We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a really good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Really nice hotel .Very clean and right beside the medieval walled town. Extremely helpful couple run this hotel and couldn't have been more friendly. Nice room and reception area. Great breakfasts.
Dinan is a beautiful town full of character .Watch out for car gps bringing you through narrow walled streets on way to hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorganPembroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erwane, Propriétaire at Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Good evening,

Thank you very much for your comment, we hope you catched your ferry !...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is clean, modern and very comfortable. The owners and their young family could not do enough to help us enjoy our stay. Recommended!
We were here for only one night and would have liked to stay more, but we were booked the next night in St Malo. See later review!
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewkirk1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

For our tour of Normandy and Brittany we had booked three different hotels in advance on the internet but were extremely pleased with this hotel for many reasons. It is in an extremely good position for exploring the old town of Dinan, the patron and his wife were charming and very helpful and we had a very comfortable room on the ground floor, which looked onto a patio.The hotel is beautifully decorated and very clean and we were provided with an excellent breakfast. We would certainly like to stay there again in the future.
The only downside was not being able to find the hotel easily on our first arrival.Because of the lay out of the town and the number of one way streets we felt that it needed more positive sign posting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Whether you’re exploring Dinan or just looking for a pleasant stop before catching the St Malo Ferry this pleasant, modest establishment is great choice for a stop off.

Located on a quiet street just outside the city walls – mercifully with a carpark just around the corner - the hotel is ideally situated. The town is a brief ten minute walk and all of the sights are in easy walking distance from the hotel. Add into this an unfailingly friendly and hospitable front of house and you really can’t go wrong!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Have just come back from a fabulous short stay in Northern France, and one of the high spots was our discovery of this hotel. It is in a great spot, a few minutes walk from the centre and has parking. The decor is lovely, not at all the typical, rather dated look of so many hotels in this price bracket .and the very new owners have plans that I am sure will make it even more lovely. Our room was in the eaves and was quite small but was spotlessly clean and contained good furniture. The cobbles outside were rather loud but this was only apparent in the late evening and again in the morning. The night itself was very quiet. Breakfast was very good - fruit salad was a treat after so many croissants and so much bread. I would love to return when the fires are lit as I am sure it will be magical.In fact, I fully intend to.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the side away from the road might be quieter, but the area is so peaceful, it did...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocksCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

This hotel is prefetly positioned on the very edge of the old town and provides a great bases to explore Dinan. The room was clean and cosy with lovely art on the walls of the bedroom, corridors and public areas. Breakfast was very nice and the hoteliers were more than helpful and very friendly. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmazingGrace6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

we only stayed one night however great hotel it is just a few minutes walking to the old city. Owners were wonderful could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. We were in aroom facing cobble street and it became noisy at night, next time a room facing the garden will be the way to go.
It is a simple hotel but wonderful

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing street
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
0.3 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#1 of 16 in Dinan
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#3 of 16 in Dinan
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel le Challonge
Hotel le Challonge
#5 of 16 in Dinan
384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Connetable
Le Connetable
#7 of 16 in Dinan
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo

Address: 35 rue Saint Malo, 22100, Dinan, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Price Range: £57 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing