We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly maintained, nonexistent management”
Review of Les Sables Blancs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Les Sables Blancs
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Badly maintained, nonexistent management”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We don't know where to start:

1-The hotel has no parking while it is located in a particularly crowded area of Concarneau. It took us ages to find a parking spot.

2- We were shocked by the hotel's ugly architecture. It looks like a very cheap beach resort that completely disfigures the beach on which it was built. We were baffled that such an architectural horror got a building permit from the municipality.

3-There is hardly someone at the reception desk. As the hotel's owners are probably trying to safe on operations, the receptionist is everywhere and nowhere. Instead of trying to get the hotel clients to have dinner the hotel's restaurant in a pushy and rude manner, he should better concentrate on doing his job and properly welcoming clients and handling reservations.

4- Food at the restaurant was less than average and prices are very high compared to other restaurants in Concarneau and Brittany including Michelin starred ones. Service in the restaurant is in complete disarray. Obviously, no one manages the servers or has trained them.

5-The room's balcony was full of hair on the floor. Kind of disgusting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ReneDijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    165
    67
    43
    15
See reviews for
72
355
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very pleasing hotel directly at the beach in Concarneau. We even got an upgrade and had a room with sea view . Clean and well equipped rooms.

We also had dinner on the terrace. Very nice menu with lobster at a very reasonable price. Friendly service. Wonderful sea view from the terrace.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_Traveller_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Booked a superior room (4) and wow, it was wonderful with massive terrace overlooking the beach.
Staff on reception were very helpful, one girl in particular, especially when there was a disastrous breakfast morning with hardly any food left at 9 15.!no problem , we were offered a free brekky, the sign of a good hotel methinks!
Dinner on the terrace is a fab busy affair and food delicious.
It's expensive , but worth it .

Room Tip: All face the sea, just depends how big you want the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handbagsbrockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Responsable relations clients at Les Sables Blancs, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions during your stay in our hotel.

The team from the hotel restaurant and thank you for your comments

sincerely

Denis Tudal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ittigen
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The sea view and the room with a big balcony is just amazing.

BUT, the rest of the hotel is a cheap Price value and has nothing to do with a 4 star hotel. Director very arrogant and not really helpful. No suggestions for whats to do in the Region, no Suggestion for massage, only asked if we will eat in this Restaurant. When I answered we will think about he just said: you won't think about Long...
But we did not eat there. We had breakfest the next morning for 14 EUR. But the ambiance in the Restaurant is poor... 2 Musics (of breakfest room and bar) were interferring, Service of the employees was catastrophic. They just did stand there, but did not even recognise if something was empty. And the buffet was very small, only one cheese (not a fresh one, like a package slice chees) and only ham. No fruit salad, and so on. For 14 EUR I expect more of a breakfest. We had much better ones in the Region for less.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fredivez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Responsable relations clients at Les Sables Blancs, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions during your stay in our hotel.

We have taken into account your comments and suggestions for improvement. We are also surprised and disappointed not to have been the height of your expectations during your stay. Thank you to contact the hotel, so we can find a solution together.

sincerely

Denis Tudal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at Les Sables Blancs. The only problem we had was a broken light in our original room but we were quickly found another room and from then on we had a great time.
As everyone has said, the view is fantastic and the beach right outside the hotel is made up of very fine white sand.
Service is excellent and a special mention has to be made for Mustafa who was so helpful and a very friendly presence at the front of house.
The food is very good but the restaurant is maybe a touch quiet for a family with a small child such as ourselves.
At £200+ a night excluding breakfast you couldn't call the hotel a value option but overall we would definitely say that it is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtg_vauxhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Responsable relations clients at Les Sables Blancs, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions during your stay in our hotel.

The team from the hotel restaurant and thank you for your comments

sincerely

Denis Tudal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French Riviera
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed one night to Les Sables Blancs. The hotel is tidy, the personnel very caring and the rooms with sea view absolutely worth the price. The bedroom is very spacious with a wonderful balcony. The view on the ocean makes you feel immediately relaxed, like if you had been thrown out from the world.
The restaurant is located on a full sea view, the food is extremely good and fresh.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Responsable relations clients at Les Sables Blancs, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions during your stay in our hotel.

The team from the hotel restaurant and thank you for your comments

sincerely

Denis Tudal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Second time staying at this amazing hotel - absolutely love it! The food / rooms / view / service is excellent and real value for money. The rooms / sound of the ocean makes the place feel very tranquil and relaxing. Unfortunately I was travelling for business and didn't get to see much of the area but will definitely try to go back in my personal time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stacy12345187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concarneau
0.1 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
#3 of 10 in Concarneau
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Europe
Hotel de France et d'Europe
#5 of 10 in Concarneau
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mona Lisa Cap Coz
Mona Lisa Cap Coz
#5 of 7 in Fouesnant
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ker-Moor
Hotel Ker-Moor
#6 of 10 in Concarneau
100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Des Halles
Hotel Des Halles
#4 of 10 in Concarneau
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Sables Blancs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Sables Blancs

Property: Les Sables Blancs
Address: 45 rue des Sables Blancs, 29900 Concarneau, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Concarneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Concarneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Sables Blancs 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Les Sables Blancs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Sables Blancs Concarneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing