We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Wonderful Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le d'Avaugour
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Clean, quiet hotel if you are on the back side overlooking a beautiful garden. The street side of the hotel overlooks the square and is quite busy and a traffic route. The staff is very accommodating, and the breakfast was superb. Dinan was a surprise town as we were on our way to another location. I would like to return and spend more time exploring this wonderful old French village.

Room Tip: Opt to pay a little more and stay on the quiet back side overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

I give the hotel 5 stars, not because I am comparing it with a 5 star hotel, but because for a 3 star hotel it is as good as it can get. First of all, Dinan is a beautiful little town. The hotel sits on the old town square, as do a couple of others. The lobby is beautiful and cheerful. The back looks out on the hotel's extensive gardens. Our room was modern-simple. I mean that as a positive. There is free parking right down the street, and nice little restaurants are in walking distance. The hotel is a winner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkarpoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I think I put most of my comments in the title but we went to Hotel Le d Avaugour in 2001 then went back in June 2012. It is a great place to stay and close to all of the shops and sites in Dinan France. The staff is courteous and the hotel is run very well. The room was large and comfortable.
The hotel is on the wall that is part of the original wall around Dinan. You can sit in their garden and look out from the wall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This hotel is nicely situated across the street from Place du Guesclin, which also features a large parking lot. Several nice restaurants are in close proximity. The staff was very pleasant and professional. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor area out back that is a great place to read and relax. There was also views of the old fortress wall around the city. The room had a nice big, comfortable bed. Our rate included breakfast, which was more than adequate. The hotel had a good-size elevator which was a pleasant convenience after carry bags upstairs at some places. We thought the rate, with breakfast included was very reasonable. The only negative comment about the hotel was that the TV emitted a very bright blue light that we had to cover with a pillow in order to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandiegoeater749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed there for one night. Warm welcome by the receptionist. The rooms are quite small but clean. Beautiful and large garden with great view. No private parking, but parking is possible just opposite to the hotel on the square. Excellent situated to explore the old city. We didn't eat at the hotel as there are many restaurants in the historic centre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tariwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel for two nights whilst touring Brittany. Staff were most helpful and friendly, I got the feeling that the hotel has been recently refurbished. The main areas were pleasantly modern and the hotel has a fantastic garden which integrates into the ramparts. Having done quite a bit of driving we settled for two nights and had a quick drive to Dinard had a look round then took the vedette over to St Malo. This worked out really well for us and saved moving on to visit Dinard and St Malo.

Room Tip: If you are looking to save the odd euro and don't intend to spend lots of time in the room the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Perfect for a stopover. 
Pleasant greeting from the man in reception. Shown to our room which was pleasant, clean and well kept. The decor is dated but not offensive in any way and the room was quite small.
The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring Dinan as it is smack bang in the middle of town. 
If you are looking for a base this is PERFECT. If you are looking for sumptuous furnishings and huge rooms then this is not the hotel for you.
We stayed at the front of the hotel which I have to say is extremely well soundproofed. 
If I were to return I would probably stay elsewhere but only to try somewhere new. I wasn't blown away by this accommodation and that's why I gave it this rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgbessiemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#3 of 16 in Dinan
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#2 of 16 in Dinan
677 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel le Challonge
Hotel le Challonge
#5 of 16 in Dinan
404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le d'Avaugour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le d'Avaugour

Address: 1 Place du Champ clos, 22100, Dinan, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Price Range: £166 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le d'Avaugour 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le d'Avaugour*** is in the heart of Dinan, in a historic stone townhouse set on the town ramparts. It offers charming rooms and suites fitted with all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le d'Avaugour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le d Avaugour
Le d Avaugour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing