We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France et d'Europe
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very clean Hotel, with secure parking nearby. You can park directly outside the Hotel to check in.
It is an easy 5 minute walk to the Harbour and main attractions as well as a good choice of restaurants. Our room overlooked the main entrance and road, there was no problem with noise unless you open the window. Our only negative comment is with the room and the sliding door to the bathroom, which could not be fully closed as the track stopped about 50mm short of closing the gap. Other than that the room was very modern and well presented. Breakfast was a good choice with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetCrowdedHouseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

Lovely hotel with friendly charming English speaking staff. Good choice for breakfast with delicious home made jams that are available to buy. Rooms are clean and comfortable with wifi available. There is also a computer in the foyer. Unusually for a small hotel, we were provided with flannels and thick fluffy white towels.
Our only problem was the air conditioning. We had a similar problem with this particular type of model in Nice and had to change rooms. The owner took a lot of trouble to fix it but in our opinion the system is not that reliable. We like sleeping in cool rooms and the traffic was too loud to sleep with the windows open. If this doesn't bother you it will not be a problem. No problem with noise with the windows shut.
We would recommend this hotel. The location is good and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. It has its own secure locked car park on the opposite side of the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poodlemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Well situated-with safe parking nearby-breakfast average although service was very good-reception was particularly attentive and extremely helpful-within walking distance of a good range of restaurants and the Town Centre.
Markets were on on Friday & Saturday during my visit.
September weather was mixed with good sunshine and rain.
There is an Intermarche supermarket 200 metres from Hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Room clean, comfy, quiet, modern and well appointed. Breakfast excellent. Parking secure and in easy reach. Hosts helpful and friendly. Book direct with the owners if you can. Decor in dining room certainly interesting - you will either love it or hate it! ideal for getting to old town, beach and heading out after hours. Would recommend.

Room Tip: higher the better to avoid any noise if your a really light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemmerson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is near the town center and the breakfast is very good. However, our room was quite small and - mostly important - we had a problem concerning the wc and noone faced it even after that we had made the receptionist aware of it. At the end of the day, not bad but you can probably find hotels nearby where receptionists are not only kind, but also efficient

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcorovinello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel_france_europe, Propriétaire at Hotel de France et d'Europe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you to review your stay at our hotel.
Too bad you did not bother to talk to us on the spot.
The room was small? You've just booked a room for 2 and 3 are reached.
Of course you put the child's bed exactly against the bed in the bedroom, in the smallest place!

When you reported the problem of your toilet, my husband went immediately repair and it showed you the operation of the flush -in France there is often push buttons-, and everything worked fine.
The next morning, you come to breakfast by reporting the same failure ???, which result the same reaction: my husband went to fix it, immediately!
The young lady at the desk, fortunately friendly! is not responsible for the equipment, and we never leave a guest with any problem. We do very quickly as always.
Please respect the people at work, This employee is greatly affected by your words.
But I also see you have left on this site very disagreeable remarks, no place, no one and nothing is good enough for you ?. I regret that you have chosen our hotel, here respect and kindness are not empty words.
You could also thank us for breakfast beyond 11 hours and the room well after the normal starting time, you could ... but you did'nt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent three nights here in August. Everything was ideal. The location couldn’t be better: just a few blocks from the Ville Close and the paths along the coastline and just one block from the main bus stop (Concarneau – Port) so it is easy to visit other towns without a car, e.g. direct bus to Quimper and Port Aven. The breakfast is as good as everyone says: lots of choice, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, yogurt, croissants, baguette, ham, cheese.... And the rooms are just what one needs: nicely decorated, very clean, and well equipped. Our room overlooked the street and there was a rock concert next to the Ville Close one evening. Yet, the double-paned windows and AC did the trick – no sound and a restful night. Finally, the owner is very nice and very helpful (and speaks English). This place is a gem. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel had nice and very clean rooms. I would definitly recommend breakfast! The local marmelades tasted great. The location couldn't be better. A little walk to the walled town and the marketplace.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJDuijf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Concarneau hotels
0.8 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
#4 of 10 in Concarneau
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ker-Moor
Hotel Ker-Moor
#6 of 10 in Concarneau
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Grands Voyageurs
Les Grands Voyageurs
#7 of 10 in Concarneau
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Port
Hotel Du Port
#8 of 10 in Concarneau
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France et d'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France et d'Europe

Address: 9 avenue de la Gare, 29900 Concarneau, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Concarneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Price Range: £84 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France et d'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One minute walk from the fishing harbour and the famous "Ville Close", Hotel de France et d'Europe welcomes you in one of its 22 air-conditionned and bright rooms. A magnificent plant wall in the facade of the hotel, a modern and refined decoration, the hotel has been fully renovated in 2012 to offer a very appreciated comfort to its guests. Enjoy a delicious breakfast buffet before a session in the fitness room or a sunbath in the private terrace.Hotel de France et d'Europe is special and different by the charm of the host in the family tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de France et d'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing