We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyriad Rennes Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kyriad Rennes Centre
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

First time last week staying at this hotel - have previously gone to the Mercure which is more central and a little more comfortable. However, this was excellent value for money and the location is great if you are using the station - there is also an underground stop there too, so it only takes 2 minutes to get into the main pedestrian area.
We didn't bother with breakfast as there are heaps of good cafes to go to. The room was very clean and quite spacious. Clean bathroom and plenty of good thick towels and toiletries.We were on a corner on the third floor and had windows on both side so the room was very light.
On the minus side, the beds were pretty hard and the TV had nothing in English at all. Not suggesting that this was critical, but is unusual these days. Free wifi helped to fill the gap. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellafraebuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    89
    25
    11
    1
See reviews for
32
66
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have stayed here 5 times in the last 2 years and have only good things to say about this hotel. Rooms are modern and comfortable, lots of space. The mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities are an added bonus. The staff are always helpful too. The hotel is in an excellent position for exploring the city and so handy for buses and metro. Plenty of bars and restaurants in the area too. Plenty of parking nearby in a secure underground car park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel has a great location for some -across from both the SNCF station and bus station. I stayed for 2 days and did a day trip to Mont Saint Michel. This really facilitated my itinerary. The staff was welcoming and friendly and the room clean, albeit sparse. Breakfast was €9 but no meat and little cheese or fresh fruit, so basically a dry continental one. Being near the station there is sometimes (unappreciated) noise from the area and I like to sleep with windows open, so I could not do this here. As well, a scratchy noise (from behind the wall behind my headboard) awakened me at 3 am. and I was up with the lights on the rest of the night. To their credit, they appeared genuinely concerned about this and offered me a slightly larger room in a different part of the hotel for night #2. Computer is available in the foyer, and there are a few bistros within a block or two for drinks or a meal, but not many. Would not likely return to this hotel due to the lack of sleep situation-a deal-breaker when one plans an active vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeveuxbienmanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

After having some concern that it was only a two star hotel, we made a reservation after reading many positive reviews on Trip Advisor.

The hotel is very convenient to the train station. It is across the square in front of the staion, about a football field length away. You see it to your left as you exit from the front of the train station.

The entrance is unassuming, and the lobby is tiny, however the desk clerk is friendly. Your room is small (like all European hotel rooms) but clean and contemporary. The bath is also small, but adequate and clean. The heating and air conditioning system is responsive.

The bed was very, very firm. So firm, that my wife asked if we could have some cushioning on it the second night. The hotel responded by putting a layer of cushioning, like a comforter, and although still much more firm than we prefer it was okay for the next day.

The other drawback was that although there are many channels on the TV, not a single one was in English. Since they are only fifty miles from the English Channel, we were a bit surprised. We expected at least one BBC channel.

There is complimentary WiFi so you can pick up your email and get the news if you have a laptop or a smart phone. I didn't see another complimentary computer.

The breakfast is 9 Euros, but while there is bread or croissants, there are no eggs, sausages, waffles or pancakes that an American might expect. The coffee machine makes good coffee.

If you want to stay close to the train station, this is a very good choice and certainly an excellent choice for the price. The quality will correspond to a small Holiday Inn Express room. It is not the only choice, there are others nearby, such as a Novotel, but not at this price. There are excellent reasonably priced restaurants nearby.

All in all, this hotel is a bargain if you are traveling by train to or from Rennes. If you are traveling with a family, the lack of TV channel in English on the TV might make kids enjoy it less. If you have difficulty sleeping on a hard bed, this too may cause you to rethink your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfkadlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Due to unfavourable train schedule between Paris and Dinan, we decided to do an overnight in Rennes and we stayed at this hotel for two nights - one on the way to Dinan, and another night on our way back to Paris. The location opposite the train station was perfect for our purposes as we needed to catch morning trains to our destinations the following day. I was at first concerned about possible noise from the station, but I requested a room that didn't face the station, and we slept well (which is saying a lot because both our 4-year-old son and myself are light sleepers!). There were many restaurants nearby, and even a shopping mall at the nearby Place du Colombier where there were bakeries and a supermarket for our needs. The triple room was spacious for the three of us, the beds comfortable and everything was kept clean. Great choice for an overnight in Rennes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_Gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed two nights here on business and was more than happy with the hotel. It's located directly across from the train station and walking distance to the city centre, shopping etc. The staff were friendly which was a big relief for this Aussie who doesn't speak French! The rooms have all the space you need for a short stay, are clean and comfortable with all amenities provided. The wifi is free and reliable which was great. Breakfast is continental and provides a good variety of pastries, whole fruits, yogurts, cheese and some cold meats and cereals. For €9, it wasn't too bad value. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
849 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed for an overnight at the Kyriad. It was my first time staying with them. Right across from the train station, it was pretty close to everything. Room and service was fine. I just wished the AC was a little stronger.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Hotel Anne de Bretagne
#3 of 64 in Rennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Hotel de Nemours
Hotel de Nemours
#7 of 64 in Rennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Rennes Centre
#18 of 64 in Rennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyriad Rennes Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyriad Rennes Centre

Property: Kyriad Rennes Centre
Address: 6 Place de la Gare, 35000, Rennes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyriad Rennes Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Kyriad Rennes Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyriad Rennes Centre France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing