We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little hotel overlooking St Malo's splendid beach”
Review of Ambassadeurs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming little hotel overlooking St Malo's splendid beach”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We did enjoy the Hotel Ambassadeurs. Charming attentive management, a very adequate room (not large, but good bed) and a lovely roof terrace from which to watch holidaymakers disporting themselves on St Malo's wonderful beach and gaze at the scenery. Tired of the terrace? Off you go downstairs to do a bit of beach work; it's a bit flat but OK for swimming and if you are in the sandcastle age range (3 - 90 in my opinion) the sand is good. The Hotel Bar and breakfast room looks over the beach from closer to ground level and opens directly onto the pedestrian promenade so you can wrap yourself in a towel and dive straight into the lift (more or less) when you come off the beach.
We particularly liked the couple who run the hotel who were charming and funny. Monsieur is capable of wicked humour,
The bar/breakfast room serves crepes and simple foods, and the breakfast is very sound with good fresh bread and pastries and crepes or eggs on demand. Nice. Proper coffee too.

Room Tip: We had city view (cheapskates!), but it didn't matter because the sea is right on the doorstep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    165
    23
    10
    3
See reviews for
87
341
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for the Tour de France 2013 and had an ocean facing balcony. It was just beautiful. I was worried about it only being 3 star but it was just perfect. Great location, very clean and ran by lovely people that made you feel so welcome. The rooms are small but very comfortable. I couldn't recommend this highly enough. Alison Dilena. P.S great breakfast crepes too

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We booked the hotel without realising the the Tour de France was going right past the hotel the day of our arrival, so we were treated to a great spectator location about 1KM from the finish! The hotel staff are really friendly and helpful and made sure we were well looked after. We had a sea view which was lovely and every morning we were able to sit in bed and listen to the waves. The rooms are a bit small and we had to leave some stuff in the car, we luckily got a space outside the hotel (after the TDF had gone past) so could nip down and get things. The rooms were a bit stuffy and would have benefitted from air-con. It is about a 15 minute walk to the old town and if you are inclined the promenade is a great place to run along.

Room Tip: Sea view on the 3rd floor is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel has the best location. Our room opened up to a beautiful ocean view....Magnificent!
The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. The staff was the best, so very accomodating and friendly.
The breakfast was a beautiful buffet with made to order omlettes, or your choice of eggs. I loved this place and can not wait to get back there ! Also....within walking distance of shops and restaurants !

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Delsa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Cliff, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Wonderful staff, incredibly helpful and happy to assist in any way...beautiful view - absolutely get a sea view. We went to sleep last night listening to the waves...I can't say enough about this place - best part of our trip so far! We will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Get the sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzhou, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 wonderful nights there. The room was tiny but super confortable. I recommend the bed, the mattress was so comfortable. The cabinets next to the bed were a good helper to store our clothes. I loved the bathroom with the sea rock floor. The best is the view on the beach and the sea and the sound of the wave during the night. We enjoyed also the terrace on the top floor. One of the best view of the sillon area I guess. At the end, the breakfast was great with the crepe and nice hot chocolate for me, eggs for my husband.
The tenants are a nice couple ready to share their saint malo knowledge and making sure your stay remains perfect.
If we have the opportunity, we will go back for sure.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carosuzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is new and in a great location by the beach. The seaview rooms are wonderful and we could see the beach and watch the tides as it comes in and out. The room is small but very functional with great comfortable bed. The terrace at the roof of the hotel offers great views of the beach and the old town. A great place to chill out and watch the sunset. Free and fast wifii for all our gadgets.
But above all that the staff are wonderful - they are friendly and warm. She stored our wine and cheese for us and gave us glasses, wine opener and knife without asking when we collected the wine from her. We were late for our train and were rushing and pulling our luggages when one of the staff pulled over in their van to give us a lift to the station!!! Such wonderful people.
Would definitely recommend it and stay here again. My only regret was that we stayed only one day!

Room Tip: Get the seaview room and go up to the roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#5 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,699 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#37 of 81 in Saint-Malo
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadeurs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadeurs Hotel

Property: Ambassadeurs Hotel
Address: 11 Chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadeurs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming family-hotel is located on the sea side with a direct access on the beach without crossing the street . It is ideally located between the historic city center of Saint-Malo (Intra-Muros) and the Thermal Baths. Many of these sites and others are reachable by foot in a few minutes following and enjoying the sea side. Pascal, the new owner, will be at heart to welcome you personally in completey renovated rooms. The speciality of the hotel cuisine is the crêpes Bretonnes (French buckweat pancakes) that we hope to make you (re) discover in an Art Deco dinning room with a breathtating view of the sea. On the roof top of the hotel is a panoramic terrace where you can enjoy our different cocktails and according to the schedule, listen to live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassadeurs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing