We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely hotel”
Review of Hotel le Challonge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Challonge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Knowing that market day is Thursday, and that we wanted to experience this event we arrived the day before.
We did not anticipate parking problems given the time of year. In fact it is possible to park directly in front of the hotel using "payant" parking. Whilst there is usually a charge for parking during the day it is free overnight from 7pm until 9am.
Note that is not possible to park on the market place opposite Wednesday night due to the weekly market Thursday morning.
We chose Le Challonge because of its location and good reviews. When booking we called the hotel to request 2 rooms and to request that one of the rooms had a bath and to ensure that a lift is avaialble - it is!
Upon arrival we were met by friendly faces and quickly checked into our rooms. Both rooms were spacious, well equiped and comfortable. What struck us most was the cleanliness throughout the hotel.
Breakfast was typical "continental" style but we were also offered freshly cooked omelettes. We can also recommend the hotels restaurant on the ground floor. As we were leaving the hotel the Terrace area outside was being prepared for warmer weather.
Our 2 day stay was comfortable and we had a pleasant stay in the town despite adverse weather.
Dinan is always worth a visit and we would recommend this hotel to others and we wish the new owners well for the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevan-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPS35, Propriétaire at Hotel le Challonge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013
Google Translation

Nous sommes très heureux que vous ayez passé un bon séjour.
En effet le marché qui a lieu tous les jeudis est particulièrement apprécié par nos clients puisqu'il est à la porte de l'hôtel, il suffit de traverser la rue. On peut y apprécier beaucoup de saveurs et d'odeurs et y faire de bonnes affaires.
Pour ce qui est de la propreté nous pensons qu'il est indispensable que cela en soit ainsi et nous tenons a continuer dans ce sens.
Nous vous remercions pour vos encouragements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

Very nice Hotel with large and comfortable rooms and superb location. Just close t many restaurants and to two Public Parkings with easy access. The staff is friendly and breakfast ok. What else are you looking for?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Nice comfortable hotel. We were offered a choice of room and looked at both before deciding. The bed was comfortable and we had a really big bathroom. Our room overlooked the square in Dinan which was very pretty. Breakfast was croissants, bread rolls, orange juice and coffee and we had freshly made to order omelets. Would stay here again. Dinan is a very pretty town and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: look at the room before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leegoffin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have visited this hotel at least once per year for many years, and are never disappointed. The refurbishment and upgrade have only added to what has always been an excellent hotel with friendly and accommodating staff. The owners Valerie and Alain are simply superb, and gave us an upgraded room on our last visit. Merci beaucoup Valerie and Alain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

A pleasant and reasonably priced hotel in the centre of Dinan, ideally situated for both the town, with all its attractions and indeed the surrounding area.
This was not our first visit and we were welcomed by Valerie who was her usual very pleasant and buddly self.
Our room was at the front of the hotel and was very pleasant. Large, tastefully furnished and very clean. Breakfast was good with a varied choice qand sufficient to sustain us throughout the day. We will certainly return

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrieredding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of JUly, Ideal location plenty of carparking nearby and good selection of bars restaurant within easy walking distance. It was very hot weather and rooms could have done with some form of a/c but other than that could not fault it.

WiFi was poor in the rooms but in bar area good

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed only one night, but it was a great room for a family. The hotel's character hasn't changed over the years but the refurbishment has given the hotel a new energy. Great hotel, fantastic town. A visit is highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karbarclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#3 of 16 in Dinan
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#2 of 16 in Dinan
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
0.8 mi away
Le Connetable
Le Connetable
#7 of 16 in Dinan
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Challonge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Challonge

Address: 29 Place du Guesclin, 22100, Dinan, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Price Range: £50 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Challonge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel in Dinan Le Challonge, located in the heart of the medieval town of Dinan, Cotes d'Armor, Brittany, is welcoming you in this family friendly, comfortable and clean hotel. Enjoy a nice and peaceful atmosphere after a day of visits at our 3 star hotel. Our friendly and bilingual staff will be pleased to advise you in your visits of the area. At Le Challonge, we are doing everything we can to ensure you will have a delightful stay ! Wether you are travelling on your own, with family or friends, for holidays or business purposes, Le Challonge hotel can accomodate you in one of its 18 rooms from single to twin or double room, family room, and one Suite with its own sitting room. Situated in the city center of Dinan, we have a public car park available just in front of the hotel. As a matter of fact, you will be able to visit the town by walking. The city has magnificent cultural treasures : medieval history, architecture from 18th century, and unspoilt nature. The tourism information center is one minute walk from the hotel and we are at the crossroads of famous touristic areas such as St-Malo (30 min), Dinard (20 min), Mont-St-Michel (40 min), Cancale and many golf courses... Moreover, you will be able to enjoy gastronomic specialities of the area in many restaurants offering tasteful food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel le Challonge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Challonge Hotel
Le Challonge Dinan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing