We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de France et d'Europe
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Des Halles(Concarneau)
US$93
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ker-Moor(Concarneau)
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$160
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Sables Blancs(Concarneau)
US$198
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotel Du Port(Concarneau)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
119
66
20
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
66
20
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalled citytownsportbonusluggage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed for one night in this hotel in October 2012. We were travelling on a motorcycle and arrived very wet and cold! Understandably the hotel could not help us directly to dry our coats etc, however, they were very welcoming and pointed us in the direction of a "Laverie" just a few minutes walk away - sorted - lovely dry and warm clothes all ready for the following day.
The hotel was very near the Old City - just a few minutes walk and the secure parking was one of the reasons we booked it.
The room was spotless, comfortable bed and good shower.
The only reason why I have not given it 5 stars is the traffic noise which did keep my husband awake some of the night. I do, however, realise that this is the price you pay for being in such a great location.
A little bit of traffic noise was soon forgotten when we arrived downstairs for breakfast. Most definitely the best hotel breakfast we have ever had in France - lots of choice - including freshly squeezed orange juice, delicious croissants, breads and preserves, fruit, yogurts, cereals, hams, cheeses and the option to do yourself boiled eggs.
When we next visit Concarneau this will be the place we stay. Looking forward to the breakfast already!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paula_powell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_france_europe, Responsable réception at Hotel de France et d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear client,

We are very glad and thank you for your compliments after your stay with us at the hotel.
As you mentionned, the hotel is located nearby the Ville Close and the local restaurants, wich is very appreciated to enjoy city life in the evening. As this asset can also be loud, all windows have been changed last winter to offer a very comfortable sound (double glazing).
For a quiet night it is highly recommanded to sleep windows closed, with the air condition on, you can forget the city around.
We hope to see you again in Concarneau, for a sunny stay that time !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The small hotel is located on the Rue de la Gare, about 2 blocks from the port and the Villa Close. The hotel provides secure parking in a small gated lot across the street. Another review mentioned "recently refurbished", it seemed almost new to me it was so clean and neat. The furnishings were of high quality (multiple pillows, duvet, excellent mattress) and the basics (storage, writing desk--with 2(!) free outlets!) were modern and functional. The bathroom had a full bath and shower attachment with a splash screen for the shower. The WiFi signal was strong in the room as well as elsewhere. There is a fitness room on the 1st floor, but I did not use it. The breakfast room was bright and cheerful, even for those with morning grumpiness, and I was able to get granola and yogurt--something often unavailable in traditional French hotel breakfast rooms. The orange juicer machine must be seen to be believed. The owners and staff were friendly and accommodating, with good recommendations for restaurants. Although the hotel fronts on a busy street, the double-glazed, fully functional window, and the electronically operated roll-down screen completely blocked any traffic noise, including the angry wasp noise of scooters. You may be able to book directly with the hotel for less than the online hotel services, but it was very reasonably priced when I booked it online. Easy walking distance to the
Villa Close, restaurants, and the port and away from the noise and bustle of the pedestrian and market area there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O2BNFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_france_europe, Responsable réception at Hotel de France et d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear client,
Thank you for saying that you appreciated your stay at the hotel, it is a real pleasure for us.
We hope to see you again for a new stay in Concarneau, do not hesitate to book directly with us (mail or phone), reservation made this way can offer good surprises...
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed 5 nights in August and found it excellent, very convenient for town, harbour and ville close. The owners - good Bretons! - are warm, welcoming, helpful, considerate and speak very good English. Aunt V (92) is still raving about the breakfast - the best of our 3 hotel stay in France. Rooms are very comfortable and the hotel has had a very recent refurbishment which means pleasant decor and entertaining individualistic quirks - liked the sardine cans! and the nautical breakfast room! The terrace looked inviting - sadly, we were doing the tourist bit and didn't make use of it - and one of us tried out the running machine with success. It's amazing what is fitted in to this friendly, family run residence! Our room overlooked the road which had its moments of being noisy but sleep was sound and the air conditioning kept a reasonable temperature when we had the windows shut.
For those concerned about costs inclusive or otherwise, a visit to the hotel website allows one to see what offers are being made - with several nights' stay, parking is free in the secure car park which is just across the road. Yes, we'd go back - it would be a pleasure.

Room Tip: We had the comfort rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie_H_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This recently refurbished hotel located in the town centre is very good value for money. The rooms are modern ,very clean and comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast. Fresh orange juice, original flavoured preserves, cereals, ham, cheese, croissants etc.
The staff are very welcoming and efficient. It is one of the quietest town centre hotels we have ever stayed in. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night having booking on arrival in Concarneau- through the tourist office. An excellent hotel. The staff were extremely friendly & accomodating. The room spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed - bathroom small but very clean with a good shower. We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the street- but no road noise - very quiet for a central hotel. Free WiFi & we didn't have to ask for the code as it was given to us on arrival. Brilliant location just across from the Ville Close & promenade. Staff couldn't have been more helpful-checkout is 11am and as we were travelling by motorcycle and they let us leave our bags at reception until we left Concarneau in the late afternoon. The car park - well actually more of a yard - is across the road and locked at night. The breakfast was Eur 10 each - which we found was about the usual price for that part of France - but was probably the best breakfast we've ever had in France - not just your usual croissant and coffee but cereal, freshly squeezes orange juice, boiled eggs, fruit, yougurt, cold meats, cheese, fresh tea or coffee & the usual pasteries - well worth the Eur10. Would definitely recommend this hotel & lovely Concarneau. We'll be back

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mags1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews