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France et d'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One minute walk from the fishing harbour and the famous "Ville Close", Hotel de France et d'Europe welcomes you in one of its 22 air-conditionned and bright rooms. A magnificent plant wall in the facade of the hotel, a modern and refined decoration, the hotel has been fully renovated in 2012 to offer a very appreciated comfort to its guests. Enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet before a session in the fitness room or a sunbath in the private terrace.Hotel de France et d'Europe is special and different by the charm of the host in the family tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France et d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing