We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing interesting house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Vieille Auberge

Dinan Accommodation Gite - House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dinan Accommodation Gite - House
La Vieille Auberge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Dinan Accommodation Gite - House
La Vieille Auberge
Dinan Kitchen
Dinan - Downstairs accommodation
Custom Kitchen with Dish washer, Fridge, Microwave and Washing Machine
Door to Second Floor
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom Ensuite
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom Ensuite
Staircase to Sitting Room
Atrium between the 2nd and 3rd Floor
Upstairs Sitting Room
Upstairs Sitting Room with small kitchen
Upstairs Sitting Room
Dinan Medieval Centre
Petit Forte and Jerzual
English Garden, a stones throw from the house
Dinan Accommodation - River Rance
Church of San Sauvier area behind the house
Dinan Accommodation - Dinard Beach
Dinan Accommodation - Fort Le Latte
Dinan Accommodation - Jerzual
Dinan Accommodation - Chateau
Dinan Accommodation - Town Centre
Dinan Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing interesting house”
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Really spectacular house. Very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Lovely restaurants and bars with in easy walking distance. Excellent holiday intend to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review Joanna, we are glad you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again. Noel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice853
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This special property had everything you needed for a fantastic holiday and it also felt like a step back in history!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane25511...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful old house in a delightful town”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved Dinan, and staying in such a characterful house was a valuable part of the experience. Though the town is often humming with tourists, the house and its street is pretty quiet. It had everything we needed; in fact, the kitchen was well-supplied enough with pans and equipment that it induced guilt about making so little effort in that departments. And I only cracked my head on the top of door frame four times in the first 24 hours - they made people small back then.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Thanks for the review Jane - sorry about your head! At least you have some good stories about how you acquired the bumps on your head when you get back to New Zealand! Hopefully you will visit us again in the near future.

Noel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JENNIFER...
Bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, historic, comfortable residence”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Second time we've stayed in this beautiful house. The town is full of essentials - restaurants, bars, historic places to visit, supermarket etc. A great base to visit the coast or local tourist attractions. Very helpful local rep made arrival really easy. Parking at the local car park is worth buying and the deposit was returned promptly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and atmosphere
Liked least: Wifi kept dropping out but we were using it on multiple devices
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Thank you for you review Jennifer. It was nice having you stay with us again. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. - Cindy and Noel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H
Yorba Linda, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great stay in Dinan, in a wonderful historical home”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a brief stay of just 2 nights, but thoroughly enjoyed our time in Dinan. Really nice, medieval town with many nice shops & restaurants. The home is very comfortable, clean, and has so much character & history. Also the home is in a great location right in the heart of town -- no need to drive anywhere, just walk to the many shops & restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thank you for your kind review Mark and Jayne. I'm so glad you enjoyed both the house and the wonderful town of Dinan. I hope you will visit with again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huwrhys
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Right on the money”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived during a celebration in the town with a cycle race. All the roads were closed and we were sent around the town a couple of times until we called Sean (The manager). He walked down to where we were and jumped in our car to guide us in. What a lovely guy, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We took advantage of the car parking and never really saw the car again until we left. Dinan is a beautiful town and just knocks your eyes out at every turn. We were unfortunate to have illness strike my Father in Law down at the moment we arrived which put the brakes on our holiday as he was bedridden for the first couple of days. This was unfortunate as we had never been to Brittany before and were set for a good bit of exploring. We stuck to the locality and what a great place we were in. The house is very local to everything and the car just wasn't needed at all. The house itself is very quirky with a kitchen/diner/seating area on the ground floor. The stairs are a little tricky for those of a less than spritely disposition. The first floor has two bedrooms (1 Dbl and a twin) and the top floor has a lounge area with TV and a sort of sleigh bed for extra stayers I presume. As stated the stairs are not frail friendly but are ok if you're good for some climbing. Position wise it's brilliant. You'll have people taking photo's of the house all the time as it really is very charming to look at. We loved our time here and found the town and it's people truly wonderful. I wholeheartedly recommend the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position was brilliant
Liked least: Stairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review Huw. I was sorry to hear about your father-in-law. Hopefully you'll come back to visit us again under different circumstances.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing