We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel le Challonge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Challonge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Dinan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights and thought the hotel to be excellent and the staff extremely friendly. Our room was comfortable, though it was very noisy each night and morning, though I think that was the fault of the neighbours and not the hotel. There seems to be lots of furniture being moved around past 11 pm both nights. My advice would be not to stay in Room 7 if at all possible. We chose to visit to coincide with market day (Thursday) and though parking was banned during the market period we had no problem before and after. Please don't dismiss the hotel because of this review as it is was only confined to our room. We would not hesitate to stay at Le Challonge if we visited Dinan again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPS35, Propriétaire at Hotel le Challonge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Toute l'équipe de l'hôtel Le Challonge vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de donner votre avis sur notre établissement.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un bon séjour à Dinan.
Par contre, il est dommage que vous ayez été dérangés par le bruit des voisins. Il aurait été souhaitable de nous le dire pour que nous puissions intervenir. Cette chambre est située à l'arrière avec vue sur les jardins et normalement très calme.
Si vous souhaitez revenir à Dinan n'hésitez à nous demander une autre chambre et se sera avec plaisir que nous vous recevrons à nouveau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked one night at this hotel and were very pleased with our choice. We asked for a standard room and were given a smallish but adequate room overlooking the market place. We thought we might be troubled with early morning noise but to our surprise the windows kept all noise out. As a result we over slept! Market day is Thursday so staying on a Wednesday night might be different. We had a balcony which overlooked the market square and we loved standing there watching the comings and goings of this beautiful town.

Breakfast was in a dedicated room at the back of the hotel. The meal was far from simple - we had stayed in various chambre d'hotes prior to this and none came anywhere near the standard of this breakfast for its variety and choice. In addition to the normal french breakfast fare they offered freshly made omelettes, crepes, cereal and dried fruit all of which was on a help yourself basis - much the best when it comes to breakfasts we think.

Our only criticism is the lighting in the corridors and staircases - they have time switches that plunge you into darkness after a small amount of time.

Dinan is a gem of a place and at Hotel Challonge you are at the heart of it. Parking is relatively easy and convenient. We looked at the evening menus on offer from various creperies and restaurants and concluded that the restaurant next door to the hotel looked ideal. We were not disappointed.

Reception staff were helpful and the paperwork was dealt with quickly and efficiently.

This hotel gets our wholehearted recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPS35, Propriétaire at Hotel le Challonge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Toute l'équipe du Challonge vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de donner votre avis très complet sur notre établissement.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez passé un bon séjour. Dinan est une ville agréable où il fait bon vivre et où on ne s'ennuie pas avec son passé chargé d'histoire qui propose de jolies découvertes de la ville.
En ce qui concerne la lumière dans les couloirs nous pensons refaire la déco cet hiver et nous tiendrons compte de ce temps d'éclairage qui vous paraissait trop court.
Peut être à bientôt lors d'un nouveau passage dans notre ville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Friendly welcome and good location. Rooms good size, clean and comfortable. Would strongly recommend you ask for a room at the back. Rooms facing the square have good view, but sleep disturbed by staff rearranging tables on pavement (after midnight!), deliveries in early hours, local street cleaners and lorry emptying bins in the car park opposite. Dinan is a stunning town, would have been better without the nocturnal racket to disturb sleep.

Room Tip: Not at the front - see above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelrotherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPS35, Propriétaire at Hotel le Challonge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Je suis désolée que vous ayez été dérangé par ces bruits . Je pense que vous deviez dormir la fenêtre ouverte peut être vu qu'en ce moment il fait beau à Dinan. Il est vrai que lorsque l'on se trouve en Centre ville près de toutes commodités on n'est pas à l'abri de ces petites nuisances sonores. Mais fenêtres fermées, vu que les chambres sont insonorisées et la ville petite il n'y a pas de bruit car peu de circulation.
J'espère que vous avez tout de même bien profité de votre séjour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on a road trip through Brittany and Normandy. Dinan is a walled city and no cars are allowed on many of the streets. There are two large car parks right across the street from the hotel and there is no charge from 7:00 P.M. until 9:00 A.M. so it only cost us a few euros to park. The restaurant is on the main floor with the rooms above. A very nice English-speaking receptionist led us to our room and gave us information about breakfast and parking. The room was of medium size with a bed, night tables, a desk and chair, and an adequate bathroom and closet. Everything was clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a French balcony that overlooked the street. It was nice to sleep with the window open and we had a quiet night.

Dinan is an interesting town and we spent hours walking the cobbled streets and the parts of the ramparts still standing. There are lots of small stores and restaurants near by. Be sure to visit the church.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPS35, Propriétaire at Hotel le Challonge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Toute l'équipe du Challonge vous remercie d'avoir pris le temps de donner votre avis sur notre établissement.
Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez séjourné dans de bonnes conditions et que vous ayez apprécié Dinan qui est une ville superbe, avec un passé chargé d'histoire.
Comme vous le dites les nuits sont très calmes même fenêtres ouvertes car c'est tout de même une petite ville et la circulation n'est pas intense passé 20H.
Peut être à bientôt lors d'une nouvelle visite à Dinan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during a multi-centre trip to North West France. We have stayed at very many hotels throughout Europe over recent years, but the friendliness, assistance, and general demeanour of the staff in this hotel was probably the best we have ever experienced. This reflects very highly on the Management. We had a good clean room (24) overlooking the square. We ate a couple of nights in the restaurant which was reasonable and enjoyed 2 excellent bottles of wine. Breakfast was help yourself and although a little pricey, they did go out of their way to meet any 'off-menu' request made. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take a room on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevlyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPS35, Propriétaire at Hotel le Challonge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour, Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps de donner votre avis et nous sommes ravis de vous avoir satisfait pleinement.
Nous sommes un petit hôtel familial et toute notre petite équipe essaie d'être le plus vigilant possible et attentionné pour les clients.
C'est pourquoi nous trouvons très agréable vos remarques et nous vous remercions.

Peut être à bientôt à Dinan dans notre établissement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a family room which was a good sized double with an interconnecting kids room with twin beds. No air con so very stuffy at night but clean and quiet. Room was dated and bathroom small, but perfect for a couple of nights. Staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Breakfast was pricey so we gave it a miss, hotel was so close to bakeries and cafés we just ate from them. Parking was smack bang across the road and was cheap. No parking Thursdays though due to market, defo worth noting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leggomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPS35, Propriétaire at Hotel le Challonge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour, Nous sommes ravis que votre séjour se soit bien passé.
En ce qui concerne la climatisation, il y en a dans la salle de petit déjeuner et la réception car les chambres sont souvent fraîches vu que les murs en pierre sont épais, et il est vrai qu'en Bretagne nous se sommes pas habitués à avoir des températures aussi élevées . Normalement les soirées sont fraîches et donc les chambres aussi.
Pour la décoration, nous venons d'arriver il y a 6 mois et nous pensons refaire quelques chambres cet hiver car certains client aiment beaucoup cette décoration et d'autres moins donc on a fait le choix de différencier les chambres car il en faut pour tous les goûts.
Le petit déjeuner est à 9.50 euros mais on propose un buffet très varié et illimité en quantité ce qui permet de bien manger le matin . On propose également à la demande omelettes , oeufs brouillés et oeufs au plat
J'espère que vous avez passé de bonnes vacances en famille et pourquoi pas à bientôt à Dinan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was one of our favorites during our 2 weeks in Brittany. We had a French balcony overlooking the square across from the hotel. There is a paid lot right in front but the very helpful lady at the front desk told us about a totally free lot only a few blocks away so we never had to worry about putting money in the meter. The location was excellent and even though our room was in front, it was always very quiet. The hotel offered amenities like shampoo and lotion which is not the case for most hotels in Brittany. It also has an elevator which was not common so we very highly do recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handhnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MCPS35, Propriétaire at Hotel le Challonge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour,
Merci beaucoup pour votre avis très agréable.
Nous essayons avec toute l'équipe d'être à l'écoute et attentionné envers nos clients.
Votre avis nous fait vraiment plaisir et nous incite à faire encore plus.
En ce qui concerne la rue il est vrai que Dinan est une ville de taille moyenne et le soir il y a peu de circulation donc pas de bruit dans les chambres qui sont insonorisées.
Peut être à bientôt à Dinan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinan hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#2 of 16 in Dinan
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 16 in Dinan
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Styles Dinan Centre Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arvor
Hotel Arvor
#3 of 16 in Dinan
643 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Porte Saint-Malo
0.8 mi away
Le Connetable
Le Connetable
#7 of 16 in Dinan
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Challonge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Challonge

Address: 29 Place du Guesclin, 22100, Dinan, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Dinan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dinan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dinan
Price Range: £58 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Challonge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Hotel in Dinan Le Challonge, located in the heart of the medieval town of Dinan, Cotes d'Armor, Brittany, is welcoming you in this family friendly, comfortable and clean hotel. Enjoy a nice and peaceful atmosphere after a day of visits at our 3 star hotel. Our friendly and bilingual staff will be pleased to advise you in your visits of the area. At Le Challonge, we are doing everything we can to ensure you will have a delightful stay ! Wether you are travelling on your own, with family or friends, for holidays or business purposes, Le Challonge hotel can accomodate you in one of its 18 rooms from single to twin or double room, family room, and one Suite with its own sitting room. Situated in the city center of Dinan, we have a public car park available just in front of the hotel. As a matter of fact, you will be able to visit the town by walking. The city has magnificent cultural treasures : medieval history, architecture from 18th century, and unspoilt nature. The tourism information center is one minute walk from the hotel and we are at the crossroads of famous touristic areas such as St-Malo (30 min), Dinard (20 min), Mont-St-Michel (40 min), Cancale and many golf courses... Moreover, you will be able to enjoy gastronomic specialities of the area in many restaurants offering tasteful food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel le Challonge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Challonge Hotel
Le Challonge Dinan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing