We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Quimper Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Quimper Centre
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Central location, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I have used this hotel on numerous occasions on business over the last year. The rooms are quite small, but have all you need. For the price I think it's pretty good. Access to the car park at the rear can be quite difficult in a large car, but there is a large public car park (the station) opposite. The hotel is a short walk from the TGV.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    171
    105
    31
    11
See reviews for
23
154
55
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vladivostok, Rusland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The hotel is newly refurbished, and design of our room was a bit strange and unusual, it was difficult to find lockers, etc. Location is not actually central, maybe it is 10 minutes walk, indeed, but either it is a quick walk, or 10 long minutes. We spent almost 20 minutes to Cathedral square. The hotel is not very expensive, but breakfast in a bit pricey, I'd recommend to look for another place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrey_Buzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Hotel is right opposite bus and train station so very convenient for trips out of Quimper (of which there are many possible). No bus journey costs more than 2 euro. Pointe du Raz and Locronan are well worth visiting. Hotel is 10 minutes walk from town centre. Rooms are on the small side.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazepa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maniago, Friuli, Italy
Level Contributor
196 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed one night at Mercure Quimper Centre: the idea was to camp but it was raining, so we took the option for an evening out in Quimper, which is a nice place by the way. The hotel is located opposite the train station: it's near enough to the city centre (10 minutes walk or so) and there are restaurants and pubs in the area as well. The area feels safe, I think it actually is.

Room we were given seemed to be quite new, as the whole hotel. It was also large enough, with a big bathroom. One negative was the (huge) shower without a separation from the rest of the bathroom, which actually made it impossible to not transform the place into a lake when taking a shower. All parts of the room were very clean and well kept.

Reception staff was very kind, and they accepted dogs which is a big plus for us. However, 13 Euros/night for the dog seemed a bit of a pricey thing, considering there are no dedicated services.

There's an handy car park under the hotel, at € 8/day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lordarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Location is not as central as it seems. Room was small and shower room minuscule. Noise from something (lift-motor? air conditioning?) all night long. Overcharged for drinks at bar. No restaurant. Would I recommend this hotel? No.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PickyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quimper hotels

Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I arrived to find that the room I had reserved for three nights was tiny. You could barely get either side of the bed. The en suite shower was small but the toilet was barely usable, and didn't work properly.
I checked out after one night, having reserved for three!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyian_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

So you want to catch the train tomorrow early, and be right at the train station to be sure you'll make it, but you're repelled by most station hotels?

This is the place for you. For 86 euros, I have a 16m^2 very clean room with panel TV in the wall, very nice large bathroom, luxurious pillows. Perfectly safe and quiet. OK, outside it is a little nasty as it is around many train stations, but the hotel can't do much about that except controlling access, which the do. It's only a ten minute walk to the Cathedral and all the wonderful restaurants and shops in that area. Even air conditioning. Although I don't normally do this in European hotels, I wanted to work and breakfast was brought to my room as ordered and on time.

Highly recommended, not more than 100m from the Gare.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quimper hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 23 in Quimper
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania
Hotel Escale Oceania
#2 of 23 in Quimper
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
0.8 mi away
Ibis Quimper
Ibis Quimper
#4 of 23 in Quimper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gradlon
Hotel Gradlon
#8 of 23 in Quimper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Quimper Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Quimper Centre

Property: Mercure Quimper Centre
Address: 21 B avenue de la Gare, 29000, Quimper, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Quimper Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, just opposite the train station (TGV). You will enjoy your stay in our fully renovated hotel (2008), thanks to its cosy rooms, quiet bar, private parking and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Quimper Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Quimper Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing