We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very difficult one to rate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Kregenn
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A very difficult one to rate!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a really difficult hotel to rate, thanks to France's unusual way of ranking its hotels. Classed as a 4 star, in most other countries I've visited it would be a 3-star. That's simply because it lacks most of the things you'd expect from a 4-star hotel - a quality restaurant, a classy bar or two and so on.

It the Kregenn had been a 3-star, I would've rated it much better. But judging it against 4-star hotels elsewhere in the world, I can only give it a 3 rating on this site.

That's not to say I didn't enjoy my stay. The hotel has excellent, friendly staff who know how to deliver quality customer service. It's just a minute or two from the old city walls and the medieval heart of old Quimper, so very well located (although in a fairly drab side street). It has good parking, which you have to pay for, and is just around the corner from a great Breton bar (the Ceili) and a fine restaurant (the Erwan).

The hotel has a modern look and feel, our room was a good size with a bathroom that looked very new. Decoration and furnishings were OK. My partner and I slept well at night, this being a pretty quiet area, and cleaning could not be faulted.

Breakfast was a basic continental type, with a few paid for extras. At 13 euros, it was a bit steep.

Quimper itself in June was pretty quiet, especially on Sunday and Monday when you could hear a pin drop and many places were closed. Otherwise, it's a compact and pretty place and well worth a visit for a couple of days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank F4monty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    117
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
19
108
15
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed on a warm night in June. The hotel decor etc. was fine if a little corporate - we didn't much like the uber trendy and ubder uncomfortable perspex chairs though. When we arrived at the hotel around 5'ish we mentioned to the concierge (on our way out to dinner) that the room was very hot, even with the windows open, and that the air-con didn't seem to be working - she assured us that someone would look at the controls in our absence.
We arrived back later to find that nothing had been done, and consequently had an uncomfortably hot night with consequent poor sleep - the last thing you want in a hotel. We complained about the room heat to a different concierge in the morning as we checked out - she said that the air-con was not switched on until late June no matter how hot it was. She said that we should have been offered portable air-con units the night before if we complained about the heat (which we did). Sadly we were not offered the service - so all in all we were very disappointed with our stay here and won't be back.

Room Tip: Make sure air-con is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed for one night on a recent visit to Brittany. Hotel reception, clean and welcoming. Reception staff friendly. Requested non smoking room on arrival but when we got to room it was obvious previous guests smoked. Were given a different room immediately with apologies. No tea making facilities or safe in room. WiFi connection terrible. Room good size. Area outside hotel a bit ordinary but walking distance to all main attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here for a few nights on our last visit to France. The hotel rooms are your typical small French rooms with teeny tiny bathrooms. My only complaint is they didn't have body lotion in the bathrooms, and with all the travel I do that is one thing I count on my hotels to provide for me so it's one less thing I must take. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was fine. It was a good location and easy to work to restaurants as well as the shopping areas. The service and front desk staff were outstanding.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room above the bar at the front of the hotel. At this time of year we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceJunkie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We spent four nights in this hotel. The staff were warm, helpful and efficient. Check in/out was quick and painless. The hotel public areas were very clean and comfortable and our room and bathroom were spotless, well furnished and very comfortable. The parking is good although it is not free.
The staff could not do enough for us.
The hotel is in a very good location for exploring Quimper, the old town is about a 10 minute walk away.
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvb269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

First and foremost, all staff were professional and friendly. I would agree in general with the last 4 or 5 reviews.
The hotel has a pleasant ambience and is ideally situated for exploring Quimper. At a price, there is secure parking which unlike many French hotels is reasonably accessible (see Holiday Inn, Calais).
Public areas and bedrooms are well maintained and immaculately clean.
With no disrespect to the hotel it is difficult to imagine how it achieved a four stars that it proudly presents at the fron of the hotel. I can only guess that ‘free WiFi’ now warrants an extra star.
I would have no problem in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Check that Brittany Ferries is not going to play havoc with your travel arrangements i.e. closing do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlymybumf238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

spent 1 night in September
very good location short walk to the old center
basic clean room standart 3 * hotel room and bathroom
no special atmophere so i cant warmly recommend
good safe parking
quimper is wonderfull

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quimper hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Escale Oceania
Hotel Escale Oceania
#2 of 23 in Quimper
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Quimper Centre
Mercure Quimper Centre
#7 of 23 in Quimper
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Oceania Quimper
Hotel Oceania Quimper
#3 of 23 in Quimper
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gradlon
Hotel Gradlon
#8 of 23 in Quimper
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la Gare
Hotel de la Gare
#1 of 23 in Quimper
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Quimper
Ibis Quimper
#4 of 23 in Quimper
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Kregenn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Kregenn

Property: Best Western Hotel Kregenn
Address: 13 rue des Reguaires, 29000, Quimper, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Quimper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Quimper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Kregenn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Hotel Kregenn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Quimper
Quimper Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing