We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but a bit dated”
Review of Hotel le Challonge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel le Challonge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed in a family room, which had a separate bedroom with twin beds for the children, and a large double bed in the main room. The rooms were big enough, and the beds comfortable. We had a view of a little courtyard at the back of the building. The thick curtains kept the light out very well. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. We did not have breakfast at the hotel, as it was a bit expensive and we don't need much in the morning.

The location of the hotel is ideal. There is plenty of parking outside (apart from Wednesday night and Thursday morning, because of the market) and it is a short walk from all the sights of Dinan. It seems fairly quiet, without much traffic at night.

Now to the "minus points": The room looked quite dated and could do with a more modern design. The sheets had stains on them, and there was a "souvenier" from the previous guests still floating in the toilet. The bathroom didn't look very clean at all. But that is down to the one person who was supposed to clean the room. Another problem for a light sleeper like me were the thin doors, which let in all the noise of people walking past in the hallway. As the bed is rather close to the door, I woke up several times because of people coming or going.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mamachoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

Two staff in particular - sadly I didn't get their names. The Spanish gentleman on reception and the lady who manned the reception and oversaw breakfast. The lady in particular went the extra mile - I had hurt my back and needed my cool pack frozen to ease the pain. This was no problem for her. In addition, we didn't realise that we should have booked our Sunday return taxi on our arrival on Friday and with not much time left to catch our train and no taxis available, when she finished work, she took my mother & me in her own car to the station in her own time. What more can one say.

There were a couple of minor housekeeping issues, which I mentioned to the staff, but this would not stop me staying here again.

Dinan is beautiful with loads of creperies to give one that taste of Britanny.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordansarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Me and my boyfriend really loved our stay here! The room was a good size, clean and quite characteristic. Had a lovely balcony overlooking the town where there was a market in the week, probably because we specified a smoking room. Great location, just a ten minute walk from the medieval part of the town which is what most people go to see and photograph. The staff service was excellent and the breakfast was also very enjoyable.

Some important advice I would give is, organise a taxi pick if you used the train to get to Dinan. Me and boyfriend waited outside the train station for an hour before we realised there wasn't going to be one. There are very limited taxi services because the city is so small. The hotel is within walking distance but when you have a suitcase and are not sure where it is, it is easier to book a taxi. We called the hotel and they managed to call a taxi to pick us up and take us to them, which was great!

If your a young couple or family, i definitely recommend staying here as the prices are really reasonable for what you get! Loved it!

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask for the smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Agree with what other reviewers have said. Room on 2nd floor at front very comfy and quiet, the walls are lined with some sort of padded insulating fabric so could barely hear a sound outside. Very good breakfast but some confusion as I thought I had booked at an breakfast included price but the recpetionist assured me that breakfast was always extra. Unfortunately the confirmation email made no mention of the an inclusive price so I had to pay up. However I noticed today that there was an offer through trip advisor for a free breakfast so if you do take up that offer you might need to confirm it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRewse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The standard of this hotel is very high considering that a double room was Eur 88 per night. The rooms are very comfotable and are not short on space. The hotel does not have its own parking but there is street parking outside or there is parking in the square (watch which day the market is - as you have to vacate the parking the night before). There are loads of good quality restaurants close by - you might find the restaurant underneath the hotel somewhat expensive. If you are heading for the St Malo ferry then this would make an excellent stopover.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

A pleasant hotel visit. As the hotel was on a square I was worried about the noise so I asked if they could put my at a room in back of hotel which they did. Windows opened out to back courtyard and it also gave a lovely breeze. Room was basic and slightly dated, but still comfortable. Toliet separate to bathroom, both clean and tidy. Overall the room was neat and tidy, just not contemporary.
Staff were very helpful. I arrived early and they stored my baggage and took great care of my fragile glassware items. Bags were in room once I could return at check in time and glassware put on table. They also helped me locate some addresses in the area and assisted in recommending a restaurant choice from my list of 4 options.
Overall it was a nice simple comfortable room and pleasant staff. Great location and great market in square opposite on Thursdays.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoodleNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

This hotel, in the centre of Dinan faces a large square providing excellent parking. Imposing from outside, the staff, facilities and rooms are superb. Despite facing the square the room provided an exceptionally quiet space. The breakfast was one of the best continental breakfasts we have ever experienced. The adjacent restaurant proved to be of a very high standard. Impossible to fault it can be recommended with confidence as we enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belvedere116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#2 of 16 in Dinan
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#3 of 16 in Dinan
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
0.8 mi away
Le Connetable
Le Connetable
#7 of 16 in Dinan
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Challonge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Challonge

Address: 29 Place du Guesclin, 22100, Dinan, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dinan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dinan
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Challonge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel in Dinan Le Challonge, located in the heart of the medieval town of Dinan, Cotes d'Armor, Brittany, is welcoming you in this family friendly, comfortable and clean hotel. Enjoy a nice and peaceful atmosphere after a day of visits at our 3 star hotel. Our friendly and bilingual staff will be pleased to advise you in your visits of the area. At Le Challonge, we are doing everything we can to ensure you will have a delightful stay ! Wether you are travelling on your own, with family or friends, for holidays or business purposes, Le Challonge hotel can accomodate you in one of its 18 rooms from single to twin or double room, family room, and one Suite with its own sitting room. Situated in the city center of Dinan, we have a public car park available just in front of the hotel. As a matter of fact, you will be able to visit the town by walking. The city has magnificent cultural treasures : medieval history, architecture from 18th century, and unspoilt nature. The tourism information center is one minute walk from the hotel and we are at the crossroads of famous touristic areas such as St-Malo (30 min), Dinard (20 min), Mont-St-Michel (40 min), Cancale and many golf courses... Moreover, you will be able to enjoy gastronomic specialities of the area in many restaurants offering tasteful food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel le Challonge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Challonge Hotel
Le Challonge Dinan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing