We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Gradlon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gradlon
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Gradlon in Quimper, France for 6 nights in August 2013. The staff was very welcoming and spoke more than enough English to be able to communicate with American and UK guests. The location was under five minutes to the center of the old town...you can actually see the wall of the old city from the front of the hotel.

Our room and bathroom were both very clean and the bathtub very generous. I like the fact that the toilet was separated, as it is in most European bathrooms. The bathroom area, in general, was what I would consider large by European standards and sort of high-average by American. The only downside of our bathtub, was that the sprayer was handheld and didn't have a cradle for it at head level so you had to either take a bath or hold the sprayer while trying to wash your hair. I'm sure the Europeans are much more adept at this than Americans!

While there, we did not eat at the hotel for any meals, but we used their free wifi services. The wifi is annoyingly slow. Half the time it was not even OK for checking email and weather, forget anything on youtube. I understand that this is a vacation destination and we weren't there to be using our computers, but after dinner and before bed, my husband wanted to watch a few guitar lessons on youtube to wind down, and was continually frustrated. I was trying to research information on nearby towns and museums and was also becoming exasperated with the time it took for even simple web pages to load. It was so slow that I would almost consider this a deal breaker, but for some, Internet access isn't really critical. For us, it's how we research and plan during our trips away. There is only so much you can do in advance.

Parking on the street is free and there is usually something close by on the main drag. If you would like to have a guaranteed space in the hotel lot, you need to call and book that ahead. I did not realize this, but thankfully street parking was not an issue when we were there. You can easily pull up on to the sidewalk and put on your hazards for unloading and loading luggage.

Another lovely feature of this hotel is their public space. The lobby, bar, breakfast room and patio are wonderful. They have books and games and it is all very welcoming and comfortable.

The bed in our room was two twins locked together so my husband and I enjoyed the elusive king-sized bed which is hard to find in Europe. The rooms also have a tea service, which we used every day. Perhaps it was just the time we were here, but the hotel is VERY quiet. Loved that! Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Quimper and would most definitely recommend the Gradlon.

Room Tip: there is only one room on the ground floor. we loved having it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

OK hotel in a good location. Service was very average and the decor is very outdated. A suite sounded nice, but is basically a triple in two small rooms. Could be nicer with a renovation, but as is, it is not great value and is clearly living off its reputation.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CDFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Situated a few blocks from the old town this is a fine choice for visiting Quimper. The room are recently renovated and ours, a superior double was spacious, quiet and comfortable. There are shutters to ensure darkness and good quality wall mounted shower gels and soaps. The bathroom was large with a separate toilet and shower room. The breakfast comes in at €12 but included an excellent selection of croissants, bread, cheese, cold meats, cereals, etc. On good days, can be enjoyed in the quiet courtyard. If the price is too high, there is coffee, tea making equipment in the room and cafes are a short walk but we used the generous quantity to miss lunch before a meal later on. Very pleasant staff. Overall excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at the Gradlon for 3 nights. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. The lobby level is simple, yet pleasant. We had a twin room which was quite small but we managed it. The room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The bathroom was modern, a very good size with a large walk in shower that was great. There is no lift but the staff brought the luggage upstairs. The breakfast is very simple but adequate. The hotel is in a great location. We walked to everything. The latter made it an excellent choice. The staff recommended restaurants for dinner and made the reservations. All the meals were very good. We left thinking it was far from luxury but good for the price and the excellent location. The staff and the obvious care taken with the hotel made it a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Just at the edge of the walled old city, the Hotel Gradlon has a welcoming feel. There is a cheerful central courtyard with fragrant rose bushes. The traditional decor looks comfortable. Any hotel that serves a hot breakfast from 7 am to noon is clearly thinking about the guests' comfort.

We paid the substantial extra cost to upgrade from the booking.com special rate on a tiny room to the spacious next size up with brass bed, desk, two easy chairs, etc., and a reasonable amount of storage space. The bathroom is roomy with ample counter space and separate w.c.

But there the quirks start. Liquid soap, no bars. Bathtub with no non-skid and only a handheld shower at waist level; if you want it higher, hold it there. The heater is behind the curtains, and there are no "blackout" curtains to keep the room dark after daybreak.

So - good location and hospitality in a property that could use some improvement. Overall, not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yves R, General Manager at Hotel Gradlon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Madam, Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay. My team and myself are very sensitive to your comments wich encourage us to make efforts.
We took over the Gradlon hotel only last december 2013 so we try our best to satisfy your expectations.

We hope to see you back again when you will be back in Quimper.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Our annual trip to Wine Fair in Quimper usually includes a night in a small french hotel in the area, normally v basic. As we are normally out all day its usually just a bed to crash in saturday night so we are not too fussy. However this hotel did stand out. The bathroom was well above standard in size and quality.Beds were v comfortable and the linen was good quality The welcome was very warm and when my tourist french started to struggle he changed to English.
We were offered three choices of restaurant from 1*M to Creperie but decided on JArdin d'Lete.Also highly recommended
He reserved our table and the same welcome was afforded at the restaurant when we arrived.
The parking was garaged for 10eur charge , good job as we had a van load of wine.
Breakfast was more than adequately french,fresh bread and pastries. The decor may not suit all but I have had worse attention/service in some 4/5 star establishments.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WineloverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel. We had a large room and a large bathroom, actually it was a room for disabled people, although the room we had booked was a superior room. The beds were very comfortable but the decoration of the room seemed dated and did not have the charm that you can see on pictures of this hotel. The bathroom was also quite old. Considering that the price of this hotel was quite high, we would expect a bit more. The location of the hotel is good, it is close to the old city. The staff and the owners were very nice and helpful with information about the town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quimper hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania
Hotel Escale Oceania
#2 of 23 in Quimper
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Quimper Centre
Mercure Quimper Centre
#7 of 23 in Quimper
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 23 in Quimper
357 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Manoir Hotel des Indes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gradlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gradlon

Address: 30 rue de Brest, 29000, Quimper, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range: £51 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gradlon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Gradlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gradlon Hotel Quimper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing