We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

Chez Odette Bongrain
Ranked #11 of 137 Restaurants in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Westford, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Very nicely decorated. Food was very fresh and delicious. Staff was helpful with decoding menu and suggesting wines

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    100
    16
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, great plat du jour!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Beautiful rustic riverside restaurant, which was the perfect end to our holiday in the area. We were made to feel very welcome from the first moment we arrived, with the friendly waitress kindly adjusting the tables for us inside to accommodate 2 adults and 3 children. She also did this for other guests later as they arrived, to make them as comfortable as possible. The main reason we went to this restaurant, instead of others along the river, is that it had an enfant menu which was very reasonable and included a drink in the price...which is always a bonus. I had the plat du jour, which was excellent value at under 14 euros for 3 courses. Apart from the 'chitterling' which came as part of my starter, the food was beautifully presented and was delicious. The children meal's were huge and excellent value. By the end of our meal the restaurant was completely full, as would be expected from excellent service, price and food...but most of all the perfect location in this beautiful part of France.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst meal of our trip”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Visited this restaurant on the second night of our trip and it was one of the worst meals not only of our trip but also of my life.

Firstly the service was awful. In the middle of taking our order the waitress greeted another table and left mid sentence to answer the phone. After taking our order our drinks took almost half an hour to appear.

The service did not improve and when our main courses were brought we pointed out we had no cutlery. The waitress acknowledged this but while our food got cold she took other orders and greeted other diners. We had to track down another waitress to eventually get cutlery to eat with!

On tasting my main course however I did start to wish I hadn't bothered to get the knife and fork. My main course was scallops on a bed of leeks. Unfortunately two of the scallops were overdone / rubbery and the other two were slightly underdone. They were also very gritty and sat on a bed of leeks which had been cooked for so long that the cream sauce was bitter and had separated.

My partner had ordered a steak which he prefers medium to well done. Usually in French restaurants he finds his steak is undercooked for his preference but on this occasion it had been annihilated. I have never seen such a charred, burnt, shrivelled up piece of steak in my life.

The other dishes were also overcooked and mediocre in quality and execution.

I would suggest that this is a touristy restaurant and they do not care about quality, food or service. If you are staying in Dinan I would walk back up the hill away from the port and eat somewhere else!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value - friendly service”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Took the advice of the majority of reviewers and dined at this restaurant despite apprehensions that it was located very much on the tourist strip along the Port. Well worth the visit. Escargot in garlic butter and herbs were lovely and all dishes were tasty such as the salmon entree, scallops in sweated leeks and cream and a "platehanger"' steak and chips. Friendly and welcoming owners in this family run restaurant. Decent wine list with good value overall.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FieldsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

This place is great, a cosy little restaurant on the quay at an affordable price. We discovered Kier Breton here! The waitress/manager was very friendly and welcoming even though she was working flat out. The food was traditional and tasty, and the chef coming out to check on his guests was a nice touch. So good we came here twice !

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerrieBoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Odette Bongrain also viewed

Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor
 

Been to Chez Odette Bongrain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing