We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, clean and on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Reine Marine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed here (2 adults, 2 kids 10 & 5) for 2 nights in late August following a week elsewhere in France and to break up the journey home to North Yorkshire. We had stayed in St Malo several years ago for a night and loved the city, especially the old part, Intra Muros.

This hotel is situated along the beach to the east of the old part and the docks. It's about 3km away and just about walkable with the limitations a five year old can bring. We knew this when booking but were attracted to Reine Marine because of its apartment style rooms and its private parking (knowing that parking, especially in the old town, can be hit and miss).

We arrived at about 6pm on the Saturday night, parked up in the private car park and were greeted at reception by an extremely polite and helpful gentleman who, without fuss or formality, quickly checked us in and directed us to our room. Our room was on the middle floor of a small block of 9 apartments and had a balcony from where you could see the sea (we hadn't booked a sea view so were delighted with this added bonus!). The room was beautifully clean and comprised of a good sized living area (with TV, dining table and sofabed) with a small kitchen tucked away, a separate bedroom, bathroom with bath and shower and a self contained WC.

The hotel, whilst clearly quite busy, seemed to be calmly and efficiently run. A short taxi ride to the old town each night meant that we could enjoy all of what St Malo had to offer (including wine, cidre, etc!). On the sunday afternoon we enjoyed a few hours on the beach and in the (surprisingly not-so-cold) sea, finished off with a quick dip in the hotel's pool which overlooks the beach.

The 2 nights costs us about £350 so not cheap but we felt it was excellent value for money given the space in and convenience of the rooms.

Would definately go back although might try somewhere a little nearer the old town next time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shareholdersmeeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Location is nice, overlooking a great beach which you can reach within walking distance (1mn). It is slightly remote from the very center of Saint Malo (5 mns drive, 20-30 mns walk).
Facilities are ok, nothing remarkable though. Appartments are fine especially for family stay.
Swimming pool (indoor) is ok, large enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daveinthe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

For those who 'simply" appreciate quietness, wonderful seaside, large and well equipped apartment, friendly and helpful staff, swimming pool and hammam, cleanliness : this is the perfect place. It was our third stay but definitely not the last.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hellnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Perfect stay as usual. The staff is very friendly and helpful as always, ready to help with anything you might ask for (including changing linen at 11pm when one of our son was sick!). The flat was clean too. The location is great, the sea views are lovely and the pool is good too (though a bit cold).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at this resort for 1 week. We had a seafront, one bdroom apartment. It was really pretty. Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and microwave. Ample glassware and crockery. Large dining and sitting room. Decent size bedroom and good size bathroom.
We had a large balcony across the living room and bedroom.
Coin operated Laundry in the complex and free WiFi in the bar area.
Staff very helpful with adapter plugs and clothes horse, as well as directions and suggestions for day trips.
There is a good bakery and supermarket, within walking distance.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Be specific in your needs and expectations and good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed for 7nights at the end of May 2011. Overall i was very pleased. On the subject of the staff, the 'main man' when we were there was a guy who i think was called 'Jean Marc' who we found to be friendly, proffesional and very helpful. His recommendations of local restaurants and places to visit were much appreciated. The rest of the staff were OK, but not as good. The sunset view on the evening was superb from the front of the hotel which overlooked a pleasant sandy beach. The pool area facilities were good, we used them a lot. The apartment was pretty good, although it would be better if they had been cleaned maybe once while we were there. I paid about £100.00 per night which was just about 'fair' considering there was no food included. I suppose the poor exchange rate pound - euro didn't help, French visitors would have found value for money better. Location was good if you have a car. It was out of the way, so quiet and suited us down to the ground, but a liitle way from the main areas if you are using public transport or walking. Another big plus though was the lack of riff raff not just in this hotels, but in Brittany generally. We had a lovely time, and i would score this hotel 8/10 and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This Residence Hotel is located about 2 miles/5 Km from the walled town of Saint-Malo. It is right on the beach but to get to the beach you have to leave the property and walk down some steps - it is very easy to do.
Pros:
Apartment style with kitchen, family room and two bedrooms
On the beach - nice beach with huge tide differential
Indoor pool
Great beach views
Very nice, helpful and accomodating staff
Generally clean but not the bathroom - see below.
Laundry facilities
Quick 5 minute drive to Saint-Malo, grocery store or boulangerie

Cons:
Our bathroom smelled terribly of urine. We went to the store bought cleaner and scrubbed it 3 times in 3 days and we could not get rid of the smell.
No cleaning service during your stay - need to ask for more toilet paper, etc.
Small bedrooms - barely able to walk around bed
Unable to walk anywhere to eat/shop
No food in Hotel
Wifi only in Lobby - not room
Laundry very expensive

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelopalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,878 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,807 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Alexandra
Best Western Hotel Alexandra
#52 of 82 in Saint-Malo
282 reviews
1.9 mi away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#12 of 82 in Saint-Malo
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Reine Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Reine Marine

Address: Residence Reine Marine 67 avenue du President John Kennedy, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £67 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Reine Marine 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reine Marine Residence is ideal for holidays with friends and family. With an exceptional panorama of the bay of Saint-Malo, it offers 67 apartments, fully equipped and beautifully decorated to welcome up to 6 persons. In addition, the residence has a heated indoor swimming pool, a turkish bath, a sunbathing area and a direct access to the beach. .24 hour-a-day reception staff .Swimming pool access .Turkish bath access .Beds made upon arrival .Linen provided .Baby equipment (reservations required) .Parking/garage .Free WIFI .Iron and ironing board available upon request .Board games .Tourism information .Television and satellite TV, English and German channels ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Reine Marine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing