We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Maison Pavie
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
ibis Styles
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
313
17
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
17
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble showerlovely sitting roomtop floorhistoric buildinghis partnerlong roomoriginal featuresperfect in every waythe perfect hosthamnespresso machinebreadold housetea and coffeebell ringingrue victorideal spot
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed in the Kampot room of La Maison Pavie, overlooking the square, which in itself was very cosy (in-room shower is a bit odd, but OK if you are comfortable with your travel company). Very modern, but still retains details from the original structure, such as the wooden beams on the ceiling. The common lounge area (with a fireplace and classical music in the bathroom) and breakfast / dining areas with unlimited supply of coffee and tea also make for a nice respite from walking around Dinan (as it did rain during our mid-November stay). They really did a beautiful job with the design!! Finally, Jerome explained that the house actually honours Auguste Pavie, a French explorer in Indochina who was born here (hence some Asian touches here and there, and the odd room name), but which makes the place all the more special. The location also ideal, in central Dinan, itself a walled historic town with views on the river Rance, which is a 30min drive away from Saint Malo / Dinard. At the time we booked, we also had free access to the nearby indoor parking lot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tnk065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This bed and breakfast is just wonderful.
The house is very old but was completely refurbished in a very wonderful modern style with lots of Asian art.
The host was delightful and very helpful.
As it is an old house the staircase is a bit tricky

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

La Maison Pavie is located in Dinan, France (Brittany) in a small town that still can still be accurately described as medieval. The building itself is medieval. The interior has been wonderfully and creatively restored & renovated. Original floors and stairs, wonderful mix of medieval and Indochine decor. Our room was large and comfortable with a luxurious, spacious! bathroom that featured double showers and excellent, modern plumbing. Right next to the old cathedral and less than a block from a park that overlooks the river from a bluff, it is quiet and convenient. Jerome was friendly, efficient, and had thought of everything. Good breakfasts options. Large and comfortable breakfast area and lounge area. Evidence of a good eye for design and decor are everywhere. We highly recommend and hope for the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarnetMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have to admit. Staying at the La Maison Pavie set the bar pretty high for our week in Brittany and Normandy. I put this trip together myself so it is understandable if my wife was a little bit skeptical, fortunately she knows I did this sort of thing in my job and she trusts my judgment. We used to say that when putting meetings together, if they really came off really well, you had “hit a home run.” In this case I hit a ”grand slam” with the three nights we stayed at the Maison Pavie.
It might be a little difficult to find, but just head for the Basilica of Saint Sauveur in the center of Dinan. We had something special to do in this church on October 5 so we went into the Basilica first. Then we came out and began looking for where we were going to stay. We looked around and spotted the half timbered building that looks like the pictures we have seen on line. We rang the bell and Jerome welcomed us into his home. That was the beginning of a truly wonderful experience. Jerome could not have been more helpful and accommodating during our stay. My wife and I have serious balance issues and we both walk with “walking sticks” for balance. We packed for two weeks and our bags were very heavy. The Maison is a very old house and as seemed typical in France, the stairs were narrow and spiral. Jerome managed to get our bags up to our room on the top floor when we arrived, and he brought them down again when we checked out. We will forever be thankful to him!
Then there is the room. Our son-in-law designs homes (very nice homes) for an architectural firm in Atlanta so he has an eye for very interesting architecture when it comes to houses and he has shown us some of these houses. Words cannot explain how cute our room was, or how they were able to take a very old room and make it very modern and I hope that someday our daughter and son-in-law (and our daughters too) can experience this wonderful B & B too.
The shower was a glass enclosed closet in the middle of the room and words can’t describe how the wash basin was set up. Very French! If you feel you need a large, American style (Westin, Marriott, etc.), hotel room, France is probably not for you, unless your budget is unlimited. If you are flexible and you welcome new and unusual experiences (hopefully, only good ones) then you will probably love France.
The breakfasts were excellent and we enjoyed our conversations each morning with the other guest s from France, England and Germany. Parking, anywhere in France, can be a real challenge. Maison Pavie provides free underground parking in a parking garage abut a block from the Maison. I didn’t realize how wonderful that was because we were at the beginning of our road trip. One last note. We thought Dinan was an excellent location for exploring northern Brittany.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMCINCINNATI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

After 5 weeks of traveling around Devon and Cornwall and then Brittany we concluded that La Maison Pavie was one of the top two places we stayed. The home is named after a famous French explorer, Auguste Pavie, who was born in the residence in 1847. The property has been lovingly restored with a contemporary flare that totally enhances it while maintaining its historical integrity. Our room was large with a view of the historic Basilica from the front window and the lovely garden from the back window. Everything was immaculately clean. We were smart enough to have a meal prepared by our host, Jerome. The meal was grand in every respect and the two wonderful gentlemen from California we shared the table with added to a memorable evening. The morning breakfast was also a delight. The host and hostess, Jerome and Camille, were warm and friendly. They obviously love what they do and make their guests truly feel at home. I highly recommend people booking a dinner when staying here although you might not be as lucky as we were when it comes to sharing a table with other guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laney98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews