We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and quite ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and quite ”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel in the centre of the city, not too far from the train station. Wonderful rooms but expensive as well, got few problems with the reservation but they said it was a common problem when using an external booking site.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Francesco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier p, Directeur général at Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear custome,

I would like to thank you for your review. I'm happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay. Regarding the price, last week was a bit special, due to an exhibition in Rennes, this is the reason why the price was expensive. Moreover, about the reservation, the best way to get the best price is to book trought accor.com.

Hope to see you soon,

regards, Didier Piot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    195
    74
    18
    7
See reviews for
39
67
41
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plouguenast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay as it was close to the centre and the station. Also all aroud us were restaurants of good quality but not too expensive. We ourselves run a very busy B&B so it is lovely just to pack a bag and head off to this Hotel for a couple of nights R and R.
The place was clean and very well cared for and the staff very caring and halpful, just brilliant.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theophunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier p, Directeur général at Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Good afternoon,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay . As you mentioned, we have a very good location, (5 min from the train station and the old city center).
I hope we will see you again soon,

Best regards,

Didier Piot,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently whilst visiting our son in university. The hotel was well placed for the city centre and was within easy reach of all the areas we wanted to visit.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable, however, one of our party was ill and we were flying back that day. When we asked for assistance at the front desk, the receptionist had no information regarding pharmacies and simply said that it was a Sunday and no where would be open. My husband had to ask a passing ambulance for help who directed us to a pharmacy that was situated only one block away from the hotel, which was disappointing and wasted so much time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier p, Directeur général at Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment.
I’m surprised that our staff didn’t help you more for your looking of pharmacies. Thanks to your post, I’ll informed our personal that we are in a establishment where the service is primary and they have to find solutions for all our client’s troubles.
We are looking forward to see you again very soon.

Best regards, Didier Piot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I were in Rennes for a week last winter when he had to attend the Orange (France Telecom) office at the nearby Cesson Sévigné tech hub for a project. Though Mercure was pricey for a mid-range business hotel (95 - 130E, varied on daily basis), we opted for it as we had a long stay and safety, comfort and housekeeping was important. It's a short walk from the Rennes Gare train and bus stations (though we were taken for a 7E ride by a cab when we arrived by a late evening TGV from Paris) and is well-placed amidst a shopping centre with food and clothes stores, a couple of French cinema halls, and easily-accessible bus and hired bicycle stands. It's also walking distance from the historic portions of Rennes, which has beautiful buildings, tree lined roads, and landmarks like Theatre National Bretagne and Jardin St. Georges. If you stretch yourself, you can walk to the City Hall, Thabor Garden, the Republique and a happening food/shopping area frequented by university students and business folk. On checking in, you get an illustrated map of the town, a good guide for walking to nearby places.

Though the entry to the hotel is via a dirty-ish bylane, the interiors are business-like and pleasant, done in muted but appealing shades of green, beige and maroon. Our room 502 was on the fifth floor, only a couple of doors from the elevator, but due to the thick corridor carpeting and silent elevators, we had no disturbance. The room was VERY small for a double, but well-heated and neatly maintained, with clean walls, carpets and upholstery, freshly laundered linens, a flat-screen TV (that showed only a few French channels), an electric kettle, a narrow cupboard, and ONE chair. The double bed had two single mattresses covered by one sheet which was strange and a bit difficult to sleep on due to the gap (and resultant sag) in the middle despite being comfortable by themselves. The well-lit but again, very small bathroom had a clean tub and sanitaryware, and round-the-clock hot water. But when we showered, water sprayed onto the floor in front of the basin, and made it messy and slippery. The large window can be opened, and for 502, overlooks the street in front of the hotel. At night - especially on weekends - you can hear noisy cinema-goers and bar patrons if the window is open, though otherwise it's quiet enough. Toiletries and multiple flavours of tea/coffee were provided daily and generously, and housekeeping was very efficient, with a courteous crew. We had the 17E/person buffet breakfast that was a lavish spread with multiple types of meats, cereals, cakes and crepes, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads, hot cocoa, even several kinds of sparkling water, served in a brightly-lit dining hall with clean crockery. Ordering in is possible from a French restaurant just outside the hotel (we didn't), and there's a small bar area beside the conference halls on the first floor. The free WiFi was fast and uninterrupted.

I spent quite a bit of time in the hotel over the week and had a good time catching up on some quiet R&R. The hotel has a discount for Orange employees, which we discovered too late, while checking out, so in lieu of it, a whole week's worth of one person's 17E breakfast was waived off our final bill as a courtesy by the desk staff.

The two biggest problems that reduce my score for Mercure Rennes Gare: 1) its rates change daily based on occupancy even for a single continuous booking, an institutionalised 'extortion' when usually other hotels give discounts, or at the very least, fixed rates, for longer stays, and 2) the double rooms are very cramped for two adults with two regular-sized strolleys and a large backpack. There's also only ONE chair so at all times someone has to sit on the bed.

I'd have recommended the Mercure with far more gusto if the price had been b/w 60 - 70E, or the room had been at least 1.5 times the actual size. It does get an extra star, however, for the laudable cleanliness, the variety at breakfast, and the excellent location which saved me considerable time and money on local travel.

Room Tip: Might want to choose rooms facing the street in front rather than the shopping complex at the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_Raha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier p, Directeur général at Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your review. We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment. We have the chance to be situated very close from a big mall and 2 minutes ‘walking from the city center and from the metro’s station and the train station. These details permit in our clientele to discover easily Brittany. Our staff will be glad for your compliments about their work, I’ll not missed of telling them about your satisfaction.
For breakfast, we have changed our products recently to always satisfy our clientele more and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed it.

About the room, we are sorry if you find it too small for your stay. I take note of your remark. The problem is that we cannot modify the structure of our building. For the next time, the hotel can provides you a bigger room with a living room which can solve your problem of chair and space.
For channels in the TV of your room, I’m surprised that you find only French channels because we’ve got a lot of different channels in different languages. It’s possible that channels were not working during your stay. Do not hesitate to call reception at the 9 or our maintenance service at the 1010 from the phone in your room. Our personal will be happy to make you pass a better stay.
I’m sorry if the price of our room had changed according to the hotel occupancy. During your booking, you can ask to the front desk manager for a fixed rate.

Best regards, Didier Piot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Good standard Mercure hotel 10 - 15 minutes walk from the centre and attractive old town. Felix's bar just down the road is a great place to spend an evening. The hotel bar is pretty soulless and you have to dial a number to get served!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier p, Directeur général at Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello,

First of all, I wanted to thank you for your review, we are glad that you were satisfied your stay in our establishment.

I’m sorry to learn that you didn’t appreciate the bar of our hotel. For the comfort and the tranquility of our clientele, our bar cannot be opened 24h/24. Our establishment is a hotel and we tried that our hotel services are perfect for our clientele.

We hope, however, that you had enjoyed the theme of our rooms about the Broceliande Forest.

Best regards, Didier Piot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Lovely rooms, lovely staff, next to a shopping centre, not far from bars and town centre. Cater very well for the English, they know what we like! lovely restaurant staff. Breakfast was lovely too. The staff speak English too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx_dani16_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
didier p, Directeur général at Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Hello,

Thanks a lot for your review. I’m happy to see that you are satisfied of your stay in our hotel. Indeed, our teamwork is at your disposal in order to answer at your asking. Accor is an international group, so it’s primordial for us to know culture of our clientele in order to anticipate your needs.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards, Didier Piot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement
Hotel Anne de Bretagne
#4 of 64 in Rennes
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Hotel de Nemours
Hotel de Nemours
#6 of 64 in Rennes
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel

Property: Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel
Address: 1 rue du Capitaine Maignan, 35000, Rennes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rennes
#14 Business Hotel in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Rennes, this 142 room hotel invites you to experience the magic atmosphere of the Broceliande forest. 5 minutes walk from the TGV railway station, this airconditioned hotel features a bar serving light meals as well as room service. All rooms have access to the hotel WiFi network. Cold drinks and small snacks are also available to guests 24 hours a day at Boutique M. 100 percent non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel Rennes
Accor Rennes Centre Gare
Mercure Rennes Centre Gare Hotel France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing