We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying for visiting Rennes”
Review of LeCoq Gadby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LeCoq Gadby
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Reviewed 1 October 2008

Although the hotel is a bit out of Rennes center (about a 20 minute walk from Place Sainte Anne) and it is difficult to find from the front, it is overall a quality hotel for Rennes. The rooms are clean and provide guests with all the necessary amenities. The reception desk is very helpful and are willing to provide their guests with all of the necessary information for traveling around Bretagne. The breakfast is rather pricey but does provide its guest with sufficient options. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wynrush9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for LeCoq Gadby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2007

We stayed at this hotel in august 2007 and we confirm the previous two reviews. This is definitely NOT a 4 star place.
Highlights (or maybe LOWlights):
a) rooms are way too small: we have a good sample as we stayed in a room on the ground floor and a room on the first floor; both of them had a view...on a private house's garage entrance.
b) not enough space for luggage in the rooms as closets are small;
c) bathrooms: the one on the ground floor got flooded every time we showered. In the one on the first floor it was impossible to shower, as the ceiling of the room was very low (!) AND the bath tub was not clean. We asked them to clean it, came back in the evening and we had to clean it ourselves. If this weren't enough, lights went out in the bathroom after a few minutes because of (they said) safety reasons (never heard of this in ANY other place in the world);
d) the bed side tables in the room on the first floor showed the signs of the glasses put on them by previous customers. We asked them to wipe them out. They said YES and DID NOT do it;
e) menu of the restaurant is fixed AND offers very limited choice;

As a final note, staff spoke NO ENGLISH and showed no interest in the fact that we spoke very little French (e.g. we would have appreciated even the fact they had spoken slowly, but, apparently, that was impossible)

Rennes is a wonderful city: take at least one day to visit it, but don't stay at this hotel!

p.s. this is the only hotel we've ever visited where room refrigerators are placed not in the room, but in the batroom. We were very puzzled to find this out in our room at the ground floor and, thinking of it as an exception, called Staff about it. She told us that EVERY room at the hotel has the refrigerator placed in the bathroom. Needless to say, we were speechless.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lupinthird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

This hotel is situated in a very run down part of an attractive city. The welcome was satisfactory, but there it ended. The room was very small, difficulty in walking round the bed, with tired furniture looking out onto a building site. The bathroom had no shower curtain. Consequently a decent shower resulted in a swimming pool. There was no air conditioning which I expect in a 4* hotel. I wonder if the stars were self awarded. That evening, having decided to eat out, we asked for two glasses of wine on our return. There was no bar and when the wine arrived it was badly sour. They questioned this instead of automatically replacing it.

The following morning, the breakfast experience was again terrible. Coffee seemed to come from a distant part of the building and when I wanted more I had to go into the "outback" of the hotel to find a staff member. No hot dishes, limited fruit. Not good enough for a 4*

My wife is considerably younger than me and the receptionist asked if she was my girlfriend. Quite disgraceful!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jetman747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2006

How this hotel has a 4 star rating is beyond our imagination. My wife and I have stayed at many hotels throughout Europe, USA, etc. in 4 and 5 star hotels but have never seen such a hotel as this classifies as 4 star.

We stayed at the LeCoq Gadby on Sep. 2nd & 3rd 2006. On arrival in the hotel car park we walked though the gravel garden with its roses to the reception area. The interior of the building can only be described as `out of date`. The furnishings are years beyond their replacement dates - carpets, upholstery on settees and lounge chairs, and the need of extensive redecoration thoughout.

Our bedroom (unlike the picture on their web site) was small and had furniture fitting a 2 star establishment only. They claim to have a Gourmet restaurant which as we are not red meat or shell fish eaters made their menu unacceptable to us - granted, this is our fault, not theirs.

Our further complaints were that the bathroom (shower only) had luke warm bordering on cold water via the shower taps - they showed a complete disinterest when told of this and trying to explain in our school boy/girl French and their non English when they asked why we did not eat in their restaurant, was impossible!

Renne itself is a delightful old city. I can highly recommend it and its restaurants, but do not stay at this hotel as there are plenty in the city, more convenient and much less expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aholidayvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2005

After a long journey & snow we were delighted to arrive in a smart hotel with friendly staff with such pretty rooms. We had the suite with twin beds for the kids (ages 11+15) and a double for us (Louis VXVI). Both had lovely ensuite bathrooms although an adult could not lie in such a short bath! Went down for lunch to find the restaurant empty. Food very traditional french & pricy.
So looking forward to bed but.. it was too short! At 5'6" I was not comfortable because of the very pretty board at the base of the bed. Much worse for 6' tall husband. Very disappointing, this must be a problem for so many people.
Breakfast traditional french ie nothing cooked & no cereal at all, cheeses,fruits & bread. No pain au chocolat for kids & they had run out of croissants.
Also they charged us for breakfasts when price quoted included it.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dogwalker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Isabelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Laurence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Hotel Oceania Rennes
#2 of 4 in Saint-Gregoire
111 reviews
Saint Hélier
Le Saint-Antoine Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Balthazar Hotel and Spa MGallery Rennes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Rennes Alma
#21 of 64 in Rennes
378 reviews
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Hotel de Nemours
Hotel de Nemours
#8 of 64 in Rennes
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LeCoq Gadby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LeCoq Gadby

Address: 156 rue d Antrain, 35700, Rennes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rennes
Price Range: £73 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LeCoq Gadby 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LeCoq-Gadby offers 8 rooms for up to 400 people.Just near Rennes downtown,, with external private parking, garden, patio, hotel, spa is the perfect venue for weddings, galas, seminars and symposia. Our on-site catering guarantee you a quality service to delight your guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your LeCoq Gadby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Coq Gadby Rennes
LeCoq Gadby Rennes, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing