We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Porte Saint-Pierre
Nearby Hotels
US$338
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ibis Styles St Malo Port(Saint-Malo)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Saint Malo Plage(Saint-Malo)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$145
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$264
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kyriad Saint Malo Centre - Plage(Saint-Malo)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$114
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$201
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Aubade(Saint-Malo)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$167
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
140
135
35
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
135
35
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatornarrow staircasean enjoyable eveninghotel restaurantcosts eurosold townwithin the wallsfree wifidouble roomthe location is perfectferry portenjoyed our staywalled townyogurtrampartsgaragefloor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We've stayed for 1 night at this hotel and absolutely enjoyed stay in the old part of town. The hotel itself is almost adjacent to the city wall and the beach with two tiny islands (Petit Be and Grand Be) is just around the corner. Room was fine, bathroom was clean -- everything was fine, however a couple of warnings for the ones considering the stay at this hotel.

1. Note that stairs are narrow, steep and croocked and there is NO elevator -- you will have to carry your luggage to that floor.
2. Self-parking is basically a garage on the other side of the old town. These give you a key and the map,We were lucky and had no troubles at all with parking -- but if you're not a French driver and there are cars parked already -- that might take you for some time.
3, Sea view room is kinda tricky. We lived in the room on the 2nd floor with a seaview, but there was a little nuance. Our windows were at the same level as the city wall where tourists constantly walk So, our sea view was mostly the "tourists crowd view". Ask for highest floors, it should be just fine there.

Room Tip: If you need a seaview -- ask for the highest floor available. If you don't like carrying the suitcases on the narrow stairs -- ask for the lowest floor available. The choice is simple. :)
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

For a 2 star hotel this must be the best within the walls for value, amenity, convenience, cleanliness and helpfulness. The only room available was the one double with disabled facilities. Being on the ground floor it had only a (quiet) street view but had everything else that we needed.
The proprietors English was far better than my French so there was no difficulty with communication. Continental breakfast served either in room or next to the reception area was good and plentiful with a lot of choice (it needed to be so at 9 euros pp). We walked to and fro from the ferry terminal within 15 mins, access to the beach and the walls couldn't be closer to the hotel. I'd love to take my grandchildren there one day.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view be prepared to take your luggage up a narrow staircase.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RODERICK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This little 2 star hotel is in a great location in the old walls, it has been recently renovated. We chose a room with a sea view but hadn't appreciated that it was on the 4th floor, up a VERY steep set of staircases and no lift! we felt like Sherpas dragging our cases to the top! I am not sure that the view, lovely as it was, was worth the hike!! The hotel has its' own seafood restaurant over the road and we had a good meal there our first night but the second day we ate just as well elsewhere for a better price. The secure parking is about 10 mins walk away and is a small lock up garage with room for 4 cars. We were asked to park in the far back corner because 3 other cars were expected but, although the staff said there was room to move the cars around, there was not! We have a large estate car, another was parked in front of us and a 4 wheel drive was next to us! As a result we had to keep going back to the lock up to check the car situation until we were able to move our car to the front of the garage to enable us to be able to leave early the next morning for our ferry. So my tip would be to only use the garage if you have a small car or can be the last in!!

Room Tip: Don't bother with the sea view rooms, ask for a room on 1st or 2nd floor! the stairs are VERY steep and there is nobody to help with your cases! We were on 4th floor, in the eves of the house so not much head room at all! Also the wind was very noisy in the roof tiles (I quite like that though!) The showers are like a straight jacket! Having said that - I enjoyed our stay!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel has a great location (a few steps from the beach) and appears to have been newly remodeled. The rooms are small but confortable and modern. Be advised that the hotel has no elevator and that parking is difficult to find. Our room had a great ocean view windows with electric shutters for sun blocking and privacy. Despite having to climb the stairs (with suitcases) we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at this very ancient hotel tucked away in the walls of st Malo and loved it. We haggled on the price and knocked the room rate down 20E ! we had a great room right at the top of the building. Spacious, light, airey and wonderful views accross to dinard.
Owner very nice and friendly.
And it even came with its own pet seagull, who would be there every morning for titbits, and would feed from the palm of your hand.
really nice little place.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the top overlooking the sea to Dinard-comes with a pet seagull !
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews