We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gradlon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gradlon
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Good location two minutes from the centre of town. The bedrooms were a good size and very quiet. The room was very clean and looked over a central courtyard. The bed was a little firm for our tastes but this seems to be quite normal in France. There is no lift in the hotel but hotel staff were happy to help with our luggage. The hotel has a car park but reservations are required as there are not many spaces. We parked out on the street without any problems.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    74
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
107
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Easy to find on the road coming into Quimper. Found free parking on the street. Very friendly front desk. Didn't have the breakfast as we like to explore the towns. The room was fine. Face the courtyard for quiet rooms.Spacious bathroom, shower. Had a towel warmer that was great for washing out some laundry. Tea and coffee in the room. Cozy. Bit like staying at your auntie's. Good location.

Room Tip: We asked to face the courtyard and I would recommend this.The street was busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComeSeeHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Quimper is not over-endowed with hotels, so this seemed the best bet, especially with so many glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. But, with its tired old greying flags outside, need of paint and redecs inside and out, no parking easily to hand (occasionally we found free parking in the street opposite, but often had to park and walk a good 5 mins), overpriced breakfast (12 Euros) which we did not take and lack of shower in a "Superior Room" - a bath and a feeble shower attached to the taps, no air extraction in toilet or bathroom, we were surprised to find this lift-free hotel recommended in the Michelin 2014 guide. Our large room had a great bed, plenty of space and A KETTLE, which made up for some of the deficiencies listed above. It was on the ground floor, overlooking the outside atrium where guests could sit right up against our window, smoke etc etc. Not that there were that many guests. We booked through Booking.com but were charged immediately in Jan 2014 for our four night stay in July 2014. It is close to the centre. Lack lustre and sad atmosphere. Nothing like the promotion.

Room Tip: With no lift, ask for rooms on ground or first floor, also away from the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a lovely old town and recommended by Brittany ferries. There wasn't a great deal of parking it seemed, we got to the hotel around lunch and was fortunate to get a free space on the road outside the hotel. This was lucky as the spaces soon went.

The room was traditional style but with a large bathroom with a big shower and seperate toilet. A comfortable bed. No air conditioning but an open window sufficed. French television with a good selection of channels, no English ones. Room looked out onto the central courtyard.
Breakfast wasn't bad, average selection of continental food.
The staff where pleasant and helpful and spoke good English.

Overall a very nice stay and would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
307 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived at the Hotel Gradlon in Quimper past midnight but received a warm, enthusiastic welcome from a charming young man at the front desk. He promptly checked us in and personally assisted my mother with her bags. The spotlessly clean rooms were lovely and befitting the overall antique, classy feel of the hotel. They featured comfortable beds with memory foam mattresses, coffee& tea amenities, nice bathrooms and free, well working WiFi. Breakfast was offered for an additional charge and we decided to go for it. Luckily, because the offerings went above and beyond the usual petit dejeuner we had enjoyed elsewhere. There were home made crepes with various fillings on the side, yoghurt a la maison, also home made, which my father wanted to drive 50 miles back for the next day it was so incredible. Of course there were local cheeses, cold cuts, individual glass jars of French jams and fresh fruit, cereals, croissants and baguettes as well. The overall presentation was also fabulous. At check-out the gentleman from the night before and the young man who served breakfast assisted us with great advise for our planned tour through the forest of Broceliande. The mid-town location just steps away from the gorgeous old town was perfect. Parking may be an issue there sometimes although we did not have a problem and found a great spot close by. Absolutely wonderful team and hotel - 5 stars all the way!

Room Tip: Due to the age of the building Hotel Gradlon does not have an elevator. Guests with physical restric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very close to town center but just far enough away to be quiet. Large, attractive room. Staff very helpful. Had to park nearby but not a problem. Good breakfast, included crepes. Highly recommend. Nice inner courtyard for open air relaxing.

Room Tip: First floor room #33 was just off the courtyard and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcamicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my wife in the hotel gradlon for 3 nights may/june. Booked the hotel based on the reviews and weren't disappointed. The rooms were tastefully decorated overlooking a quiet courtyard. The location is excellent easy walking distance into the town and a good base for exploring brittany. We hadn't booked parking at the hotel but had no problem on finding a space for our car. We arrived on a Friday morning and had to park a little way away (2-3 minutes) but it was much quiter at the weekend and we were able to park opposite the hotel for the rest of our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful (also spoke English).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quimper hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania
Hotel Escale Oceania
#2 of 23 in Quimper
585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 23 in Quimper
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Quimper Centre
Mercure Quimper Centre
#5 of 23 in Quimper
389 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Quimper
Ibis Quimper
#4 of 23 in Quimper
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gradlon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gradlon

Property: Hotel Gradlon
Address: 30 rue de Brest, 29000, Quimper, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gradlon 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gradlon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gradlon Hotel Quimper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing