We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Rotonde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Rotonde
Ranked #37 of 47 Saint-Malo B&B and Inns
Faroe Islands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, literally 2 mins stroll to the beach. Very friendly and entertaining owner and staff. Rooms clean. Can be a bit noisy during the night with the windows open when hot, as located at a busy road junction, but that is the only negative. Good pizza restaurant downstairs which is part of the hotel. Would stay there again without hesitation

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travla_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    56
    28
    19
    29
See reviews for
57
90
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed one night in May 2014. We were a bit reticent as the hotel is on the corner of 2 main roads but it is a great find.
The rooms are quite small but adequetely furnished and the bathroom and room had been newly decorated.
The double glazing is amazing as it cut out 98% of the noise.
The staff is incredibly helpful and cheery.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you're on a budget. One comment if you are getting on in age, they have some rooms on the ground floor. The stairs are quite steep so I wouldn't hesitate to ask for one of the "chambres à mobilité réduite" as one says in French.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with the stairs, ask for one of the ground floor rooms as the stairs are steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohcanadainfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

From the exterior it's hard to tell it's a hotel, because there is no lobby. Check in is done within the restaurant that occupies the street level. Sounds quirky but it works. You have access to the hotel through the restaurant or when closed with a code for the side door.
The staff is very friendly. The rooms are stark but very clean. Flat screen TV and internet. The beach is only a block away. The prices are very reasonable considering all you get. Their Pizza is great and you can take it up to your room if you are exhausted and just want to relax.
Across the street is a neighbourhood bar Le Rochebonne that makes great Hot Chocolate. It is one of few places open on Sunday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekymonkeyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

An excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. A good location with the beach nearby.The room was clean and fresh . We were able to park the motorbike just outside was very useful.We will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffG7RMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed over new year and booked the evening meal with it. We were delighted about the quality of the meal, the champagne and the wine that was included. breakfast was good, fresh croissants, pain au chocolat, juice etc. We expected the hotel to be noisy but the windows are well isolated and there is in fact little traffic. They gave us right away a different room on the second floor to allow our children to sleep whilst the party was on below--we didn't even ask for this- highly appreciated! Anytime again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel, very good, rooms clean and fresh showers nice.
Owner was a very pleasant guy and he and staff very helpful.

Bus stop right outside door or a pleasant walk down to Intra Muros.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent three nights at La Rotonde, it is really a restaurant with rooms. Restaurant was busy and seems to take most of the attention of the owner. Staff and food quality in the restaurant are excellent. Access to the rooms is down the side of the building with security access, the rooms are all upstairs via a narrow spiral staircase. We were in room 12 on the second floor. The room was spotlessly clean with two good size comfortable double beds. French windows and juliette balcony with views of the sea. En-suite shower room was bijoux! strictly one person at a time, although fittings were of excellent quality and again very clean. Some free toiletries in sachets. Large fan available. TV with many french TV stations including Canal+ Sport. On street parking was free and we managed to park within 100 yards of La Rotonde. No WiFi. I'd recommend La Rotonde for the independant traveller and we would stay there again when in the area, very pleasant walk along the prom to Intra Muros. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyjsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#39 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpha Ocean
Hotel Alpha Ocean
#51 of 81 in Saint-Malo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Le Surcouf
Brit Hotel Le Surcouf
#19 of 81 in Saint-Malo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Brit Hotel Saint Malo - Le Transat
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Alexandra, Saint-Malo
0.9 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rotonde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rotonde

Property: La Rotonde
Address: 1 boulevard Chateaubriand | Rochebonne, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Rotonde 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Rotonde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing