We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & pleasant. Well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Escale Oceania
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfortable & pleasant. Well located.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very friendly service staff. They happily made me a coffee when the restaurant & bar were closed. Comfortable bed. Quiet despite major construction on the street outside. reliable internet. Well located for exploring Brittany.
The breakfast was generous, but overpriced at 14 euros. We were seeking coffee & baguette only not an elaborate breakfast.
Finding this place was a significant challenge as the street in front if it was closed to all but local traffic and we could not see the sign. We drove around and around on one way streets before we could find it.
Easy to walk around in town, lovely main street with flower decked canals was 1/2 block away, and several restaurants were within walking distance. No worries about security, the police station was across the street! You can comfortably walk late at night.
Parking was a challenge. The lot next door, a city lot, not a hotel lot, charged for each entry and exit, and was challenged was US credit cards , there was only an auto pay machine which took cash or Euro credit cards only. Also entry after 10 pm required running into the hotel to get a special entry card.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybeth_abarbanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Dear guests,
We thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience at the hotel and that you enjoyed our lovely town. As you noticed our hotel has just recently been entirely renovated with a moderm design.
We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel (Maybe in the summer when you can see our town florish) or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    280
    39
    5
    1
See reviews for
100
280
28
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lilyfield NSW
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed 10 nights in this hotel and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located and rooms are a good size and comfortable, including the bed. Breakfast is good with plenty of variety.

If you are driving it is a bit disconcerting that there is no hotel offload parking, but just park outside in the street - everyone else does. (Don't worry that there is a Police station across the road, they couldn't care less).

Escale Oceania is a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Bonjour,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience and loved the hotel as much as the staff.
We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I stayed 6 nights in this hotel in the end of May 2013.

The hotel is in a good location across the river from the old town and Cathedral.
The immediate area has some traffic, and there are roadworks in the area but otherwise it's fine. Many of the other central hotels in Quimper are also in this area.

They had, unasked, given me a larger room instead of the standard double room, without charging me for that.

The room was nice, fresh and modern in a positive sense.
A restful lack of clutter.
Very comfortable bed.
Free WiFi working very well (for one device only).

The room was rather spacious,
except for the wardrobe and bathroom area, which was modern efficient compact living.
This area felt a little too cramped, in particular since the rest of the room was so spacious.

The bathroom was nicely decorated in black marble, chrome and white, and the shower was nice and functional.
But the bathroom was a little cramped, and there was a lack of space to put your personal washbag, tootbrush, etc around the basin.
The towel rack at the front of the basin so that you risk splashing the towel when washing, and there was nowhere in the shower cabin to put your own shampoo and shower gel.

Still I liked the room for its modernness, freshness and restfulness.

The reception staff were friendly, efficient and service minded, although no more personal than at any chain hotel of this size.

There is a small bar and seating area in the lobby, serviced by the reception staff.
This was not very busy, but it was a nice place to get a cup of coffee or something to drink, on the way in, or out.

The breakfast was the same kind of buffet as normal in the area.
But, not very impressing at that. It had everything, but limited selection and not of the best quality.
For example the only cheese was slices in plastic and the only meat was a somewhat dubious looking boiled ham.
The coffee was from a machine and no better than elsewhere in the area.
The breakfast room was relatively busy, even though I was not having breakfast at the busiest hour, and the staff were working hard to service it. Possibly they could have done with more staff.

To summarize, this hotel is a good choice, and all hotels have their little flaws.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiftyNiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear guests,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience.
We are very grateful for your comments, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Escale Oceania is an excellent place to stay if you want to visit Quimper or the little towns around. Rooms are very big and beds are quite confortable, but on the top floor the ceiling is too low, so, if you're not careful, you can hurt your head! The bathroom isn't very big and it's not even very clean. I'd reccommend it to anyone nonetheless.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have too low ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sire96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear guests,
We Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at l'Escale Oceania de Quimper and we are very pleased you had a good experience.
As you noticed our hotel has just recently been entirely renovated with a moderm design even for the bathrooms.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel or one of the Oceania Hotels.
Best regards
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have just completed our stay here and we have been very impressed. The staff have been excellent. We arrived late and the receptionist went out of her way to find us somewhere to dine. It is centrally located and has secure parking, small fee to be paid. This hotel was only opened in 2012 so still has that lovely fresh and clean appearance. We would be happy to return. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear client,
We would like to thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay at l’Escale Oceania of Quimper and we are glad to see that you spend a nice stay.
We are very grateful for your comments about our staff, and please rest assured that we will let the whole team know. The customer statisfaction is our
We are looking forward to see you soon in our Escale Oceania Hotel in Quimper.
Best Regards,
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

For: central location; clean accommodation; adjacent parking (pay).
Against: contrary to the hotel's written documentation the restaurant was not available for dinner due to a coach party staying there; expensive breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clipper_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate that you share with us your experience at the Escale Oceania Hotel in Quimper.
Our breakfast offers a large variety of food, with coffee, milk, cereals, pastries, bacon, sausages, cheese, ect...If guest just wants a coffee or tee we have a separate bar open 24h/24h.
The restaurant wasn’t open when you came; in fact we chose to close it when we have groups to offer more tranquillity to our individual client by proposing a room-service everyday from 7.00 p.m to 11.00 p.m.
We hope that you will come back in our Escale Oceania hotel.
Best Regards,
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed two nights on the basis of reviews in tripadvisor. Very comfortable room though separate toilet room and bathroom which felt strangely inconvenient. Very high standard of fittings and truly the best shower set I've ever experienced in a hotel. Small window looking out into a tiny internal yard - so very quiet.

Free fast WiFi - brilliant.

Superbly situated close to all the city sights just a few minutes walk away.

Wasn't able to sample the evening menu in the hotel as both nights the restaurant was fully booked with large groups. Mind you there are lovely restaurants and creperies nearby so not a problem.

Slight irritations were over-dedicated room cleaners ignoring "do not disturb" indicators and a room key that stopped working. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Breakfast was standard - coffee out of a machine was disappointing for a hotel of this calibre, but otherwise the food was fair enough. Had a bit of an accident with a "hard boiled egg" which turned out not to be!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldean78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directeur H, Directeur général at Hotel Escale Oceania, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear client,
We would like to thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay at l’Escale Oceania of Quimper and we are glad to see that you spend a nice stay.
Our rooms are very comfortable and the separation beetwen toilet room and bathroom is essential for a 3 stars hotel and garanty a major comfort and privacy for our guests.
We are sorry that the room cleaner disturb you : for the next time you just need to push up the button on your frontdoor. Like this, It will be impossible for anyone to open the door.
Concerning the coffee, next time don’t hesitate to ask at the barman a real expresso : we have a good italian machine to make it.
We are looking forward to see you soon in our Escale Oceania Hotel in Quimper.
Best Regards,
Le Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quimper hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 23 in Quimper
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Quimper Centre
Mercure Quimper Centre
#7 of 23 in Quimper
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
1.1 mi away
Ibis Quimper
Ibis Quimper
#4 of 23 in Quimper
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gradlon
Hotel Gradlon
#8 of 23 in Quimper
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escale Oceania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escale Oceania

Property: Hotel Escale Oceania
Address: 6 rue Theodore le Hars, 29000, Quimper, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Escale Oceania 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Quimper's town centre, very close to the quays along the Odet, let yourself be charmed by a stay at this renovated, quiet and welcoming hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Escale Oceania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escale Oceania Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing