We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean and centrally located”
Review of Hotel des Lices

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel des Lices
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Clean, very centrally located hotel in Rennes. Very easy to get to from the train station. We stayed in a superior room which was clean and quiet as it was at the back of the hotel. I imagine a front facing room might be noisier due to the bars below.

Although the superior rooms are fairly basic and look a bit like a university dorm, they're perfectly adequate for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivaLaVida79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Lices
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2009

I came across a review of this hotel in the Michelin Guide France 2009. The guide marked the hotel as a "Bib Hotel" which translates as a good deal for the money. I visited their website and found the hotel to be attractive, modern, centrally located and reasonably priced. We spent one night at the Des Lices and we are not planning on returning. The hotel enjoys a nice, central location to the pedestrian area of Rennes. There are many decent restaurants and quaint streets to explore but the hotel is a disappointment. The exterior is showing age. The lobby is bright and contemporary but the bright colors and cheer end in the lobby. The hotel has an elevator which you must catch on the first floor (which means a flight of stairs (challenging with luggage and a baby- forget this place if you are in a wheelchair). The hotel does not have parking but there is a public pay lot close by. The room we had did not look like the fresh rooms portrayed on the website. I didn't even want to touch the comforter on the bed. I would wager that it has never been laundered. The rooms are equipped with WiFi, small flat screen t.v., a small balcony, double bed with firm mattress, small desk, (no iron in room) cribs are available upon request. A soap/shampoo bottle is supplied in the shower and near the sink. The normal toiletries offered at a hotel are not supplied here. This is the first place I have selected based on the Michelin review and now I am questioning using the guide for future visits. I have successfully relied on MIchelin suggestions in San Francisco but I am wondering if the reviewers in France actually got beyond the lobby in the Des Lices. Breakfast is an option at 8 Euros/per person but I can't comment on that yet. I wish we would have chosen a different hotel for our stay. Ending on a positive note, the hotel staff was affable

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cristinasabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Room was basic with an uncomfortable bed. Receptionist was somewhere between chilly, icy, and cold. Location was right over a major town gathering space where there was a riot all night after a rugby game while we were there. Very noisy. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diana32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Derbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Plonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Budja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rennes hotels
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Hotel de Nemours
Hotel de Nemours
#8 of 64 in Rennes
190 reviews
Saint Hélier
Logis Garden Hotel
Logis Garden Hotel
#15 of 64 in Rennes
202 reviews
Hotel Anne de Bretagne
#4 of 64 in Rennes
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Mercure Rennes Place de Bretagne
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Mercure Rennes Centre Parlement
Saint Hélier
Inter-Hotel Le Sevigne
Inter-Hotel Le Sevigne
#14 of 64 in Rennes
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Lices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Lices

Address: 7 Place des Lices, 35000, Rennes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 64 Hotels in Rennes
Price Range: £58 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Lices 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel des Lices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Lices Rennes, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing