We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A below average boat trip with interesting narration”
Review of Vedette Jaman IV

Vedette Jaman IV
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Dinan
Attraction details
Glocester, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A below average boat trip with interesting narration”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This attraction really requires two separate ratings. The first for the boat ride and the second for the narration.

This was a one hour round-trip from the Port of Dinan to a small village called Lehon on the Rance River. While it was pleasant enough, there's really not much to see along this stretch of the river. While Lehon (It's worth a separate visit.) is a pretty little village complete with a ruined fortress and an abbey, you don't get to see much of it. If you had to judge the trip solely on these aspects it would be well below average.

What saves things, though, is the narration. We learned a great deal about the history of the Rance, its importance to the economic development of the region and how it was canalized by Napoleon to facilitate moving goods from the English Channel to Rennes. We also got an idea of how hard life was for those making their livings transporting goods along the river. Finally, we got a brief history of the village of Lehon, its abbey and its castle. The narrator was knowledgeable, informative and funny. To cap things off, he ended the trip by leading a singalong of a traditional song.

The narration is in French, but they provide handouts in English if needed.

For anyone interested in the history of the river, this trip is worth the time and money. Anyone interested mostly in a scenic boat ride should probably look elsewhere.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Seldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    2
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton AB
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great way to see some of the Rance River Valley”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Yes, I agree with other reviews that the price was rather high for this one hour tour; however, it was a great opportunity to receive info on the history of the area, the river, the Chateau and Castle. I would recommend doing this boat tour and then walking the river valley to Lehon. The singing on the way back was quite cute. The tour guides were lovely people and they provided the narrative in both english and french.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SavvyTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Save your Euros”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were really disappointed in this one hour river trip given the previous reviews. The price was very high for what it was. (48 Euros for 3 adults and one child.) The views along the river are nice, but you can get the same effect, and some exercise, by simply walking on the path along the river toward the lock. There was a three page laminated print out we were able to read about how Napoleon built the locks which was interesting; however, there wasn't any commentary or music played on the trip we were on. Save your Euros and enjoy a nice walk instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NewportPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“messing about on the river”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What a wonderful and informative trip this was, we have walked along the river bank to Lehon and back, which was lovely, but being on the trip we were able to learn so much more of the history of the Chateau and castle, the owners were very friendly and Paul's commentary and singing were excellent albeit funny in parts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinandSue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAMANIV, Responsable relations publiques at Vedette Jaman IV, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a great trip !!!!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

My wife's 2 sisters and my brother in law all had a fantastic trip on the Vadette Jaman. The trip was an hour long and there was a lot too see.
The Monastery the locks all beautiful.
On the way back one of the crew played a hand turned organ and sang a song in French I was then asked to sing one myself which I think everyone enjoyed !! At least those who were deaf but the organ played beautifully.
Fantastic trip well recommended and the crew are great ! !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandLindabrailsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vedette Jaman IV also viewed

 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to Vedette Jaman IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing