We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment in a fantastic location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of LE-CASTEL

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dinan, Cotes-d'Armor, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Hoosierab...
Meerbusch, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a fantastic location ”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent two relaxed weeks in Dinan in Le Castel apartment. I hated to leave!

We were a family of four, plus our dog. The apartment is large and sunny, with a big eat-in kitchen. We enjoyed pastries from the bakery across the street for breakfast and made simple suppers in the evening. Most days we were out at lunchtime, exploring Brittany.

The bedroom has two comfortable twin beds. The futon in the living room is fine, but to ensure a better night's sleep we brought camping pads with us for extra padding. We also brought two small fans with us. While it was only hot enough to need them on two days, the white noise they provided helped mask the intermittent noises from the street (the apartment sits over a restaurant and on a corner with lots of tourist foot traffic). The door from the street to the apartment is narrow, but the stairs are easy to manage.

Because we were there for two weeks, we were very grateful for the washer! There's a drying rack in the small laundry room and a second rack in the hallway. The shower has great water pressure. We brought towels for the beach and I ended up using one of them for my shower, as the towel I'd chosen (which was provided) was a bit small.

There are good restaurants within a few minutes walk and you are right next to the river, with opportunities for long walks, canoeing, kayaking and more.

Up a very very steep hill (where all the tourists are headed and taking photos) you reach the historic city center. Shopping, restaurants, cafes and more await you.

On the edges of the city you'll find all the big supermarkets. We would shop there, drive to the apartment and quickly unload (it's not legal to park next to the apartment, but quick loading and unloading is tolerated) then drive along the river for the free parking. Sometimes it took two tries to find a space, but we always found one in the end.

Overall we were very happy in Le Castel. I would happily stay there again, and I would recommend it to all of our friends and family!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a spacious, comfortable, lovely and well equipped apartment in a super location”
Reviewed 7 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The reception by Natalie was wonderful and very helpful. The location was perfect, right by the river with good restaurants steps away and a patisserie just across the street. The kitchen is very well outfitted and Natalie provided some extras which were appreciated- bottled water, coffee and tea to get us going our first morning. Beds were very comfortable. A lovely base from which to explore Dinan, Mont St Michel, St. Malo and countryside. Initially I was concerned that it would be noisy at night but by 9 pm is was peacefully quiet. Some strategy was necessary to find parking but once we had that sorted out, all was good. Our only regret was not staying longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Only staying 2 nights.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location great apartment average”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in august. Dinan is an exceptional town with fantastic buildings, cobbled streets and great restaurants. Having said all that I feel I can only give the apartment an average score..Although the location is great looking out over the River Rance with plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep and a lovely patisserie opposite, the apartment is large but quite basic and probably we were on the backfoot to start off with as we couldn't get hold of the agent to let us in we rang and rang as arranged so she could hand the keys over...we actually never saw her all the time we were there although we had one or two issues with the washing machine not working and 4 tiny (and I mean Tiny) towels between us for the week. There was also a terrible smell from one of the mattresses and the fold down bed in the living room was not at all comfy for sitting on. I think the apartment would be ok for a short rental but not for a week. surrounding areas are lovely and would definitely return to the area. But my review is just on this apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki T
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This bright, sunny apartment is located in the port area of Dinan, surrounded by restaurants, the River Rance and gorgeous craft shops. The apartment is well stocked, roomy and was perfect for our group of four. We were sad to leave!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYvonne
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a lovely town”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is on the first floor of a half-timbered building and is excellent - large, well furnished, sunny. It had everything we needed, including a good bakery opposite where we could buy fresh bread and pastries for breakfast. Nathalie was very helpful before we arrived and made sure we were comfortable. Dinan Port is very pretty and walking up to Dinan was quick, although the street is steep. We very much enjoyed staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patte2027
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing