We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week-end visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This Hotel is beautifully appointed in the classic tradition of quality French Hotels, the service is of a high standard provided by professional staff. It has a lovely view,it is on the bay but the town of Dinard is easily accessible. The rooms are well appointed but some are starting to show their age a little. It is by definition fairly expensive and has an associated Casino nearby for those with the inclination. The restaurant is also expensive but there are many excellent eateries nearby. On the negative side there is only valet parking charged at a fairly high rate and worse still there is an unacceptable charge for WI-FI which they certainly need to address.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 804George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck_MARIE-DG, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear "804George",

I sincerely thank you for your review following your recent stay.
As we explained you in answer to your customer satisfaction survey, free WIFI is not a world generality. However, after many reflections, our Hotels will offer soon a connection system included.
Regarding the valet parking rates, and as you will see in many answer we have have made, it is justified due to the limited number of parking spaces, and of the fact that we offer a secure and personalized service. I regret in your case that we have not been able to show our professionalism at its best.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon in Dinard,

Yours sincerely,

Franck MARIE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in.
Reception was fast efficient and friendly. All staff were pleasant and smiled and extremely helpful.
Our room was perfect. Large with a view of the pool/ garden area and the water, on a corner. We had a proper shower recess, not one in the bath, and two hand basins.
Food was excellent and the bar the same. It's a five minute walk to the shopping precinct but there is hardly a need to visit there. The building is very oldy worldly but clean and immaculately maintained and is beautifully decorated in the charm of the past without looking "old".
This is a hotel you would find hard to beat.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dinkumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck_MARIE-DG, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear "Dinkumguy",

First of all, let me express my deep gratitude for this wonderfull comment. He translated the attention our teams bring to our valued guests day after day.
I am pleased that your stay was live up to your expectations.
Looking forward to your next visit in Dinard.
Kind regards,

Franck MARIE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is really a wonderfull hotel and restaurant, with a terrific view on the harbour and St Malo,
All employees, from to lowest, to almost the highest are extreme friendly, every wish is no command, but done with enthousiasm. Not one possible complaint, or minus point.
We felt like the most important visitors, like kings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck_MARIE-DG, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear "Wim V",

I thank you for this laudatory and very nice comment. Indeed, our teams are working on a daily basis with the aim of meeting all guests’ expectations. I am delighted that you be treated like a King. The Grand Hotel Barrière is historically recognized as the place where many Crowned people!

I am looking forward to your next stay in Dinard.

Kindest regards,

Franck MARIE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband loved this place! He likes his hotels tony, with a strong sense of tradition and history, with real lobbies, quirky reading alcoves, a good bar, and a good restaurant. I also was happy during our stay, although the rooms could use new furniture and the restaurant is incredibly overpriced for what is on offer. The service staff were excellent and helpful to a person. And Dinard is a lovely alternative location to St Malo with its crowds. (There is a ferry to St Malo within walking distance of the Grand that runs until about 7 pm.) Don't ask too much of Dinard in terms of restaurants or nightlife and you will love your visit.

Room Tip: We opted for a deluxe room over a sea view and were not disappointed with our choice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erosecomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck_MARIE-DG, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear "erosecomm",

I thank you for your comment. We will do our best to solve our furniture matter.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in Dinard.

Kindest regards,

Franck MARIE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here for a week with my three children with my husband staying at the weekends and we were looked after very well. The rooms were super and well equipped, the meals in the hotel restuarants were great and breakfast was wonderful. The children particularly enjoyed the pool and when my little boy fell sick, the front desk staff were really helpful in making an appointment with a doctor. Would thoroughly recommend a luxury break here!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Natascha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck_MARIE-DG, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear "Natascha C",

I thank you sincerely for this nice late comment. All our teams are indeed committed to the well-being of our customers and including our "Clefs d’Or" Concierge who works daily to satisfy any of your requests.
Looking forward to welcoming you and your family again in Dinard.
Kindest regards

Franck MARIE
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We tried to rent a room with visio conference equipment at Grand Hotel Barriere Dinard for a full morning.
Staff told us the Friday that everything was OK but the next Monday when time to confirm came , they just told us that we may rent the room but we have to come with our own visio equipment. We were left alone with no solution
Bad experience and hotel to avoid because of poor reliability of his staff

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tigdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck_MARIE-DG, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear tigdu,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadisor.

I am very sorry that you not had the quality level for which you waited, and asks you to excuse us for it.

We are taking measures to ensure this does not reoccur.

Looking forward to having the pleasure of seeing you again soon,

Yours sincerely

Franck Marie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful building beautifully located in beautiful Dinard. Perfect for joggers and romance. Reception is very helpful and friendly. Bar had a lot of fancy cocktails, sunset was amazing.
And beware of seagulls and never leave food on the balcony - fat birds will steal it in a moment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck_MARIE-DG, Directeur général at Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Alexander...

Thank you for your comments on Tripadisor.

Your comments are extremely important as they help us improve our services.

My staff and I have taken note of your highly positive comments: they are our best reward and they strongly encourage us to uphold the level of excellence you are entitled to expect… Deserving your trust is essential.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels,

Yours sincerely

Franck MARIE
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinard
0.2 mi away
Royal Emeraude Dinard - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Castelbrac
Castelbrac
#1 of 22 in Dinard
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Dinard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,733 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Alizes
Hotel Les Alizes
#2 of 22 in Dinard
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel

Address: 46 avenue George V | Bp 70143, 35800 Dinard, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dinard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dinard
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dinard
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dinard
Price Range: £156 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1859 the majestic, white facade has contemplated Saint-Malo bay. The first hotel built in what was to become THE sea-side resort on the Emerald Coast was initially named the Hotel de Dinard, before becoming the Grand Hotel Barriere de Dinard. Renovated by expert decorator Jacques Garcia, the hotel offers the utmost elegance, comfort and finery. Situated 45 min. Away from Mont Saint Michel, Dinard the "elegant" is all yours: the sea air and spray, the palm trees, the sea gulls, the beaches, the golf clubs by the sea, the Casino, Port BRETON tennis courts, midnight strolls, Dinard market and the hotel's heated pool, wellbeing at the ESPACE BIEN ETRE, Sauna and steamroom, lazing on the terrace and in the gardens facing the bay, summer jazz brunches, cocktails at "333 cafe", dinners at the blue. B, facing the sea, buffet breakfasts watching the sun comes up: could this sum up the good life combined with discrete luxury? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Dinard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing