We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de la Plage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Plage
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Dinard
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is in a great location for the beach and other amenities but beware it does get very busy even from 7am in the morning and the parking really is nightmare. We had to walk from the hotel once we dropped the bags off for a quarter of an hour before we found a space that was 4.30 pm.
The hotel was good the owner very helpful. The room we had was good it over looked the beach so you good fresh air. No tea or coffee provided but you did get bottled water. It was very clean. Breakfast was served on the balcony over the looking the beach which was nice. At night about 2am to 3.00am the noise from down in the town was a bit loud you could hear the beat of the music.

Room Tip: We had room 11 it has 2 windows so you see up the twon as well as the beach. Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    57
    25
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
69
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for a three night weekend break in May 2013. As we arrived in the evening we decided to get a cab from Dinard Airport. There were cabs waiting outside and we were greeted by a very friendly lady cab driver the drive was about 20 minutes and the cost was 13.75 euros. The hotel is in an excellent location, across the road from the beautiful beach and a two minute walk to the main square across the road from the hotel is a big tourist information centre and the Le Gallic bus stop is in front of it. The number 7 bus will take you to Rennes and the 16A goes to St Malo.
Our check in was quick and friendly, the hotel room was a triple which was very spacious for two people, it was clean and recently decorated to a good standard the beds were comfy. As others have stated the bathroom although very clean was old. We had a full size bath with a shower head set in a low holder, great for washing your hair whilst in the bath, but if your a shower person you need to hold it over your head. We didn't find this a problem and although there is no shower curtain the bath is set in an alcove, so still works! Because of the bad breakfast reviews, I'm afraid we didn't bother to try it and instead went to a local bar "Bar le Skipper" see separate review. Dinard is charming it was my first visit and I fell in love it has the same charm as parts of Cornwall, beautiful beaches, quirky buildings and that relaxed feel. I went with my sister who had visited 49 years earlier and had stayed at the Hotel Printania (this is a traditional hotel on the other side of town) we did go there for a meal and it was excellent. We found the Bretton's very friendly our French is very basic and we found them very patient and eager to help. We went to the market in Dinard on the Saturday morning and it was excellent with a variety of goods and a great atmosphere. We also visited St. Malo, (by No 16a bus for 2.10 euros) a beautiful walled town with lots of bars, restaurants and shops we wanted to walk the "Wall" but unfortunately it was raining heavily so we had to go shopping instead. We had lunch at "Timothy" we both had Gallette's which were excellent, the place was packed out, but the service was still fast and efficient, the cakes looked amazing, but we were so full we sadly had no room to try them. On departure there was a minor error we had been charged a slightly higher rate than shown on our booking form, but when we showed our copy it was corrected immediately and without any fuss we were also permitted to leave our bags with the reception for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Over-40-and-fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night at this hotel on the last day of a touring holiday before heading for the ferry at St Malo. The hotel is very well located only 100 meters from the beach. Easy walks to local shops and places to eat, with plenty of options to choose from.
We had a triple room with only 2 of us in it so plenty of apce. The third bed was in a separate adjoining room which might be useful to some.
The place was clean and well maintianed, but not spectacular in terms of furnishings. Bathroom was a good size and a decent shower.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, including where to park and local restricions.
Nice restauarnt and outside seating arae on the street, where we enjoyed a ber in the sun. Breakfast is on a terrace on the first fllo overlooking the bay, very nice.
Was great for a one night stay and only 20 minutes drive to the ferry at St Malo in the morning.

Room Tip: Good place to stay if you are heading for the ferry at St Malo, only 20 minuts drive away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

There's no doubt, the Hotel de la Plage is in a great location and its restaurant menu offers the best of Breton and general French cooking. Excellent Soupe de Poisson, good steaks. Desserts all rather cream and flour based, lacking in fresh fruit options, but good all the same. But on the negative side, the rooms are tired and small, the bathrooms are quaint and the breakfast is an oiutright rip off. If the hotel had cost half the amount I paid, I'd be happy. But for what we paid, I wouldn't go back.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank clairewilkinsonlegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

A very good location a few steps from the main Plage de l'Ecluse and opposite the Information centre. Some rooms have sea views and, a few of those, large terrace balconies. We had room 7, probably the best. The hotel was clean and comfortable for 2* but the decor is tired and the bathroom needs renovation. Not to have a proper shower these days is odd. Only one sour note was the breakfast, which was mean and very poor value at €10.50 Others have made the same point so plainly the proprietors don't read Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Room 5 or 7 for view and terrace. Eat breakfast somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FliesM20P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Great Location, close to beach so easy to travel too and from with children for loo's etc. Decor is a bit tired but staff are great and the resturant is exceptional, and for Dinard not too expensive.
Stayed several times and would go again

Room Tip: Sans vue is cheaper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N8225Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dinard hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Crystal
Le Crystal
#11 of 23 in Dinard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Emeraude Dinard - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint-Michel
#4 of 23 in Dinard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Dinard Balmoral
0.3 mi away
Hotel Printania
Hotel Printania
#13 of 23 in Dinard
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castelbrac
Castelbrac
#1 of 23 in Dinard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Plage

Property: Hotel de la Plage
Address: 3 boulevard Feart, 35800 Dinard, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dinard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Dinard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel de la Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing