We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Excellent standard for a two star hotel. Rooms are immaculate and of a good standard. Owners are very welcoming. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomJerseyCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is more like a B&B than a hotel: it does not do evening meals. The two most positive features and its outstanding cleanliness and its wonderful location: just 100 yards from the Porte de Saint Malo one of the entrances to the very attractive walled city of Dinan. Its owners are very attentive ( some might consider them a little over attentive). The room we had was very nice and of a very good size but it was an attic room so headroom was restricted. Breakfasts are not outstanding: they consist of half a baguette per person; two pastries (one that tastes like paper); a nice cake and a selection of beverages from tea, coffee, hot water, hot chocolate and orange juice. There is no fresh fruit (some that comes from a can is available), meat or eggs. The only cereal on offer during our stay was cornflakes which tasted like paper. Parking is mainly on the street nearby which is free. Overall it is not a bad place to spend a night or two since it is within easy walking distance of most of Dinan’s restaurants. The proprietors should make a better effort for breakfast though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBlunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel is a Breton building that has been completely and beautifully restored. My daughter and I stayed in one of the garden rooms that had a French door opening onto one patio and a French window opening to another. Breezy and cool. The location of the hotel is perfect being in a very quiet residential neighborhood only a 2 to 3 minute walk to the city walls. Dinan itself was a hit with my 14 yo daughter, who called it "cottage stone."

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We were arriving late and I called the hotel to inform them. The owner asked me what time our train was coming in and when we arrived in Dinan he was there to take us to his hotel. This was totally unexpected and a wonderful first experience in Dinan. The breakfast was superb with home made jams and plenty of very good coffee. A good value for around 7 euros. The staff was courteous and most helpful. Rooms were lovely and clean. I recommend this hotel to any traveler

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My husband and I were fortunate to find this perfectly located hotel just outside the gates of Dinan. Our room was impeccably clean, well maintained, and charmingly decorated. Breakfasts were delicious. The owners were helpful and responsive to our needs. Their excellent suggestions for sights to see and restaurants to try made our trip to Brittany perfection. We highly recommend Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo as well as the beautiful town of Dinan.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWLIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We stayed at this cute B&B, in a garden room in April 2011. The welcome was warm, the value was great. The two owners were very friendly, and spoke English well, which would be great for non-French speakers. The room was very nicely presented, and faced on to the terrace. The bathroom was lovely and the bed very comfortable. One comment, and this is very small- the shower could have been attached to the wall. In the morning, we went to the breakfast room, which was really very nice. However, unfortunately the breakfast was very basic and a little of a let-down. All we got was croissants (which were great), bread and jams (home made pear jam- fabulous). What was lacking were cooked options, and hams or cheese. We had so many reviews about the breakfast being amazing, so this was a little disappointing. Overall, a great stay though.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fergwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The hosts/owners are very nice. The price is good/moderate. The breakfast was worth the charge -- around 7 euro. The room was fairly large, very clean, and comfortable. It's in a beautifully restored "ancient" building in Dinan. It's outside the wall around Dinan, but so close you can walk in a few minutes to the center of Dinan. Great place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandJ-Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#2 of 16 in Dinan
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#3 of 16 in Dinan
644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Challonge
Hotel le Challonge
#6 of 16 in Dinan
397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Connetable
Le Connetable
#7 of 16 in Dinan
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo

Address: 35 rue Saint Malo, 22100, Dinan, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Price Range: £58 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing