We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, warm and welcoming staff”
Review of Ambassadeurs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassadeurs Hotel
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in room 401 which had a great view of the beach and sea on our recent trip to St. Malo.

The hotel is situated on a main road running parallel to the beach and is a 15 minutes walk in to the walled city of St. Malo.

The exterior of the hotel hides the modern decor. We found the property to be ideal for our stay and loved that it was on the edge of the beach. The team at the hotel were friendly and welcoming and easy to chat with.

It is a small hotel with a reception and dining room on the ground floor. The rooms are ideal for a one/two night stay but they are compact.

The hotel benefits from a panoramic flat roof with great views of the sea and surrounding area.

I would definite chose to stay here again, if returning to the area.

The high tide waves are a real local feature that seems to be underplayed and not well known, but provide for a spectacular event - so well worth seeing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

I cannot fault this hotel, it was absolutely flawless. From the amazing staff who were so friendly and helpful to the luxurious finishes throughout the hotel. We payed a little extra for an ocean view room and it was worth every cent. An uninterrupted view of the Saint Malo coastline was so revitalising to see every morning. Breakfast was delicious and fresh with hot crepes as well! It's about 10 mins walk to the old town, but a walk I enjoyed every day we were there, it helps to work off the croissants as well! I will be returning to this hotel, it was magnificent.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank EvidencebyFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

After perhaps a dozen trips to France over the past 30 years, staying mainly in 3-star hotels, I can say that this hotel can't be beat for friendly service. We arrived in St. Malo in early evening in late October for a stay of two nights. Parking is on the street, and, although not difficult, requires timing to find a spot close to the hotel. One can pull up right in front of the hotel to unload baggage, but then one must move to a vacant spot. The gentleman at the desk unloaded our luggage and brought it into the hotel, and then offered to park our car when a space became available close to the hotel. All with a smile. I told him I didn't have a map of St. Malo, and he promptly gave me one, showing me where we were and pointing out places of interest. Although we had a car, it is certainly possible to come by train, for the hotel is a 15-minute walk from the station (or a short taxi ride).

This hotel is right on the seafront, and we were in a second-floor room facing the sea. There is an esplanade next to the seawall, and the French doors of our room opened directly onto the beach, with a magnificent view of the coast and the old town of St. Malo. Our room appeared to have been newly refurbished, with nice touches like focused reading lamps by the bed in addition to ordinary bedside table lamps. There was a modern updated bathroom, as well as a room safe for valuables. Of course, as is typical of French hotel rooms, space is at a premium.

The hotel has a bright and cheery restaurant that offers light fare. After arrival that's where we went to have some delicious crepes and cider. There are good views from the restaurant windows, and one can exit directly from the restaurant onto the esplanade. We chose to have breakfast at the hotel each morning, and it was certainly the most extensive set of choices I have ever seen at any hotel. Remember that the classic French breakfast is coffee, croissants and/or bread with jam, and nothing else. Here one could have all of the following: fruit juices, croissants, breads of various sorts, several types of cereal, freshly prepared fried eggs and crepes, applesauce, various preserves and jams, yoghurts, meats and cheeses, and coffee, tea, milk, and hot chocolate.

As we were traveling at school break time for the French, the clientele consisted of families on holiday, older couples like ourselves traveling without children, and single persons. It was a varied but friendly mix. The second day of our stay, we had to do some laundry, so we asked the woman at the desk where was the nearest laundromat. She said that if we had just one load, she would do it for us in the hotel laundry machines. Astounding! We picked it up later that day. What was the charge for this service? Nothing.

Having returned our rental car the previous day, we needed a taxi to get to the railway station for our trip back to Paris. Ordinarily we would walk, but we had too much luggage this time. I asked Madame to book me a taxi for 11 AM that morning, and she said she would. When the time came, the taxi consisted of a vehicle from the hotel, driven by one of the staff. All for no extra charge.

The staff are friendly, and they work very hard to make their guests happy. The hotel location is excellent, right on the seafront, and a short stroll from the old town's ramparts. Incidentally, although there are hotels within the ramparts, the streets there are full of tourists and noise, and I would prefer to stay a little distance away. As a base for exploring nearby sites in Normandy and Brittany (Mont St. Michel, Normandy WWII beaches, Bayeaux, Rennes, etc), this is an excellent location, and of course St. Malo is itself a picturesque and interesting town.

Room Tip: The views from the seafront rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rgbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Slightly outside of the old town but still a pleasant 10-minute walk, this hotel has an amazing location by the waterfront. For the price, the rooms and amenities are also fantastic! Definitely the place to stay when in Saint Malo!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank alifeoftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Not much to say. Simply THE BEST HOTEL IN SAINT-MALO. Very courteous and cordial owners of this boutique hotel, from the time of reception to the check-out. Small but well designed rooms. Get the sea view - cannot be beaten. You must watch the tides go out and come in. Excellent breakfast including fried egg and crepe, orange juice and café au lait. Classical music adds a very nice motif to the start of your day. Stroll along the embankment - or even do your daily run from the hotel perfectly located on the Chaussee du Sillon. Only a ten minute at most walk from the center of Saint-Malo along the scenic beach. Great restaurants close by to the hotel - better than the ones in the touristy center. Spent a blissful week here in August. Don't pass by this hotel. You will adore the sea view and the very superb hotel facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldEuropeanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed for one night at this hotel and it was perfect. Made to feel very welcome by Valerie and all staff who spoke english if you needed a bit of help with the lingo!. We booked last minute over the phone and to start with there were no sea view rooms, but luckily someone had checked out early and we had a great room on the 3rd floor overlooking the beach and the walled city. The room had a great comfy big bed, lovely shower and one thing i noticed was how clean everything was! Spotless. We watched the sun go down from our room and then it is a 15 min walk into the town. Sun terrace on the top floor is great too with such amazing views. Brilliant place for a short stop over - we didnt want to leave but perhaps longer than two days then the room may feel slightly cramped as it is smaller than your average but it is a small price to pay considering you are in the best location. Will definately visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLastminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A very nice hotel. Located at the see-front with direct view of the fantastic see view and the promenade. The service is superb, a very nice creperie with attentive and extremely helpful staff. But-allas-the rooms are miniscule, a fact that affects that hotel's rating.

Room Tip: rent a rommwith see view. The back rooms face the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLVIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#28 of 82 in Saint-Malo
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage
0 mi away
Hotel Beaufort
Hotel Beaufort
#35 of 82 in Saint-Malo
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassadeurs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassadeurs Hotel

Address: 11 chaussee du Sillon, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £66 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassadeurs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming family-hotel is located on the sea side with a direct access on the beach without crossing the street . It is ideally located between the historic city center of Saint-Malo (Intra-Muros) and the Thermal Baths. Many of these sites and others are reachable by foot in a few minutes following and enjoying the sea side. Pascal, the new owner, will be at heart to welcome you personally in completey renovated rooms. The speciality of the hotel cuisine is the crêpes Bretonnes (French buckweat pancakes) that we hope to make you (re) discover in an Art Deco dinning room with a breathtating view of the sea. On the roof top of the hotel is a panoramic terrace where you can enjoy our different cocktails and according to the schedule, listen to live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassadeurs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing