We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough negotation on half-board resto bill when checking out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Rennes Alma
Ranked #20 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sint-niklaas, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tough negotation on half-board resto bill when checking out.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

All OK except that I had to negotiate at the reception the correct amount of my bill when checking out. We took half-board for 2 adults and paid the dinner for the kids. The menu clearly indicates for half-board the combination of dishes and which dishes qualify for the half-board. The staff at the restaurant explains you the same. The restaurant bill however deducts a fixed amount (18,-€) for half-board and I had to pay the surplus - which I refused because it is contrary to what the staff at the restaurant explained and to what is mentioned in the menu. After a tough negotation with the person at the reception, the bill was corrected. I assume that this person, working at the reception, was not well informed about the half-board formula.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Heddelvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe M, Directeur général at Novotel Rennes Alma, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Google Translation
Oui effectivement, j'ai été mis au courant de ce quiproquo entre la réception et le restaurant.
Désolé de l'attente au moment du check-out pour régler ce soucis.
A une prochaine fois au NOVOTEL RENNES ALMA, je l'espère !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    183
    68
    19
    8
See reviews for
135
81
10
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

A couple of hours from the fast ferry at Cherbourg (3hr crossing), it was the perfect stopover. Toys given to the kids on arrival, a playroom, an x-box in lobby, relaxing bar area. Pleasant evening meals upon late arrival. Breakfast was wonderful. Playground and outdoor swimming pool, our holiday began here. Staff were so friendly and polite. Wish we were here longer. Great value too with booking.com, including breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Scott_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We booked this hotel last minute to break our long journey in France.We found it difficult to find as the entire area is under development.But when we finally got there what a surprise it was.A super little hotel which was quiet and attractive despite the chaos across the road.Room was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep.Our only criticism was the price of their breakfast at 15 euros +tax for a full breakfast that was not very good and certainly not worth that price.
We would recommend this super little hotel if you want to break your journey in France but go for the lighter breakfast at 8 euros each.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Used this hotel twice on this trip and can't fault it, rooms clean and tidy, room service nice and quick and a great steak for a reasonable price.
Nice friendly staff, playroom for little ones and outside area so can't go wrong :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here as a second two day stop while driving round France. I really felt like I was in a top rated holiday resort. My holiday really began here. Starting with the room..it was Swedish looking, great bed and lots of space. Tip..ask for a room overlooking the garden. The food was superb ..we tried breakfast...totally delicious, lunch...really tasty and dinner..great food and wine. Staff..all staff were helpful, smiling, polite, courteous, very efficient and faultless. Parking easy. There is a small pool and a nice lounge area outside. The hotel was a gem and an oasis in an otherwise over regenerated area with ongoing works (which we heard nothing of while in hotel by the way). Near the hotel..a few hundred feet was a renovated old stately home park with lovely walks and space..people were out early practising gentle martial arts, there were runners and jiggers and lots of older people chatting on benches. Also good play area for adventure play. The only let down was the nearby shopping centre which was a total safety hazard nd had masses of works going on. The hotel though was great. Ps when you drive through the shopping centre and come out on the hotel road go round the immediate roundabout towards the left as that's where the hotel is.. Ps Los value incredible as breakfast included nd it was about 60 euros for our room

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room. Go for superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flatpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Hotel Oceania Rennes
#2 of 4 in Saint-Gregoire
103 reviews
Best Western Plus Hotel Isidore
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement
Saint Hélier
Le Saint-Antoine Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rennes Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rennes Alma

Property: Novotel Rennes Alma
Address: allee D Ukraine, 35200, Rennes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rennes
#4 Green Hotel in Rennes
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rennes
#12 Business Hotel in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rennes Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Rennes Alma is located 3 km from the TGV station and a 15 min drive from the airport. On the doorstep of Brittany, this is an ideal location for those on a business trip to Rennes. This 4 star hotel,located on the Rennes southern ring, offers 100 quiet, airconditioned rooms. To keep cool and connected, we offer you internet by optical fiber and an access to more than 40 Tv channels (as BEin Sport). The hotel also features several meeting rooms for up to 120 people. The Novotel Cafe invites you to experience contemporary dining while room service is available from 7 p.M. To midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Rennes Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rennes Alma France - Brittany
Rennes Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing