We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Hotel du Colombier
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Small scale, super romantic hotel: a chateau that hardly 'feels' as a hotel: you more feel like guests of the noble family. Some minor points (no airco, only a bath tub without shower and very slow wifi) don't outweigh the royal feeling of this place. Conveniently close to Saint Malo (10 min drive). Great garden (park). Very good breakfast buffet with home made pies for only 12€.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IvoFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you want to avoid the huge crowds of St Malo and experience an authentic and romantic small Castle this is the place.
Rooms are a good size and comfortable. Beautiful bathrooms recently renovated. Gorgeous view overlooking the grounds, small lake and paddocks beyond. Extremely peaceful in the middle of the countryside yet close to the city.
You will feel like the Lord of the Manor in this very authentic chateau that exudes history, charm and character.

Room Tip: The 1st floor deluxe rooms are by far the nicest with beautiful large windows, although fairly more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frozzie-deluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had mapped out directions before leaving home and found ths hotel with minimal problems although it is a bit tricky. We did have gps but used our trusty map.
We checked in at 1:30 and there was no problem. Our rooms(with friends) were on the 2nd floor and were spacious and lovely. Our friends had the blue room with the claw bath tub. It was slightly smaller than our room. Our bathtub had no shower curtain so taking a shower was a challenge.
We had drinks in the living room salon with music and we felt royal! The room was beautifully furnished. We walked in the back area where there was a brook and a field beyond it. There were mares and foals playing in the field and it was a beautiful, heart warming sight.
Breakfast started at 8:30 and was more reasonable-12 euro-than the cost of the prior chateau-19 euro.
We followed the advice of the gentleman at the check in, and took a taxi at night. Even though it doesn't get dark until after 10:00, it was much better to leave the driving to a local!
No meals except breakfast are offered.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nitesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We used this hotel as a stop over before getting the ferry back to UK, and it was perfect for that - 15 minutes drive to the terminal. The hotel would be hard to find without satnav or a very good map.
We had a standard room, which was very comfortable and quiet. The bath had a shower attachment but no screen or curtain, which meant it was difficult to avoid soaking the floor.
I felt breakfast was a bit pricey at 12 Euros a head, when it is basically self-service.
Staff were friendly and gave us a good restaurant recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilTandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

If this is your first visit to St. Malo, then stay in the old Walled City or as close to it as your budget allows. But if you're a regular one nighter off the ferries, then try this for a change. Don't expect 5 star luxury, but it is a lovely building in a secluded countryside setting with friendly and helpful staff. No evening meals are offered, but a 10 minute car ride will take you to all the downtown choices. We chose to walk to the seafront cafes along country lanes and quiet urban roads : a pleasant 1 hour stroll.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mapHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Great accomodation in a Château! No need to stay in St Malo for visiting; plus, gives you more flexibility for visiting other places of great inteterest like St Michel, Dinan and Cancale
Warm and helpful staff, including the owner, who provided very good recommendations for restaurants in the area
Will surely return
An area of improvement would be the restaurant. Only used for breakfast, quality was good (daily fresh bread and croissants) but short in variety and no freashly squeezed orange juice

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hess123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hotel with a nice exterior, but the inside is not so fantastic.
The rooms, corridors and dining room need a major refurbishing. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast should be improved. Cost of taxi to town was 20 EURO.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Per0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,924 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Malouiniere des Longchamps
La Malouiniere des Longchamps
#2 of 4 in Saint-Jouan-des-Guerets
175 reviews
2.4 mi away
L'Adresse
L'Adresse
#25 of 82 in Saint-Malo
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,838 reviews
2.2 mi away
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
Escale Oceania Saint Malo
#29 of 82 in Saint-Malo
111 reviews
2 mi away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel du Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel du Colombier

Address: le Colombier | Petit Paramé, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Price Range: £119 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Hotel du Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in a 6 hectare park, 5 minutes by car of the nice beaches of Saint Malo, le Chateau Hotel du Colombier invites you to travel in time. This pleasure residence, constructed by Malouin, owner of a shipping company in 1715, kept its bygone beauty: its woodworks of oak & its nice central staircase, its pictures of the 18th century, rose garden, chapel & pond. It is an evocation of happiness. A practice of golf is now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Hotel du Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing